Advertisement
Advertisement

Latham Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Latham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

One of the best schools in the neighborhood. The teachers are very caring and very involved. They give personal attention to each student. The reading and writing program for the pre-school is excellent. Feel proud to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

This is an amazing school. I know only about preschool and kindergarten, this is the best place to send your kid. My son is in kindergarten and he knows stuff more than any other student of his age from any other school. Teachers are really great. They just love all the kids and very concerned about each and every child in school. I would always suggest sending your kid to this school atleast for initial years. This school will definitely build a good base.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

My son has been at this school since 1st grade , he will be entering 9th grade for 2008. I Have seen him turn into a very dedicated student and christian . Attending this school is like having a second family. The teachers become your friends. All the teachers there are seriously dedicated and compassionate about what they do. My son is proof, as he is a A+ student in all subjects. He is also very happy to go to school every day. I as a parent am so very happy I found this school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

I can only account for the 4yr old kindergarten program so far. But from what Ive seen, it is fantastic. The teachers are patient and truly care. There is no comapring this opreschool to an other nursery school that we've tried (with my other children). If you want your child actually reading before kindergarten..not just recognizing letters, but actual sentence reading, then you need to consider this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

It is the best school in the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2006

My children have been at this school most of their lives. They are ages 11 and 13. The teachers are loving and give extra help if/when needed. Discipline is strong, but helps to keep a good environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

LCA is a wonderful school especially for preK and Kindergarten students. The teachers work with students and teach them to read as early as K4 and they write cursive in Kindergarten. In 1st grade they write beautiful cursive. Very good for laying a strong foundation for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

My 4 children have been at Latham Christian Academy for the past five years. It has been a joy to see them grow and develop at this fine school. The administration and staff has such a care and concern for the students development in all areas. The WHOLE person is cared for and nurtured at LCA and taught the principles of the BIBLE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I am a Graduate from 1988 and really thought the school was great!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 52%
Black 24% 21%
Asian 17% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

495 Watervliet Shaker Rd
Latham, NY 12110
Phone: (518) 785-5916

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Southgate School
Loudonville, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT