Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 166 Henry Gradstein

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 1124 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

My child has attended PS 166 for 2 years. This far we've been very satisfied with our teacher, staff, and our principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

My son is in kindergarten at this school and we are very pleased with it so far. His teacher is warm, caring, creative and inspiring to the kids. The principal is a true leader, who promotes a child-centered learning environment at the school. My son also has some special health issues requiring accommodations at school and I have found the entire school staff to be excellent on this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

My daughter has been attending PS 166 for two years and I've found the school, administration, and teachers to be incredibly warm, caring, and accessible. Principal Geller is fantastic--she's very engaged, open to parent involvement, and she literally knows every single one of the students by name. My daughter's teacher this year is excellent--she gives the kids constant, positive reinforcement and her classroom is a calm yet vital space for learning. My daughter has made amazing friends and has been really happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

Ms. Geller is a phoney. She walks around and smiles at the parents, but in reality she is incompetent. She is NOT in tune to the cultural diversity and can't get rid of the horrible teachers because she is weak and used to work with them. I'm looking into moving to P.S 122 and not waste anymore of my child's educational time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Ms. Geller used to be my reading teacher when I was in like 2nd; 2-225 or 3rd grade; 3-225. She then became assistant principle and now is the principle. I don't do to that school anymore because I am in Middle school now. Ms. Tomais was my third grade teacher and she was the best teacher. She was so nice. I don't know if she still teaches or not


Posted September 28, 2013

My child started kindergarten this September 2013, what I realized in ps166 is nobody wants to do anything , from the first time I went to hand in my child's application, one of the ladies was very rude & gave me a run around just to hand in a application & ignored me standing at the desk for over 15 minutes. Now my child has been attending ps 166 for about 2 weeks & I been having problems with the assistant principal harassing me every morning & their after school program don't want to deal with the children, they will call you at work to come pick your child up for any little thing. These are suppose to be workers/ counclers who are able to handle children . I was told from one of the workers of the Jacob Riis program that their counclers aren't equipt to handle my child. My child who is only 4 years old attended the Jacob Riis program for only 4 days & they kicked my child out of the program. Nobody in this school wants to do anything , they just wanna brush the children off to somebody else ,instead of trying to help . I can't believe this school operates this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My child go to this school. Teacher was wonder full last year . This school was good school years back now is falling behind because good parent dosen't want deal with the office stuff ! Some of them are really rude ! I think parent are the vital roll of success for school and the kid ! I think office stuff dosen't who comes and who go they will get paid anyway !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

I was a student at this school, I really liked it. It is clean, some teachers are fun but others are strict. This school is good. I started at second grade. I miss this school. M.s Geller, the new principal is nice, understanding, very qualified. If you behave good you wouldn't have a problem. I liked the way they teach. This school has dual language. In gym, my class played fun games. The teacher quality is pretty good . Any one who goes to this school will love it. I recommend it.


Posted September 30, 2012

This school used to be really good with nice teachers and bright children.But over the years they started hiring rude teachers that sometimes cursed and talked in slang.The school progress report went from an A to a D.Some teachers also have no patience.They lose their temper easily.Ever since they and the rude lunch ladies were hired it started becoming a bad school.It wasn't the principal's fault the children's fault or the teacher's fault.Hopefully, the new principal,Mrs.Geller, can turn thing around.I am a 6th grader that just bothered to review and I went to this school since kindergarten.All my teachers were nice.They were Mrs.A (I forgot her full name),Mrs. Calpakis, Mrs. Davenel, Mrs. Hoar,and Mrs. Agosto and Mrs. Seitz..I forgot my kindergarten teacher but her name started with a C.This is a fair school.


Posted February 29, 2012

My daughter attend to dual language program and she loves her teachers. She enjoys going school, and learning very well. There are many good teachers there but it is true that there are some teachers who does not seem qualified. Some of the office staff are very rude and speak with no courtesy to the parents or visitors (I often want to cover my daughters ears.) It is unfortunate to have these people who destroy the reputation of other great teacher's hard work. It seems former principal, Mrs. Janet Farrell did not care those too much. I hope new Principal I.A., Mrs Geller will act quickly for change and hire appropriate teachers and office staff. Like Reply
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

i have heard lot of nice things about the school, but the office stuffs are the worst. I've never seen someone so rude, mean and arrogant people in my entire life like these people. some teachers are so messed up that they make the parents are cry. I have tell some names for the sake of the children this teacher ms. herring she is the most rude person in the world. i dont know how could people behave this rudely with kindergarten childrens. i wish i could find proper authority to make complaint about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

The teachers are kind and they work quickly. Students are kept on track with the rest of the world.


Posted November 9, 2007

i believe this school is excellent. i have seen such an improvement in my child's academics. i am extremely happy that my son attends a school that has loving and caring teachers, i was amazingly shocked that their progress report grade was a D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My daughter has been going to p.S 166 since kindergarten. Now she's in the 4th grade. Her average is exceptional. I love that all the teachers,welcomed her with open arms even when she was a tough cookie in the beginning. I love that all the teachers embrace the student as if they were their own. And when you have a staff with those credentials your child will grasp the learning experience on a higher level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2007

I very happy with the school , my child is learnig a lot,some teacher are great.the only think they should change the people from the office they don't do much to help the parent around and are very rude over the phone, i think the principal need to do more. with the learning is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

In my opinion PS166 is good, they have a new program with children name Dual Language Program for de first time in this school. I still need more information about this new program, My daugther is in this program, each day one group is taught with Spanish teacher the other day it is English. She is learning how to write and read in Spanish and write and read in English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

Very happy with PS 166. Teachers are very motivated and have great communication with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female44%
Male33%
African American7%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities9%
General population45%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English46%
Non-migrant38%

Math

All Students35%
Female37%
Male34%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities9%
General population42%
English language learners16%
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Female32%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander44%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities0%
General population33%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Math

All Students41%
Female41%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities0%
General population46%
English language learners9%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%

Science

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities61%
General population98%
English language learners91%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female35%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities7%
General population42%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%

Math

All Students36%
Female36%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities13%
General population39%
English language learners9%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 50% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 27% 9%
White 1 16% 48%
Black 2 6% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 128%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 283%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 51%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 586 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents53653%
Teachers5068%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JESSICA GELLER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33-09 35th Ave
Long Island City, NY 11106
Phone: (718) 786-6703

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 112 Dutch Kills
Long Island City, NY


Growing Up Green Charter School
Long Island City, NY


Evangel Christian School
Long Island City, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT