Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hebrew Academy of Five Towns & Rockaway

Private | PK-5 | 429 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lawrence

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $795,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2010

It's very warm and the education is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

The education is amazing and the teachers go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

strong secular and Judaic studies. feeling of a family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

It is a great academic environment, as well as offering a nurturing and caring environment and staff of professionals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2010

The education is superb, the school is warm and nurturing, the teachers are top notch and the kids are terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

HAFTR provides the absolute best secular and religious education in the country. The teachers and staff are top-notch and the children are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

The staff and administrators are attentive to the childrens' needs. The teachers differentiate their instruction based on the strengths and weaknesses of each individual child. My children truly love HAFTR and are eager to attend school each and every day! This love for learning reflects the way HAFTR makes my children feel confident in school. As a parent and a teacher (in a public school in Queens), I can't ask for anything more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Top academics in a warm atmosphere, inculcating students with Torah values and menschlechkeit, self-confidence and a love of learning.


Posted September 20, 2010

Provides an excellent education for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Gives my child a solid Jewish education and social experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

The education that is given to my children is top rate and continues to get better all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My kids love going to school each day. They are excited and eager to find out what their teachers have in store for them. The school is by far most creative in the way that they allow each child to learn with all of their senses!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

HAFTR is the best thing that has happened to my children! From the amazingly dedicated teachers to the unique way that they allow each and every child to learn. The teachers on HAFTR's staff become part of your family. I have never met a teacher there who did not make my child feel special. Almost as though they are only there for you. They foster a warm, educational, and caring environment for all children to thrive and succeed. The friendships and socialization that my children have built and made in HAFTR have impacted them positively. They have more self-esteem and respect for others, No two children are the same, I can see that from my own three children who attend the school. If I had to pick my one most impressive aspect of the school, it would have to be the fantastic principal. HAFTR is by far superior to all other schools because of the specialness of our principal! She is truly amazing! She takes the time to know each and every one of her children. She knows everyone by name, knows who are siblings or cousins, knows the needs of each student including their strengths and weaknesses. The children are excited and motivated to do their best because of her. Her knowledge and expertise makes HAFTR's curriculum as advanced and successful as it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is an excellent school. Our children are happy to go to school each day. They are excited to learn at HAFTR, they love their teachers and friends and they enjoy participating in so many fantastic school activities and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This is a great school. The principal is amazing, she has a fabulous attitude and really gets to know the kids. She's surrounding herself with a strong administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

the prinicipal is amazing. knows every kid by name, their personality, their strengths and weaknesses. she has orchestrated an amazing curriculum and has top notch staff as her team. teachers care about their students being the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

The education is superb. The parents are extremely involved and aware of what is going on in the classroom (almost to a fault).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joy Hammer
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Washington Ave
Lawrence, NY 11559
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 569-3043

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Brandeis School
Lawrence, NY


Bible Baptist Academy
Cedarhurst, NY


St. Joachim
Cedarhurst, NY


5 School
Cedarhurst, NY


William S Covert School
South Hempstead, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT