Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Peace School

Private | PK-8 | 233 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lynbrook

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $363,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2010

My children are receiving an excellent education from an academic standpoint. The teachers are nurturing and caring, yet know how to challenge the students to produce their best. The real value-added of Our Lady of Peace, though, is not so much the things you can easily measure-- like test scores and grades. It's what the school is able to instill in each student-- strong Christian values, a feeling of belonging to an entire community, and a sense of responsibility to each other and those less fortunate. The OLP family has helped my family shape our two daughters into the kind of young adults that hold all the promise of the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

They have a great faith based community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My son attended pre-school at Our Lady of Peace shortly after a very traumatic event took place in his life. The teachers and administration were so very kind and thoughtful in how they treated and cared for my son. It is a truly loving and devoted school and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Excellent administration, and faculty; teachers are true professional educators and caring and concerned about the students educational, spiritual, and social needs. It is a loving, environment that promotes Catholic values and offers the best education. OLP students are accepted into the best high schools and continue to excel there and beyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

It is a wonderful community of families who value their faith and choose to send their children to Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

The caring staff, both teachers and administrators, have made a great impact on myself and the lives of my children. It is an amazing community of family and friends that provide the support needed to keep our children on track. It is refreshing to have a school that reinforces our values and faith while providing an excellent education for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Our Lady of Peace School is a wonderful place. The education is outstanding, the teachers are very loving and dedicated and the catholic atmosphere is inspirational. My daughter is thriving at school both academically and spiritually. I am extremely happy with the entire environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Our Lady of Peace has a caring and loving principal and staff.. They work hard to provide a well rounded education by offering art, music, drama and sports team for its students. The school goes above and beyond to help care for its neighborhood and those in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I am the parent of two wonderful but anxious/nervous children. The school community at Our Lady of Peace has been so positive and reassuring to them. They truly look forward to going to school and have gained so much both academically and personally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

MY children have attended OLP for the past 10 years. The school provides a wonderful opportunity for children to learn and grow in a spiritual environment. The teachers are wonderful and focus on each child. The children work with and encourage each other daily. I am very happy my children have and currently attend OLP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It's a place to learn and grow together. Everyone is part of a 'family'. We have two children. One graduated from there and attends Kellenberg and the other will graduate this June and follow. Our Lady of Peace has been such a big and wonderful part of our lives for so many years. Sr. Mary and the staff are outstanding. They give 110% of themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

i am a parent of one of the students in fifth grade and i could not ask for a better school. the principal knows every parents and child's name at the school.it really is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

OLP is one of the most amazing schools Ihave ever seen. The teachers are all so nice and compassionate.


Posted June 2, 2008

This school is truly outstanding. My daughter loves the entire school environment. The principal, teachers and staff are all very committed to education and promoting a fun learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 52%
Black 24% 21%
Hispanic 5% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Dowden
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21 Fowler Ave
Lynbrook, NY 11563
Phone: (516) 593-4884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


West End School
Lynbrook, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT