Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lindenhurst Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 2254 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

This is a good school . My kids all did great here . They learned so much .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

I go to this school. I think this school is great ! The teachers care and are so helpful if you are willing to learn . They are very big with the school sprit and sports in the school . The have great programs at this school .


Posted January 26, 2014

This school is in a blue collar neighborhood with a lot of drug activity. The teachers are not too concerned with kids academic advancement but more concerned with socializing and pretend to do their jobs. Drugs are all over the school. I would not want my kids going here
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2014

My daughter graduated in 2011 and my son will in 2014. I have found this High School to be an inspiration that other districts should model themselves upon. Teachers are involved and really seem to care about the students. They have a zero tolerance policy on bullying, which is outstanding. Not every kid can be the jock or the cheerleader and, in this school, nobody is made to feel less than equal because their strengths may lie elsewhere. My kids have both had issues with their grades that were entirely due to their own laziness and the teachers and guidance counselors were in almost daily contact with me, until the problems were resolved. My daughter is now in her 4th semester of college and has a 4.0. I think that pretty much says it all, when a kid is made to do a 360 from almost failing to graduating with good grades to excelling in college. That tells you what having great teachers, an involved district and parental monitoring can do to encourage a child onto the right path. Great music & art programs, lots of clubs & activities, the student plays are Broadway quality. I plan to attend the shows long after my son graduates (neither of my children were in theater, btw).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

My daughter is graduating Lindenhurst High School next year with 95+ grade average. She is been doing great in the school. I am very happy with the school and they don't allow bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

I used this site when I decided I'd be OK with moving to here from Massapequa. I'm currently a sophomore here (I did 9th here, too)...and I think LHS is very OVERRATED on this site. i kinda wanna laugh when I read some of these reviews. The teachers are great, true. however, the district seems to push sports. I found out that the HS sports are getting new uniforms (school color change), even though they cut a lot of academic things this year. makes no sense to me. Other negatives: the halls are packed, the school is pretty drug-tolerant, and there are threats pretty often ,...on the positive side, this school is diverse and the students are nice...pequa was very undiverse and the students were brats. The school has a pool. The Drama Club's great. I really LIKE this school district better than pequa., but the academic quality is lower. I really wish we had a bigger Science Olympiad team...but looks like the team is gonna get bigger :). if you like sports you'll like this school. The schools special ed is supposedly good. You might not like this school if you're academic-oriented. Oh and the cheerleading team placed 11th in the NATION. How is that not a highlight?!?
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2011

Great school! The principle has a great relationship with his students & parents. Most teachers are invested in the students. Only problem is the guidance dept. Not good with parental involvement or preparing students & parents for the process of getting ready for college. I recieved more information from other parents. When I approached the director fo guidance for the district, she was condecending & defensive & not helpful. I have 3 students there & they are happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

The Lindenhurst School System is one of the Best Kept SECRETS on Long Island. The Schools ( K - thru High School ) are Above Standard.They Produce an Excellent Product - Their Students are Very Productive in Life. Both my son and daughter are sucessful..The Lindenhurst School System forms a bond with the Parents, to monitor the childs progress.Clean and Maintained buildings, School Sports and after school activities are at a high level. All this from a Middle Class Base.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

They have so many exciting non traditional classes, like Marine Biology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

As a parent, I was skeptical when my son entered the school, however, the entire faculty proved to be outstanding and I am happy to report that he is now a senior and well on his path to college. I now look forward to sending my younger child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Excellent school. Just graduated myself and after graduation this school prepared me for college and the real world. They also have just about every club and sports team you could ask for in a school. All the teachers and staff are willing to work with the students and the school offers a variety of different classes to choose from. I would recomment this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2008

As a parent and former student I want to say Lindenhurst High school is a wonderful school. Both the teachers and parents are very involved and caring.


Posted April 29, 2007

Lindenhurst High school has excellent academic programs. There is trouble in the school rather often. Its not a fantasy school, its just another high school on the map that is giving kids the education they need to succeed. But not school is perfect. Luckily their music department pulls through. Even with a lack of funding they are doing excellent. The concerts and the plays are fabulous. A+ for the Music and Art Departments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

academenics are good music and art theres a good amount and parents are involved for the most part
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2005

This school is great it is really like a fantasy school there is never any trouble and the kids are great and respectfull this is and excellence high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

This school is one of the best schools on Long Island. The teachers are very experienced, certified, many have come from this town and stayed and are giving back the same great education that they had when they attended. I highly recommend it as a safe and progressive school for your children to attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2005

This is a very good school. Everything from the academic programs to the sports activities are very well done. Our son is in the ninth grade and he loves going to the school. There is so much for the kids to do. Also there is very little trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The curriculum at this school is outstanding as are the choices for AP classes for the brainiac student. The instructors teaching these AP classes have a strong interest in seeing the student do well and offer whatever assistance necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

This school beats any school I have ever been to. The teachers really care about the students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2003

This is one of the best public schools on Long Island in NY that I have seen. I attended the school for four years. The teachers are some of the best I have met, the number and quality of extracurricular activities is extravagent, and the overall quality of the school is great.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

557 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

123 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

534 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

246 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students72%
Female77%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities55%
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant72%

Chemistry

All Students76%
Female79%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities59%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant76%

Earth Science

All Students75%
Female70%
Male80%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities64%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%

English

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities69%
General population97%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%

Geometry

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities36%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%

Global History and Geography

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities77%
General population93%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%

Integrated Algebra

All Students90%
Female90%
Male88%
African American90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities70%
General population95%
English language learners66%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%

Living Environment

All Students90%
Female91%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities72%
General population95%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%

Physics

All Students77%
Female76%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant77%

U.S. History and Government

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities91%
General population98%
English language learners60%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 81% 48%
Hispanic 2 13% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
Black 1 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 117%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Charles St
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
Phone: (631) 867-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Babylon High School
North Babylon, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT