Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Murray Avenue School 5

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
I speak for both my wife and I, when I say that Murray Avenue School is a terrific place for children to begin their formal education. In the three years since enrolling my son in Kindergarten, the school has provided our family with wonderful moments for both child and parent to participate in and enjoy. From fundraisers to class performances, the feeling we have is of a small community that cares and dedicates the time and resources to cultivate a positive environment. Currently both my children attend Murray, my son completed 2nd grade and my daughter completed kindergarten. They both have amazing friends and the teachers have been exemplary in their roles as educator, mentor and supportive ear. I appreciate all the access to the teachers and administrators whenever I have had questions or needed feedback on my child. From weekly email updates, to special classroom activities that the parents and all family members are welcome to attend, Murray Avenue has been a wonderful center piece to living in this exceptional Westchester community.

Murray Avenue School 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
I have had 3 children go through Murray -- with one currently there. It is a fantastic school. The facilities are great -- wonderful auditorium, two gyms, big and wonderful library, fully equipped music room. But the heart of the school is the teachers. Principal Monaco has done a great job of hiring in the past 10 years. The new teachers and even the teachers who have been here longer than that are truly dedicated, smart, creative and dynamic. We feel so lucky to have landed in this neighborhood with this school and wouldn't change a thing. In fact, I wouldn't move until all of my kids are through Murray!


Murray Avenue School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about this school. My kid has attended since K: they are now in 2nd G. The teachers are great. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable - there's no one 'type' but what unities the ones I have experienced is that they are truly excellent at what they do. They seem to really take the time to get to know each kid as an individual and what makes them tick, and to support and/or stretch them where appropriate. I definitely don't feel it's a 'one size fits all' approach. Parent/teacher comms encouraged and there's lots of opportunities to participate in the classroom too. I have found the class sizes to be V.G. Last year, my child was in a class of 18 with 1 teacher and 1 assistant - both full time. This year my child is in a class of 24 with two teachers and one assistant - again all 3 are full time.The specialist teachers for music, arts, the library and PE are great, and add a lot to the kids' development. They also offer a lot of added value activities for the kids to get involved with. The after-school clubs for example are excellent and hugely diverse - everything from fashion design to musical theatre to chess to lego to computer game making!

Murray Avenue School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
My Grandson goes to Murray Avenue School.....I love the school, the smell of the hallways, the friendliness, the smiling and great teachers. I love those "good mornings" and those "see ya tomorrow" or even "see you at the game" cheers.... Murray Avenue has a special flair, a special atmosphere, you know, it is a special school....that is why my grandson looks forward to going to Murray Avenue each day and why I love visiting his classroom and watching all the other kids. Wish I could go to Murray Avenue just for one whole day and pretend all over again....!

Murray Avenue School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
Regarding Sep.8th,2012 review, it is bit more than we expected but 24 is not "huge" (Pre-K in Manhattan was 20 or so) and it is not old facility nor lack of technology. By the way, our life is surrounded by Technology. We are happy with school and it was right decision for our kids (took them away from being top 0.5% student game at age 4). Think about overall quality and community value for your kids. "For what you pay to live here..." it is not that much and it's all about choice....


Murray Avenue School 3

Posted September 08, 2012
- a parent
Class size is huge - 24 kids in kindergarten. Big dissapointment given the tremendous reviews. Teachers are great, but stretched too thin. Very old facilities and lack of technology. For what you pay to live here, I would expect more.

Murray Avenue School 5

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
My four children attended Murray Avenue Elementary School and it was a fantastic experience for all of them. The school did an excellent job adapting for my four kid's very different academic needs. The teachers were caring, dedicated, and available. The curriculum was broad and did not just "teach to the test"...all four have now entered the Hommocks Middle School where they are continuing to thrive. I highly recommend Murray Avenue School for it's education, sense of community, and overall experience.

Murray Avenue School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a teacher
I went through Murray Ave from 3rd thru 6th grade back in the early 1960s and loved every moment I was there. I thoroughly concur with all those parents who have seen the value in the school , teachers and administration. My 6th grade teacher (back then Murray went up thru 6th) , Mr. Kurak, so inspired me that I never forgot him and became a teacher for 30 years. Although I feel I was never as good as he was I attempted to replicate all that he instilled in me and tried to make learning fun and enjoyable. I only wish I could have let him know how much an affect he had on me and I'm sure many others. I went back after 45 years away in 2009 and toured the school and couldn't believe how much it had not changed so all you parents are seeing pretty much what I saw with some obvious upgrades and improvements in technology. I am now retired and still love seeing how well Murray Avenue is doing. May this school and staff continue to do well and inspire her students for years to come. A male student from the class of 1964.


Murray Avenue School 5

Posted August 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter had the most amazing kindergarten year here. The teachers are wonderful, the environment is nurturing and the principal is terrific. I have been happier here than I have been with any of the many schools we have paid for (both in NYC and preschools out here.) The teacher really knew my kid--how she learned, what her strengths were, how to reach her. I was amazed at their level of understanding.

Murray Avenue School 5

Posted July 04, 2009
- a parent
To the posting made by a parent dated (August 14, 2008), I totally disagree with them. I moved to this district 24 years ago to give my kids a better education. Both of my children went through Murray, Hommocks and Mama. H. S. They were both nurtured by wonderful teachers and very loving aides that got out of their way to see that they were happy in and out of class. One thing we both agree is that the aides are underpaid especially with the kind of work that they do. I highly recommend this school to any family that is looking for a nurturing, academic school for their child. To the posting Sept. 19, 2006 I would not pay too much attention. As I said this is an excellent school with a very dedicated teaching staff. The disciplinary issues are addressed and the school psychologist and speech patologist are excellent.

Nearby schools

Murray Avenue School
250 Murray Avenue, Larchmont, NY  10538
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (914) 220-3700
Last modified Murray Avenue School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top