Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of American Studies

Public | 9-12 | 704 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

88 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2009

Academy of American Studies is the best schoo. I know from experience because, I am alumni. Academy was like my second home, you make friends with everyone from the school. The teachers are very encouraging and supportive, We are all like a family, with a unity and support like that no one can beat that no matter what.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

I think what is really nice about the Academy is that it is a small school and you can really get to know everybody and the teachers really care about you, and try to get to know you as a person. I enjoyed my time in Academy, because it helped me to prepare for college. Many of my college classmates do not even know many of the things I have learned from high school. Even though I'm busy with my college life now, I dont think I'll forget the good times I had in Academy.


Posted September 26, 2009

It is small and allows for students to get individualized attention. It really cares about the student body!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

I love academy of american studies !.Teachers, staff & students are great ! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Great school where every student is active due to the size of the student body and excellent staff. Course work and curriculum great prepares students for college and future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

As a former faculty member my vote goes to the Academy of American Studies. It offers a unique curriculum that challenges students to give it there all. Teaching at the Academy was an experience I will always hold close to my heart. The students truly are amazing and deserve the best! Lastly, it is the dedicated administration, faculty and staff that make the Academy the best school in the nation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2009

It was a privilege to have been a student at the Academy of American Studies. The school has such amazing teachers - more knowledgeable than most professors I've had in college. The staff genuinely cares for the students and provides a safe and encouraging learning environment. It deserves all the praise and recognition it gets.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

I am an Austrian Teacher who was lucky to teach at the Academy for 3 years as a Science Teacher. With me hundreds of other Austrians came to NYC. We met weekly and talked about our experiences. To make it short: Nobody felt as happy and as lucky as I was. It was a great pleasure to teach at the Academy. I am now back in Austria and still tell my classes about my wonderful experience in this school. I ve had the time of life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

This school is by all means the best. You learn reg academics as well as American History. The school is mixed so you have the chance to be around many different cultures as well. The teachers and staff are very caring, down to earth and patient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

The teachers have a close relationship with the students because our school is a smaller school than many other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

The school is quite small which I like and the teachers are very dedicated and supportive. I love Academy of American Studies and miss it so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2009

The teachers were amazing. I learned so much that I could never forget. The Academy really prepared me for college. The faculty is great and they were always nice and there to help whenever you needed to talk. Thanks Academy !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

This school really made me discover my personality. I was always insecure and still am, however, everyone in the school was so outgoing. I took a personal closeness to the assistant principle since I was in the theatre club. I was able to discover my love for acting and here I am now, acting in plays in college and writing scripts. I learned perfect French in this school and I'm also a history buff. I love traveling and I thank a higher being everyday for the oppurtunities Academy gave us with school field trips and etc.


Posted September 25, 2009

Unlike most other public schools in NYC, teachers in American Studies actually care about their students. Not only were these teachers your friends, but they were mentors as well. It's always nice to go back and say hello to the people who made a difference in my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

Only in Academy do you find a real community of students and staff who work together cooperatively. Academy is a colloquial environment where all students and staff are happy and comfortable. The staff really pushes the students and expects the students to graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Academy's small, close-knit community provides for the best experience a student can ask for. We're such a small school but so active. Everyone gets involved. We are the epitome of a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The principal, Assistant principals,and teachers are wonderful and caring! They challenge our students and there is always open commuication with them!I am so proud that my son attends this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The school is small. The teachers are very down-to-earth and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Although my son David has only just begun attending Academy of American Studies I am delighted that we chose it and that they chose him. David attended Solomon Schechter School of Queens, a conservative Jewish day school for the last 9 years. I was nervous about his transition to public school. Having said that I have to say that the Academy is the closest you can get to having a private school experience in the NYC public school system. There are approximately 625 students which makes the learning environment a more intimate setting. Apparently everyone knows everyone else within a short time. I love that David is receiving a private school quality education with the added advantages of it being a diverse community. I am sure David will be nurtured and enriched at the Academy of American Studies. We look forward to the next 4 years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Very diverse, so many programs and the teachers are just so nice and teach well. Basically: best school ever!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
77%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
75%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

17 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
100%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

123 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students27%
Female28%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander40%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population27%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant27%

Chemistry

All Students33%
Female34%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant33%

Earth Science

All Students57%
Female58%
Male56%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities14%
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant57%

English

All Students85%
Female89%
Male82%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities35%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%

Geometry

All Students69%
Female75%
Male60%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%

Global History and Geography

All Students82%
Female83%
Male79%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities32%
General population87%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%

Integrated Algebra

All Students76%
Female79%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities42%
General population82%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%

Living Environment

All Students71%
Female75%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities32%
General population77%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%

Physics

All Students57%
Female75%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant57%

U.S. History and Government

All Students94%
Female96%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 35% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 29% 9%
White 1 29% 48%
Black 2 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 166%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 47%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1030 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27137%
Students72298%
Teachers3790%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:25 am
School end time
  • 4:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. WILLIAM BASSELL

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - B62, Q100, Q101, Q102, Q103, Q32, Q39, Q60, Q66, Q67, Q69. Subways - F to 21st St - Queensbridge; G to Court Square - 23rd St; E, M, R to Queens Plaza; 7, N, Q to Queensboro Plaza
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Sofbtall
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28-01 41st Ave
Long Island City, NY 11101
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 361-8786

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Newcomers High School
Long Island City, NY


Evangel Christian School
Long Island City, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT