Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 17 Henry David Thoreau

Public | PK-5 | 561 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

The School is clean and friendly, the teacher of my son is good teacher(Ms. Antonio). The new Principal is doing a good Job. They do a lot of activities with the parents. They have me inform of everything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Wonderful people, great teacher!! so happy my princess go to this school. Dual Language Program is excellent and provides so much confident to the kids knowing Spanish and English at the same level. Way to go!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

esta escuela le ha dado una oportunidad de aprendisaje a mi hija ahora tienen un programa piloto de ensenar espanol alos ninos que sus padre esten de acuerdo con el mismo definitivamente la escuela esta superandose bastante solo nesecitamos que los padres esten mas enbolucrado en este y todos los proyecto venidero gracias.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Im a former student from 2005-2010 I'm in high-school now and have a bright future. All the teachers are understanding and supportive . All my friends went to this school here. And I've met some amazing and inspiring people here as well. Though some kids aren't as respectful towers others we still get along. This school only needs one improvment not kids and more classrooms to ensure more healthier and brighter kids.


Posted June 3, 2013

My family have been in this school for 3 years. We were hoping the new principal would bring positive change. I agree with others that the environment is more welcoming to discussions. But bullying is a problem. My son is constantly bullied and I have talked to many adults in the school about it. But I dont think the kids are punished because it is still happening and now he doesn't want to go to school. He cries at night when he comes home. School should be a happy place, not a place you don't want to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

The work environment is very pleasant and we collaborate with each other. The administration is VERY supportive of initiatives that the staff take on. It is a pleasure to be a part of this team and I am sure this school is on the path to an amazing growth that will be beneficial to all students. In spite of all the difficulties presented by the system in general (like budget cuts and hiring restrictions), the school maintains its vision.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2013

I would like to let people know that all the reviews of PS17 from 2012 and before that were from when the old principal was in office. This school year (2012-2013) started with a new principal who, working together with the entire school community, has truly taken steps to bring our school to an amazing place! Spirits and morale have lifted in our school again. PS17 is a welcoming school with a new open door policy! Please don't let the older reviews scare you! We are beginning a Dual Language Program in September 2013 which is going to enrich our students. We have awesome teachers, caring administrators and a new sense of school community! Our kids will very much benefit from attending this school-my daughter loves it here again. She gets to go outside for recess and gets to participate in great assemblies. Music and art is making a big comeback! I couldn't be more proud of my child's school-PS17!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

my school is great one . it has developed so much. we are new comers and we had a problem with English language for my kids but the school principle and the teachers were amazing . now before the year ends my kids are native speakers and they are excellent in math and science too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This year a new principal took over and is slowly making positive changes. My child is happy and working hard. Parents are invited to participate in different activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

Horrible!!! It was one of the best school about 10 years ago, but now.......a nightmare. I'm going to remove my daughter from here. They have a new old and soul less "teacher" (real witch) who's not married and never had a child, who actually hates children. She is horrible. We are going to the private school. Me and my daughter both very sad. But we have no other choice but leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

we are sending our son to the other school, because of his teacher. after all these years, we are very sad, because our college student kids used to go to this school, and we were very satisfied. not any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

its a terrible school and lots of kids got held back once or twice in that school and the lunch ladies are mean to the students and it got boring in that school


Posted February 10, 2011

This school, unfortunately, has truly taken a turn for the worse. The state scores are horrendous & many students are failing. Even after the SES tutoring started last year, the scores have gotten lower. The school received an F rating in student performance. There are no extra curricular activities. There are no sports or chorus. The teachers seem to have given up. The saving grace of the school are the children who want to succeed & the parents who want to make the school better. We have a wonderful parent coordinator, Dina Pilios, who does her best to help the parents. She goes out of her way to make us feel welcome & included in our children's school & education. She offers many exciting & informational workshops during the year. She is part of just a handful of the staff that makes our school shine just a little brighter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

I'm a parent very appreciative on the uniform policy and the discipline the school offers my child! I am also happy to have my daughter with the same teacher for three years. I feel my daughter has a connection of trust and Respect toward her teacher. I am a very pleased parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

My son has been attending to P.S. 17 Henry David Thoreau School since pre-K and I'm very please with his learning progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

I have to be honest, and I really did have negative lst yr of kindergarten in this school. Disorganized, finger pointing, dicipline problems, no after school programs, did not agree on a uniform policy. All this in kindergarten. I feel they do not treat the parents as a part of the process, and need more communication and safety protocols. Issues arose and were not sufficiently resolved, or ignored. Cannot tell you of the learning process, for it was only the lst yr of school, but I am trying to transfer my child out for the stress and problems that occurred should not happen again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 58% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 22% 9%
White 1 12% 48%
Black 2 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 130%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 293%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 396 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents35781%
Teachers3993%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. REBECCA HEYWARD

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28-37 29th St
Long Island City, NY 11102
Phone: (718) 278-1220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 234
Astoria, NY




Ps 171 Peter G Van Alst
Long Island City, NY


Ps 85 Judge Charles Vallone
Long Island City, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT