Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
Staff, principle and teacher in charge are wonderful. Kids seem to be friendly and happy and learn not only academics but how to be good and honorable people.

West Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a community member
west is awesome i go to west and i am in the 5th grade and i been going there for 6 years already and with my experince west is a great school


West Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
West is a good school. They are caring and kind and this shows in the children. I don't feel they are great at challenging the brightest students, and there are many. I feel the need to seek outside enrichment for my children. I am hoping the latest strategies implemented by the district will require teachers to differentiate better. I do think staff is capable. I think the PTA is wonderful. Parents need to be more involved, no matter where they send their children to school.

West Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
West is the Best! The Staff, the kids and the hardworking PTA are amazing! I love everything about it!

West Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
'West is the Best' is our motto!We believe in an educationn with fun attitude. we expect success and we achieve it . Safety, nurturing, responsibility and a no bullying concept set our path. It is a great team of educators and a working hard PTA. We encourage our children everyday and strive as a force to enrich all facets of learning.


West Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2009
- a parent
I love west school. The teachers, faculty, staff, pta, children....everything about it. I have 2 children there now and 2 more on their way.

West Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
This school has a wonderful vibe and environment. It is a little haven for our kids. I have two children at West School and they feel so at home and are getting a terrific academic start. The art and music programs are extraudinary. I think it is funny that some people from our community will judge this school as a lesser quality school due to it's location, lack of parking or lack of grass...but let's keep it our secret because inside the building at West School...it feels like a little private school!

West Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
All four of my children have attended West, two graduates & two presently attending. West is a warm nurturing environment very conducive to learning. There is a wonderful art & music program which enable the children to experience all aspects of the arts. Academically the children are well prepared and with being such a small school there is much individual attention received. I do wish there were more 'new' parent involvement, instead of the same group always volunteering...who are all wonderful! West is Best!


West Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2003
- a community member
Staff prepares students for the world ahead of them. The school excels in academics, arts and technology. West prides itself on being a 'family'. Of the choices in Long Beach West is the best!

West Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My daughter has been going to West school since kindergarten, she is now in 5th grade and loves her school. She says she feel secure in her school. It is a very tight knit school and she gets a lot of indiviual attention. There is a real sense of community at West Elementary School. She loves it. As her mother I get a feeling of security myself knowing my child is in a safe and nuturing environment while learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Elementary School
91 Maryland Avenue, Long Beach, NY  11561
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (516) 897-2215
Last modified West Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top