Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 85 Judge Charles Vallone

Public | PK-5 | 503 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

This is a nurturing community/school. My child is very happy, is learning, has great teachers and lots of enrichment. The school is always trying to improve and is very accessible. Lots of engaged parents, too and a very diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

This school is a gem and serves a very diverse population, both in terms of backgrounds and learning styles. It has ELL, Special Ed, General Ed and G and T and the school embraces them all. The principal is straightforward and accessible, the teachers are caring and engaging. My child is in the gifted program and her teachers have been fantastic. I think all children are valued and the school is not afraid to incorporate technology and new approaches to learning. There is a great science lab/teacher, music, robotics, chess, etc. and also a great afterschool program, Serious Fun. Couldn't be happier. It's a special place where children are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

my son is in 1st grade and my daughter also graduated 5th grade from here. I am so satisfied and school staff is so professional helpful and friendly. my son is in good enviornment in ps-85 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

P.S. 85 is a wonderful school with great teachers and the best after school programs. Great learning environment for the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

My daughter absoulutely loves this school. The teachers and staff are outstanding and the ciriculum is fantastic. I would gladly recommend this scholl to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This school is dedicated to the children in all aspects. Teachers are 100% in my book. My daughter has been in the school since Pre-K and even before that she wanted to be in this school. It's like a family to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My daughter is in the STEM Program and she absolutely loves it as well as her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The school is good and the staff helpful. The commute is a beast however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My son is in the second grade at PS 85. His teacher, Ms. D'Angelo, is a true gift to education, this school and our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The principal Mrs. Chang, teachers and staff love and care deeply for the students & school. Their dedication is always evident. They love the kids and the kids love them and the grades show it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Is a very good school,the principal and teacher are very professional, and really nice people, every employee in PS85 are nice, and they help you in everything they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

small classes, terrific teachers and a hands-on, parent-friendly principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Wonderful school with wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

standard learning environment and skilled teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My two grand sons attend this school and I can see how much they love it and the big progress they are making academically My two grandsons attend it and I am very impressed with their academic work. On top of that they love the school.


Posted April 27, 2010

The principal listens to the parents. We feel welcome at the school and in the classroom. Good variety of after school clubs during the spring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The administration and the faculty are all invested in helping each child develop to the best of his or her ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Excellent teachers and principal; warm, caring environment; and happy children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

My son attends PreK at P.S. 85Q and it really has been an amazing experience for him. He had a rough time transitioning into leaving me, but the teachers, the paraprofessional and other PreK parents were so supportive that now, he is fully adjusted and learning so many things! I can't say enough good things about the PreK program. In less that a few months, he has learned to write his name, his alphabet and so much more. I highly recommend this PreK program, you won't find more dedicated teachers, aides, even the social worker is available for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

My son attended Pre-K at PS 85. When I first enrolled him into the Pre-K program I was unsure if he was ready since he was only 3 1/2. Apparently he was and the school had been great to him from day 1. His teacher was great and we will definately have a hardtime explaining to him why she will not be his teacher next year. The school as a whole is good. We receive letters everyday explaining what is going on each week and as far as the principal is concerened, she is very nice and you are able to communicate with her on any matter. My only complaint is that the school is located directly next to the N train line which means noise! There are no AC's in the classrooms which mean in the the summer days the windows are open and the trains are going by. Very disruptive! In all A-
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 48%
Hispanic 29% 23%
Asian 26% 9%
Black 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 326 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents28758%
Teachers3995%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANN GORDON-CHANG

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23-70 31st St
Long Island City, NY 11105
Phone: (718) 278-3630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






P.S. 84 Steinway
Astoria, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT