Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mahopac Middle School 5

Posted December 22, 2013
- a community member
The new principle is nice. Our old principle, not so much. Our new principle is trying to make changes, is fixing the bullying situations, expanding lockers, giving us spaces of convinience, being invlolved, and knows whats going on. As a student, I know EXACTLY what goes on, and yes, i have dealt with bullying here before. The staff have been extrememly helpful, alowing me to switch classes, and being very supportive. All the teachers are kind, every teacher will help you, if you're an 8th grader, a 6th grade teacher would be happy to help. gth grader? No problem! A 7th grade teacher will help you. The teachers teach well, and it is an excelent school.

Mahopac Middle School 3

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school during my middle school years it is okay, but the teachers aren't excellent, although there are some good teachers.


Mahopac Middle School 2

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
The school district has just enough resource, nothing excels, the taxes increase does not improve the school program, many teachers are being let go due to the state budget cuts. Not happy that my son is being bullied, and nothing resolved.

Mahopac Middle School 3

Posted April 05, 2011
- a community member
I am a student here. Bullying is a problem it is not getting better. Every other week there seems to be a fight on our buslines. The teachers are amazing but like people said science is not the best. :(((

Mahopac Middle School 1

Posted January 06, 2011
- a parent
The bulling need to stop in this school. The administration does nothing about it. I have taken my son out of this school per his request and is now attending a private school. And if you try to get a hold of the principle. don't bother, he will never return you calls. The whole administration is horrible. They brag about being a blue ribbon school. They haven't been blue ribbon since 1998. Huge drug and alcohol problem in this school. I would not recommend anyone to place their child into this school. Changes need to be made with the amount of taxes we pay in this county.


Mahopac Middle School 1

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
Children get picked on and abused by their peers and the district does nothing. Many parents are worse than the children are. Terrible administration

Mahopac Middle School 1

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
VERY BAD SCHOOL. SCHOOL PRINCIPAL, EMPLOYEES AND ADMINISTRATION OFFICEERS ARE TOTALLY UNRESPONSIVE, NEVER RETURN PHONE CALLS. TELLS AND SENDS REPORT WHICH ARE LIE AND INCORRECT AND WHEN YOU CALL EMPLOYEES TELLS THAT NON OF THE OFFICER OR PRINCIPAL ARE ALLOWED TO TALK OR RETURN THE PHONE CALLS TO PARENTS. I WAS TOLD BY ON 05/18/2010, 05/21/2010 BY PRINCIPAL AND ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL'S SECURITY AT MIDDLE SCHOOL.

Mahopac Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
The opportunity for a good education exists here with some very good teachers and concerned counselors. However, your child will need to navigate a social environment that is frought with disrespect toward teachers and each other and an administration that cannot enforce the rules consistantly partly because of parents who embrace the 'not my kid' attitude.


Mahopac Middle School 3

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
There are both excellent and very poor aspects to this school. There are many fine teachers, especially in math. The science program is misguided, jumping from subject to subject, lacking in good texts, and suffering from a lack of discipline and common sense. The after-school program is rich and varied. The administration is irregular, sometimes caring and sometimes misguided. They do not handle bullying issues well.

Mahopac Middle School 5

Posted April 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mahopac Middle School
425 Baldwin Place Road, Mahopac, NY  10541
(845) 621-1330
Last modified Mahopac Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mahopac Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top