Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Starpoint High School 2

Posted July 08, 2013
- a teacher
Starpoint is by far one of the nicest schools in the area, if not the best . The high school is only about 10 years old and has a beautiful gymnasium, library, and auditorium. However the cosmetics unfortunately overshadow the negative of the school to the rest of the WNY area. Bullying and safety is not a concern to the school. The bullying is often ignored or little done about it. Starpoint is also one of worst schools "cliquey" schools I've seen as a former Starpoint teacher. The reason of this is because kids have been going together since kindergarten. A lot of teachers do care how students perform, but it seems after teachers get their tenth year, some stop caring if they succeed. Some of the sports teams are consistently good and others go through cycles of winning and losing seasons. Starpoint has a wide variety of Business and Art classes but only offers a couple electives for English and History. Most of the kids are from rural area and you often see kids driving to school in their tractors.

Starpoint High School 5

Posted August 26, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Starpoint High School 3

Posted June 15, 2008
- a student
Starpoint is not a bad school by any means, however, do not expect any immediate action from the superintendent on important saftey meaures or involvement in any issue other than sports, or some way to make the school 'look good'. Dr. Whelan cares more about his reputation than anything else, and many teachers will agree with that statement as well. On that note, the education I've received cannot be degraded and the quality of teachers is well above average. Mostly friendly student community and fine selection of sports teams.

Starpoint High School 5

Posted February 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Starpoint High School 5

Posted June 13, 2005
- a former student
I am an alumni from Starpoint Central School, attending K-12 and graduating in 1997. The school is the perfect size for student interactment, teachers are helpful & work hard to keep students 'up to par' and the choice of extra curricular activities is great - music, arts, drama, and a variety of varsity & jv sports!


Starpoint High School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2005
- a student
I think the school is great except their lack of a variety of sports and their terrible lunches.

Starpoint High School 5

Posted September 28, 2004
- a parent
I feel that Starpoint is a terrific school. They have added a new high school, with state of the art equipment, computers, new library, high tech security, and the new sports facility! The teachers are very dedicated, and some email weekly updates to keep families informed. I recommend this school highly. We have been in the community for ten years, the kids started in the elementary school and are now in middle and the high school. I wouldn't think of leaving the area until they are finished with school. I think they are receiving the best education available in Western New York.

Starpoint High School 1

Posted January 14, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Starpoint High School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Starpoint High School
4363 Mapleton Road, Lockport, NY  14094
(716) 210-2300
Last modified Starpoint High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Starpoint High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top