Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
Students enrolled: 2,304
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sachem High School North 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Both my daughters attended this school. The teachers , in both instances, took a genuine interest in the educational welfare of my girls. The school itself showed great spirit and comradery.

Sachem High School North
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Teacher were attentive to the students needs and goals on an individual basis. They aided my girls with their eventual entry into college by preparing them with the skills necessary for their field


Sachem High School North 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children attended Sachem schools from first grade to 12th. Every time I entered Sachem North I was struck by how clean the campus and building is, and how on top of things the staff seemed. My kids liked their teachers, several of whom called me to tell me how much they liked my kids and to encourage them. Excellent academics, but also a good sports program and this high school is known for the excellence of its plays and musicals, as well. A very good experience.

Sachem High School North 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended Sachem from Kindergarten to graduation. Upon applying to college, she received full academic scholarships from two acclaimed universities, as well as several other acceptances and scholarships. Not one for sports, she joined the orchestra in 4th grade (when instrument-specific music programs are first offered) and played viola until 11th grade, when she realized her calling for Broadcast Journalism. She was involved in Sachem's unique FM radio program, giving her great experience in the field. She also found a passion for Environmental Science through the AP class offered in the field, as well as the Envirothon competition (which Sachem has dominated in for the region in the past few years). My daughter and her friends would attend football games to watch the school marching band or buy tickets for every night of the school play. The Sachem North football team were the Long Island champions this season. Overall, this is a great school that offers opportunities for every type of student.

Sachem High School North 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Overall good school. Academics are on point. Most teachers show genuine interest in their students.


Sachem High School North 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is great. The students are mostly nice and well mannered. Some of the teachers joke around too much but are mostly skilled at their jobs. Great shool

Sachem High School North 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a student
Best school ever. It is a bit crowded but the classes are interesting and no one fools around.

Sachem High School North 5

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
Both my sons graduated from Sachem North. I have nothing but great things to say about the school. Mr. Nolan (principal) is absolutely the greatest! He is very caring and is very well liked by students, parents and staff. The APs are simply wonderful as well. They took interest in my children and always returned my calls in a timely manner. They were very concerned with proper placement and took the time to guide them into taking classes that were suitable for their abilities. The teachers were equally as caring and always encouraged my children to work to their potential. What was best is the fact that parents were always informed about the goings on in the school and no one was left in the dark. Excellent school!


Sachem High School North
no rating

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
excellence ...all around !

Sachem High School North
no rating

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
Sachem East is a wonderful place to educate Special Education students. The staff and administration is very understanding and accepting of 'special behaviors' that may be deemed inappropriate or disrespectful in other school districts. Special students are easily mainstreamed into regular ed classes. The money spent on Special Education is by far more than the funds allocated in other wealthier districts. Although the campus at East may appear to be unruly. laxed, and unsafe,during the school day, it allows for special ed and disadvantaged kids to have control of how the school is operated. In fact, that the parents of special ed students havemore of a a say in behavior codes and curriculm than the parents of the students with greater advantages. Teachers have little input in what is done, and are discouraged from giving failing grades. Sachem is perfect for needy families and students with special behavior needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sachem High School North
212 Smith Road, Lake Ronkonkoma, NY  11779
(631) 471-1400
Last modified Sachem High School North is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sachem High School North Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top