Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

8-12|Private
50 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Grove School
no rating

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
I am a former teacher. The teachers have to do so much more than just teach the curriculum and prepare students for regents exam, RCT test and other NYS testing. We had to be mentors, substitute parents, big brother/sister, mediators and counselors. The teachers are underpaid and overworked.....I challenge the best public school teacher to try one week here......I bet they couldn't do it. So hats off to the teachers still giving 'their all' on a daily basis. You are doing a wonderful job and a great service to these young people.

Lake Grove School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
I am a former student. It helped me get through my teen years. The faculty was wonderful.


Lake Grove School 5

Posted May 17, 2008
- a community member
This school gives children a oppurtunity that they will not find anywhere else.They get achance to catch up to thier grade, regardless of deficit., and earn a diploma. there is great intramural sports, off campus recreations that most families couldn't afford to do, (consistently) the food is exceptional first name produts..always !! The Clinical and Medical is also first rate. The chances they are afforded here are like nothing found elsewhere. please don't put much value in a review written by a student who would sooner be running the streets with the DEADLY gangs they so often come from. Ask they kids that have made in through the program and want some form of a good future. Mostly remember if you don't reform them they will be your neighbors either way. If you think they aren't from the Upper crust as well ....you be wrong again. Disfunction has NO boundries !!

Lake Grove School 5

Posted February 04, 2008
- a student
I am a former student and I think this school is a great school it was the first time in my life anyone actually cared about me and was a postive experience for me

Lake Grove School 1

Posted September 24, 2006
- a student
I am a current student at Lake Grove School. This school is not on the correct grade level, it is actually on a lower level. The staff aren't great but there is a select few who are helpful and caring and who don't want to be your friend but to be a staff to give structure, instead of everything being fun and game's.


Lake Grove School 1

Posted February 14, 2006
- a student
Currently I am a student here in lake grove and I will tell you this, this school is pathetic. The staff doesnt really help the students out. There is no help at this school so before sending your children here think again

Lake Grove School 2

Posted November 27, 2005
- a student
This School is horrible,the staff have no respect for the children.

Lake Grove School 1

Posted October 05, 2004
- a student
I am not a parent, but I am a former student of Lake Grove School as is my husband. Perhapes the program works for some (those who get favored) but for most kids it doesn't. Many of the students go onto leading the same kind of lives they did befor they entered the school and others do worse. My husband and I are just 2 of a very small percent that actually does well. I felt that most staff were worse than the kids and that there was/is a huge cloud of tension hanging over the school. You send your kids there to get away from the sex,drugs,and violence yet that is what surrounds you at that school. This is just my opinion, but then again I was there and saw/lived it first hand. -LL


Lake Grove School 5

Posted August 25, 2003
- a student
I'm not a parent but I am a former student and I think this school is excellent, the staff and the teacher are caring yet firm and the enviroment is structured yet relaxed at the same time

Nearby schools

Lake Grove School
Po Box 712, Lake Grove, NY  11755
(631) 585-8776
Last modified Lake Grove School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
Top