Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mahopac Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
The middle school years can bring difficult times for children. There are so many changes that occur during those years. My children receive an excellent education in this school and they also received the structure and emotional support from the staff that's lacking in many middle schools in our country.

Mahopac Middle School 5

Posted December 22, 2013
- a community member
The new principle is nice. Our old principle, not so much. Our new principle is trying to make changes, is fixing the bullying situations, expanding lockers, giving us spaces of convinience, being invlolved, and knows whats going on. As a student, I know EXACTLY what goes on, and yes, i have dealt with bullying here before. The staff have been extrememly helpful, alowing me to switch classes, and being very supportive. All the teachers are kind, every teacher will help you, if you're an 8th grader, a 6th grade teacher would be happy to help. gth grader? No problem! A 7th grade teacher will help you. The teachers teach well, and it is an excelent school.


Mahopac Middle School 3

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school during my middle school years it is okay, but the teachers aren't excellent, although there are some good teachers.

Mahopac Middle School 2

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
The school district has just enough resource, nothing excels, the taxes increase does not improve the school program, many teachers are being let go due to the state budget cuts. Not happy that my son is being bullied, and nothing resolved.

Mahopac Middle School 3

Posted April 05, 2011
- a community member
I am a student here. Bullying is a problem it is not getting better. Every other week there seems to be a fight on our buslines. The teachers are amazing but like people said science is not the best. :(((


Mahopac Middle School 1

Posted January 06, 2011
- a parent
The bulling need to stop in this school. The administration does nothing about it. I have taken my son out of this school per his request and is now attending a private school. And if you try to get a hold of the principle. don't bother, he will never return you calls. The whole administration is horrible. They brag about being a blue ribbon school. They haven't been blue ribbon since 1998. Huge drug and alcohol problem in this school. I would not recommend anyone to place their child into this school. Changes need to be made with the amount of taxes we pay in this county.

Mahopac Middle School 1

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
Children get picked on and abused by their peers and the district does nothing. Many parents are worse than the children are. Terrible administration

Mahopac Middle School 1

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
VERY BAD SCHOOL. SCHOOL PRINCIPAL, EMPLOYEES AND ADMINISTRATION OFFICEERS ARE TOTALLY UNRESPONSIVE, NEVER RETURN PHONE CALLS. TELLS AND SENDS REPORT WHICH ARE LIE AND INCORRECT AND WHEN YOU CALL EMPLOYEES TELLS THAT NON OF THE OFFICER OR PRINCIPAL ARE ALLOWED TO TALK OR RETURN THE PHONE CALLS TO PARENTS. I WAS TOLD BY ON 05/18/2010, 05/21/2010 BY PRINCIPAL AND ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL'S SECURITY AT MIDDLE SCHOOL.


Mahopac Middle School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
The opportunity for a good education exists here with some very good teachers and concerned counselors. However, your child will need to navigate a social environment that is frought with disrespect toward teachers and each other and an administration that cannot enforce the rules consistantly partly because of parents who embrace the 'not my kid' attitude.

Mahopac Middle School 3

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
There are both excellent and very poor aspects to this school. There are many fine teachers, especially in math. The science program is misguided, jumping from subject to subject, lacking in good texts, and suffering from a lack of discipline and common sense. The after-school program is rich and varied. The administration is irregular, sometimes caring and sometimes misguided. They do not handle bullying issues well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mahopac Middle School
425 Baldwin Place Road, Mahopac, NY  10541
(845) 621-1330
Last modified Mahopac Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mahopac Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top