Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mamaroneck Avenue School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
We have found the teachers at MAS are amazing educators and take a genuine interest in the students. There is an ability and willingness to accommodate all levels of learners and push students to do their best while feeling good about themselves. The focus is on actual learning and developing an enduring intellectual curiosity rather than just numbers and statistics. The PTA is very active and has arranged for a wide breadth of extra activities for the students. We are very happy with our child's experience at MAS.

Mamaroneck Avenue School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Smart, progressive leadership and committed teachers. The school is diverse with families from all over the world. School leadership and MAS community value this diversity and see it as a strength. Dual language program is one indicator of this- provides a balanced and amazing opportunity for all kids to become fully literate in two languages (Spanish and English).


Mamaroneck Avenue School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Smart dedicated teachers with tons of energy and focused on each kids' needs. Kids love being at school with their peers and teachers...

Mamaroneck Avenue School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
Mamaroneck Avenue School provides a strong educational and cultural experience for its students! From the wonderful vegetable gardens and salad days to the extraordinary school musicals, art classes and International Fairs, none of the other schools compare!!

Mamaroneck Avenue School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My child attends MAS, and we have experienced nothing but excellence. We are very critical, and had some concerns going into it, but the school has proven just how high their standards are.


Mamaroneck Avenue School 5

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
I have been a parent of 3 chldren attending Mam'k Ave School for 10 years. Those who say it has a special warmth,diversity and character are correct. Those who say the teachers, admin and staff are top notch are similarly correct. There are those who will look at the "7" and see less than all of above. I wish the ratings were based on more than test scores, since there is so much more to a school. However, MAS' population is about 60% low income and so, it is difficult for many of the ESL students or students of ESLparents to do as well on testing. But, as a parent, you need to know that the benefits of having your child in a very diverse environment far outweigh the benefits of a "10" all white/upper income school,epecially if the educational value is the same. (The curriculum is the same at all 4 Mam'k School District elem schools.) Specifically, my 3 children are all "A+" students and the two who have moved on to Middle School (which the other 3 mostly white/upper income elem schools feed into) are STILL "A+" students. All of the schools in the Mamk School District are wonderful, but do not fear the diversity of MAS! (And we have the best ethnic foods at our fair!!)

Mamaroneck Avenue School
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
Mamaroneck Avenue School is one of the most diverse schools in Westchester. Their reading program is excellent. My kids were all reading well by the age 5. When we were trying to buy a slightly bigger house, she was not willing to move 5 blocks away since it will put us in a different school. Th e cooperation among the parents brought out by the faculty for any function is amazing. Another interesting thing is that a lot of the teachers in the school district pick Mamaroneck Avenue school for their kids primary school, although they teach at different schools.

Mamaroneck Avenue School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
When a parent sends their child to school, especially grammar school age, they want to feel confident that their child is being taken care of. Aside from receiving a great education, the administration and faculty at Mamaroneck Ave. School gives our children the care and guidance that comes from the heart. It is reassuring to know that the second home of our children is Mamaroneck Avenue School and we leave them with wonderful caregivers every day!


Mamaroneck Avenue School 5

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
This is definitely a school that has the students' learning at the top of the list. Superb teaching, a warm and caring enviroment and extreme involvement in the childrens' lives is what makes Mamaroneck Avenue school stand out. Very happy to have my child attend this school; keep up the good work!

Mamaroneck Avenue School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
MAS has a extemely welcoming and nurturing envirnoment. The staff work very hard to meet the needs of all the children and their families

Nearby schools

Mamaroneck Avenue School
850 Mamaroneck Avenue, Mamaroneck, NY  10543
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (914) 220-3600
Last modified Mamaroneck Avenue School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top