Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benton Hall Academy

Public | K-5 | 500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

My child attends this horrible poor excuse for a school. My child has been bullied my staff and students since kindergarten and is now in the 3rd grade and still has problems everyday. The principal is a joke and should have been given this job. I would think long and hard before you enter your children in this horrible school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

my school is great i love how the school trys to united the community its a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I appreciate the building being downtown allowing students to walk to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

i witnessed a fire drill one morning. I was in shock how organized and quiet 300+ students exited the school. I thought I lost my hearing. They were so organized! Their morning program is of excellent quality. All the kids learn new, significant songs with sign language. The organization is superb!! Teachers are great too. Very fortunate to be in this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

We personally love this school the reason the parent involvement is low is because parents don't make it a point to get involved otherwise you would see what a wonderful school benton hall really is. Go compare it to dolgeville as i have (my oldest goes there) anyway the school offers so many fun things for the children to do. My 6 year old loves the school. And i love the way all of the teachers make it a point to tell all the kids everyone is friends. So don't knock it until you actually make an attempt to get involved! benton hall academy is an outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2006

Academic programs are good. The art program and teacher are truly impressive! Extracurricular could be better which would make this small city more enjoyable for children. Level of parent involvement is horrific. Having experience with several school systems, Benton Hall breaks the record for way below level parent contact and involvement. They give a strong feeling that they do not want the parent involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

The quality of academics is great at Benton Hall. There are plenty of after school activites for the kids, they have great music and art teachers. I never really checked into the sports. My kids are young and go through tri valley pop warner. I have always had great contact with my childrens teachers. I always involed myself with everything possible. I was always updated with my childrens progress. I think the school is a great place for our children to learn and be kids. The only thing I would enjoy more would be music concerts with the children singing. But the children do have plays the take part in. My theory is if you want to be involved you must involve yourself. You can't sit around and wait for them to involve you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Quality of academics is very good, however not much extracurricular activity. Parent involement is very poor at this school as the school does not wish for there to be much of it. Rare to no conferences. Parent/teacher communication is extremely poor. Many teachers get a very low score of informing parents about progress. Beautiful building, but that's about it. Huge dissapointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 99% 48%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Hispanic 2 0% 23%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 21%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN J. LONG

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Ward Sq
Little Falls, NY 13365
Phone: (315) 823-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT