Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lackawanna Middle School 2

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
The way that this school just let's students do what they want without any discipline is unbelievable. it's not so much the students but the system itself....and whatever happened to bus monitors?

Lackawanna Middle School 3

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
There seems to be a lot of bullying that goes on, though the school did respond appropriately. My daughter indicates that fights between students occur fairly often and that verbal altercations student to student as well as student to teacher are an almost daily occurrence, which is very disruptive to the overall learning environment. Recently, there have been several cuts to the extra curricular programs which is a shame for the students.


Lackawanna Middle School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
i am a seventh grader who attends lackawanna middle school. it is my first year. i have nothing but the best to say about this school. parents, you may not think that this school is great but its based on the students opinon really beacause there the ones who have to be there 5 days a week. i LOVE this school all the teachers are kind and well educated. in every class with every teacher you feel unique and special and thats the best feeling a student can feel. there extra curricular activities are awesome!! they have everything! and if your child needs homework help they have youth town it is a after school progam they just improved it this year though theres math and ela help and theres swimming robotics and more. i would recomend this school 100%!!!

Lackawanna Middle School 1

Posted January 24, 2008
- a student
This school has a very bad academic program. I can say worse but I wont.

Lackawanna Middle School 3

Posted April 04, 2007
- a parent
I am very disappointed in the way the school is ran.My daughter is always sick and they are not understanding about it at all. I ask for her homework I hardly receive it. Her tutor was to come to the house and they never did.mind you the tutor was arranged by the school.


Lackawanna Middle School 1

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
I think that this school and the high school concentrates more on the athletic department rather than the academic. However the principle leadership is great.

Lackawanna Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
This is a very unique school district where the socioecomic range is as diverse as the ethnic range. There is always work that needs to be done, but that does not mean that there are not students who are succeeding. There are many programs both academic and athletic for the students to participate. There is a wonderful after school program. The main setback , as is across the US, is that parents don't want to be parents. They want to send their children to school and forget about them. Schools today are glorified babysitters. It is time for parents to step up to the plate and take responsibility for their children and their children's actions. Then schools like this will see a dramatic change.

Lackawanna Middle School 3

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
school need to have some kind of dress code...if they do... enforce it. keep the kids with the monitors out...more books... and extra curricular activities..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lackawanna Middle School
550 Martin Road, Lackawanna, NY  14218
(716) 827-6704
Last modified Lackawanna Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lackawanna Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top