Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
305 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ss John & Paul School 1

Posted March 11, 2016
- a community member
I read many great reviews about the school which is in my neighborhood. I personally have a friend whose son attended the school. They traveled from the the other side of the county for her son to attend. All of this led me to inquire. I have a busy work schedule and home life with multiple children. I made a few phone calls and left messages with the admissions person to find out when I could come in. I did receive a message in response to one of my messages stating that two spots were left. I had an opportunity to get there. It was dismissal which I understand is not the best time and I was willing to wait. I was directed to the admissions person who told me she couldn't talk to me but I could still register. At that point, I was turned off. I asked are there still only two spots left? I don't want to register if there aren't any spots left. I was told "I don't know". I asked for a registration packet. I was told, ask my new secretary. Then the admissions person yelled out to the new secretary to give me a packet. I asked if I could at least see one classroom. Next, the principal comes in and asks me to make an appointment to come back. At that point, I put the packet down and left. I went to four catholic schools in the local area that day. I was welcomed and assisted in all of the others. I picked one of them and looking forward to a great year. I hope no other parent ever has to leave Sts. John and Paul feeling as bad as I did.

Ss John & Paul School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
This is one of the best schools on the planet. I have two children that started this year, one transferred into 3rd grade and my kindergartner just began. Their teachers interact with the parents at every opportunity. Ms. Hebert has made kindergarten a joy and it is great to see our daughter counting in Spanish (English is her native language) or saying "I want to study" and sitting down and opening up her book to read. Likewise, our 3rd grader has transformed from a child that got straight "A's" but did not want to work, to a student that is beginning to understand that school forms the basis for the rest of your life. Ms. Bencivenga has given that gentle push that he needed to put school first. SJP is phenomenal primarily because of Mrs. Howard. She is herself a former student, former teacher and now the Assistant Principal. To say Mrs. Howard is on top of things is an understatement. 2014/15 brought a new Principal, Mrs. Fatima deCarvalho-Gianni. Ms. Gianni is highly visible and seems to have a clear plan for SJP. If you value education, SJP is the school for you. If you value Catholic traditions and education, do not look anywhere else!


Ss John & Paul School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
SJP has proven to be an excellent grammar school for our children. What's even more exciting are the opportunities in Middle School. SJP offers academic excellence and emphasizes faith and community service as equally important values. SJP teaches children to be good people as well as good students. The principal, Mrs. Pettus, brings a vibrancy and sincerity to the school that, coupled with her training and educational background at Columbia University, propel the school to new heights.

Ss John & Paul School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
We live in a community with first rate public schools and I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else! The principal brings remarkable dedication and an astute understanding of the educational needs of her students. Her own Columbia Teachers College background, coupled with that of the pastor and the reading specialist, makes Saints John and Paul a top notch private school. Resources available to the students include smartboards in every classroom, a fully equipped and recently renovated library/media center, an amazing assortment of afterschool activities, community service opportunities, and a well trained and highly qualified staff. Faith is not only nurtured throughout the day, but is the foundation on which all academic experiences are based. A strong school community is greatly enriched by a strong and supportive parish family. And, did I mention the reasonable tuition? They do it best for a fraction what other private schools cost!

Ss John & Paul School
no rating

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
After thoroughly searching Catholic schools in the Westchester County area we landed on Sts. John & Paul in Larchmont. We are thrilled with our decision and our children are excelling in an environment that challenges them and makes learning fun and enjoyable. Sound Catholic values are infused in every aspect of daily life and learning which builds a solid foundation for the children. The leadership is dynamic and full of enthusiasm and energy. A wonderful Msgr., a young enthusiastic Priest and and incredibly talented Principal combined with a dedicated faculty create a model environment of Catholic education. Did I mention a PSPA that is truly welcoming and passionate about school and community. If you're interested in a Catholic education for your child, you simply must check out SJP in Larchmont!


Ss John & Paul School 5

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
My two children are in SJP academically very happy! The children and parents of the school feels like an extended family! My children are happy and look forward to going to school!!

Ss John & Paul School
no rating

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
I have been extremely pleased with the education my children have received in St. John and Paul. The religious morals that are instilled every day is important to raising good honest children. The new prinipal is a wonderful addition to the school!!!!

Ss John & Paul School 5

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
I'm in love with SJP, my son's first year is proving to be the best foundation for his elementary school years.


Ss John & Paul School 5

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
When I think of Saints John and Paul, I think of Community Spirit and Faith! What an Incredible school! Under great new leadership. Principal is energetic and understands all aspects of children's needs! Reading and writing skills are primary focus. Importance of team and good sportsmanship is focus in PE. Advanced math and language will be offered in 2010! You will not find a stronger, more caring, community anywhere. Check out their website at www.sjpschool.org - it proves their dedication to the children's futures!

Ss John & Paul School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
What a great school under the leadership of an incredible and energetic new principal and supported by a pastor who 'gets it'. You will not find a stronger community anywhere nor will you children find a more secure and supportive place to get a values based education!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ss John & Paul School
280 Weaver Street, Larchmont, NY  10538
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (991) 834-6332
Last modified Ss John & Paul School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top