Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fricano Primary School

Public | K-2 | 579 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

I love this school. We initially were in West Seneca when my children started school. Then we moved to South Buffalo and you want to talk about a culture shock well.... We moved to Star Point this year and it is so much better again. The school is on point. My second grader is not ignored she gets her homework the teacher reports every night in an agenda book supplied by the school and communicates everything needed. My daughter is challenged if the work becomes to easy they move her to something more advanced based on her needs. They have also ensured that the necessary tools are in place for her to achieve at the higher level she progresses to. There is a program on the computer that parents can use to follow their children's progress for the week.. Moving here has been a sigh of relief to me and to my children. This is the happiest they have been in a while. Also when I walked into the office the first day to get her started the staff was very friendly and attentive and made us feel; very welcomed. The principal had a 20 minute conversation with the kids at their level. This was very important to see for me. It wasn't all about business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

Have any of you walked in there in the morning before classes? It's as if the children are rioting. I would never place my child in such a disheveled environment. Also I have children that attended a top rated private school and my best friend has a child in the same grade as one of mine. Comparatively speaking fricano gave no homework while my child had an hour a night, my child excelled at reading, writing, math and most importantly general moral while the child attending fricano had so much time free nightly she didn't flourish because there were no expectations of excellence from the school, unfortunately the parents expectations are lacking as well. Please note the children in this district are allowed to dress like hussies at a very young age. If you're looking for a riotous, over indulged and underdressed school experience lacking strong moral values as well as academic expectations for your child then fricano is the place for you. I moved out of district to avoid ever putting my child in this high school when the time comes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This is my first year with a child at Fricano. I have had very positive experience with the school and all staff. My daughter is doing great in her class and I feel is getting the academic attention that she needs. Her teacher is easy to talk to and communicates openly. She is interested and shows a genuine concern for how her class is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

the teachers are excellent- caring, involved and enthusiastic. it's a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Music, art, library, computer, critical thinking, phys. ed, P.I.P., gymnastics all available in school. A Headstart Program is also supposed to be beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

principal, guidence councilers, teachers, parents. are all very involved with each child.homework begins in kindergarden. behavior and safety are looked at very carefully. very hard not to graduate with a regents diploma.parents know how their child is doing in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 97% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Black 2 1% 19%
Hispanic 1 1% 23%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 112%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 9%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. BONNIE L. STAFFORD

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4363 Mapleton Rd
Lockport, NY 14094
Phone: (716) 210-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Errick Road Elementary School
North Tonawanda, NY




Ohio Elementary School
North Tonawanda, NY


St John Lutheran School
North Tonawanda, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT