Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Global Concepts Charter School

Charter | K-10 | 70 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lackawanna

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Great school and a quality education and the administration is outstanding.Iam so glad I sent my son to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

Im a student at Global and I LOVE it there! Global is a safe place and I love to go to school everyday! Their curriculm is the best! Everyone learns in their own way and everyone loves it! The teachers are kind and caring and i would never want to leave! I have one more year their and im moving on to the high school at global! I dont want to leave and no one else does! Trust me Global is the best and no child will ever want to leave! I love you Global! -Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2011

I was a fan of this school and I used to recommend it but not anymore. The classrooms are too crowded, close to 30 students per classroom, teachers cannot control the amount of students and some go unpunished bullying other students all year long. They take measures that affect the entire classroom even if just one student did not behave. There is no good communication with the leaders, if you have a concern, they won't work with you or even listen to you. Unless you absolutely have to, choose otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

This school is ok but could be better class sizes are to large and some of the teachers can not control the class room. students are unruley and the teachers turn a blind eye.


Posted May 12, 2010

The school is a great place for my children to learn & grow as citizens of our city. It is multi-cultural and that helps shape my children into well rounded understanding people aware of other cultural needs & customs. I am very proud to say my children go to Global Concepts Charter School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I LOVE this school because I have not met a teacher or employee there that I haven't liked or that hasn't had the kids best interest at heart. My children are very shy and anxious, one has an anxiety disorder. The teachers and staff there have always been so helpful and gone the extra mile to help my girls relax and fit in. One of the counselors there had my daughters eat lunch in her office several times a week until they felt comfortable enough to eat in the cafeteria. One of the teachers there has given me her home phone number and allowed me to call her at anytime if I had any concerns or if my daughters had any fears that needed to be 'talked out' before school the next day. This teacher has taken kid's clothing home to wash it if she had any students whose parents negected their wash from time to time. The receptionists, the principals, the nurses, the teachers...they treat you with respect and are all very pleasant and welcoming at all times. We have a dress code which is wonderful and our children also take violin lessons and either spanish or arabic all starting in kindergarten! I would be lost if I didn't have the employees at Global Concepts Charter School there to help me and my children feel welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I like this school because, they have good teachers


Posted January 20, 2010

Quality education! My son has attended 2nd through 5th grade so far and I have no complaints. The teachers are amazing! Great alternative to public/private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Global has the most understanding teachers and staff that I have the pleasure of dealing with. I have 2 extra needs kids attending there and they have been willing to work with me instead of placing them in the special needs system. I am proud to say that with their help both children are A and B students and I encourage other parents to enroll their children with them...Thank you Global
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This marks the beginning of our 4th year at Global. We absolutely love the school. They pay close attention to each child and their individual needs, and get children who need extra help, the help they need right away. I love the fact that a foreign language is taught starting in kindergarten. And the fact the the violin is part of the curriculum. The student body is very diverse which I love. I belive it helps my children that we are all the same and learn to get along with everyone. Some might consider the school is lacking on extracurricular activities, but they seem to be adding new things often. Most recently, the Chess Club. I am sure the parent involvement could be better, but I do think that we who are involved are doing pretty good. I highly look forward to the addition of a Global High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

Our daughter is in kindergarten and we are impressed with everything at Global Concepts. Next year our son will enroll as well we're confident their education are off to a great start !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Global concepts charter school is a k-5 school with plans to go to 8th. This is the 5th year the school has been open. We have a very active P.T.A. that does a wonderful job. The teachers are just the best. This will be our third year in the school and we plan to send all our children their. All the the normal core subjects are taught inc. violin and a foreign language that start in kindergarten. Each grade level has 3 classrooms with 25 students per class. We are not the perfect school but with only 5 years under our belt I feel that we are doing better than average, and that we our well on our way to being one of the best schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%

Chemistry

All Students40%
Female38%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant40%

Earth Science

All Students71%
Female66%
Male78%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%

English

All Students82%
Female84%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%

Geometry

All Students82%
Female85%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%

Global History and Geography

All Students89%
Female87%
Male89%
African American86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

Integrated Algebra

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Living Environment

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students93%
Female96%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 65% 48%
Black 2 24% 19%
Hispanic 2 9% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 157%N/A49%
Male 143%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 276%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 11%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 7%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • EXECUTIVE MR. RONALD WISHER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Ridge Rd
Lackawanna, NY 14218
Website: Click here
Phone: (716) 821-1903

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Baker Victory Services
Lackawanna, NY


Our Lady Of Victory
Lackawanna, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT