Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
65 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The previous review is not true at all! I am a high IQ student, who was part of the honor program at Sappo. While I was there I scored a 95 on my English Regents, 91 on English Regents and in the 80's for all the other ones. I went on to college and joined the honors program there and was part of the honors society. If Sappo wasnt teaching to high standards I would not be such a success today
June 15, 2010

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sappo School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a community member
For the past three years my 10 year old grandson has attended SAPPO School. Four years ago, I was desperately looking for an appropriate school placement for my grandson. He was an insecure 2nd grader who was drowning academically and socially. It was heartbreaking to watch him turn into a frustrated, overwhelmed and at times angry child. Then I found SAPPO School. It was “Mr. Rogers” neighborhood: all smiles, calm and soft voices, and the most compassionate and. At my initial meeting with Joanne Sappo, The Director, I knew everything was going to be alright. I have never had one moment of regret over my decision. Every experience for him has been a positive. He started at SAPPO School at ground zero. Within six months he was a new child. He loved school and his teachers. He was happy. He was learning. The individual attention and nurturing that he received created a “new and improved” child. And he continues to thrive every day. SAPPO School has been more than an excellent academic educational experience. He is learning social skills. He is learning how to handle difficult situations. He is learning how to express his feelings and thoughts. He is learning life skills. It is how he learns that is important. It is his unique strengths and weakness, his needs, his communication abilities and his learning styles that are driving his educational plan. He has been treated with a high level of concern, caring and kindness by everyone involved – from classroom to office. The transformation has been remarkable. He has a positive attitude about himself, his classmates, his teachers and his accomplishments. He feels safe and secure in school. His future is now filled with possibilities, because of the dedication and devotion of all of the professional educators and staff at SAPPO School. The outcomes for him would be very different if he was not attending SAPPO School. How can I put a value on being able to watch him wake up in the morning - excited because it is a school day? If it were possible for me to design the “perfect” learning environment” for all children, I would not have to look any further than SAPPO School. The school has exceeded any and all of my expectations. It is the perfect fit for any child.

Sappo School 5

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
My granddaughter attended this school and soared academically, and most importantly, she developed such wonderful social skills. She graduated with high grades and was fully prepared for college. Her friends were really of the highest caliber. The best part was the quality of the teachers, who were so well trained in how to teach using something they call Sappo's Brain Work strategies. I have never seen anything like it! My children all attended the best private schools in the past and this one is really up there with the best! Actually, her mom is a teacher herself, so knew what school would be most effective, and she was right.


Sappo School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
They each use a variety of great learning tools. Classes are all lively and interactive. I know if a new teacher doesn't measure up, they don't last long at Sappo.

Sappo School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
This is a great part of the school. The homework matches the individual skills of each kid. They gradually expect more and more, adding slowly so that my granddaughter went from doing 1/2 hour of homework when she first went there from public school to 2 1/2 hours each night at Sappo. She did this without complaint!

Sappo School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
The school is a Regents school with high academic standards. The lessons are motivational and they teach the kids to be motivated from within using these great SHAPE strategies. They always say "stay the course!"


Sappo School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
Students are heard. Their own self-esteem is nurtured. My granddaughter learned to respect others as she learned how to value herself more.

Sappo School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
The social-emotional holistic learning program is based on strategies Sappo calls SHAPE. They are all about building self-esteem in students and showing a caring concern for each. They are trained at very lengthy seminars to identify stresses that could cause a child to feel anxious. I know this because when my granddaughter was feeling overwhelmed with something that was going on at home, they called a team meeting and had my daughter and son-in-law meet with them to help them understand the needs, so they can each support her fully. The teachers also show great respect and camaraderie when interacting with each other, setting the example for the kids.

Sappo School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
The whole school is based on social and emotional education to support academics. Honesty is fostered in peer circle groups with open communication and great interactive skills being taught. Teachers model this open and honest communication that starts with the administration. They never promise what they can't give. I know a friend of mine was told that their child would do better elsewhere because the program didn't match his needs. Most schools accept anyone. Not Sappo. But they are fair and guide parents in the right direction. They also listen to the parents and students when there are complaints about teachers. They really listen and do something about every legitimate complaint. Sappo is well respected in the community. I heard from parents that many pediatricians recommend the school for safety and high quality teaching. They also take a strong position on honesty with students and teachers. I know it is hard for a teacher to qualify to work at Sappo and to pass the first year trial period. But, the one's that have been there for years are truly fine examples for the students in honesty, integrity, and fairness.


Sappo School 5

Posted March 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter entered Sappo as a junior. She has ADD and a language processing disability. She was losing confidence and self esteem. She was passing all her regents classes but struggling and needed tutors to review the work. She will graduate in June and is a new person. She was accepted to many colleges and has decided on Cabrini college in PA. This school was worth every penny.

Sappo School 5

Posted July 19, 2010
- a teacher
I have been teaching at Sappo School for several years now. Having come from a public school setting as a permanent substitute teacher and a leave replacement, I can tell you that there is a big difference. In public schools it is easy for a child to get lost in the crowd. And most children feel ashamed if they are having difficulties. They will sit quietly and try to just get by the best they can instead of seeking help. When you have 30+ students per class, it is easy for some to go unnoticed. In Sappo School, the class sizes average about 8 students per class. So not only can we see if someone is having difficulties we can also do something about it right away. The students are much more comfortable seeking out help as well. Knowing your student is the key. After all, it is all about them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sappo School
40 Kings Park Road, Long Island, NY  11725
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (631) 736-2146
Last modified Sappo School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top