Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Mamaroneck, NY
Students enrolled: 1,468

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted February 08, 2015
- a parent
Our two girls are presently at the high school and, overall, we have been very pleased with their experience. On the plus side, the school offers a nurturing environment, a strong menu of academic options, including plenty of honors/AP courses, amazingly rich arts / music programs, strong athletics for those so inclined, and a diverse student community. MHS sends plenty of students to the very best universities in the country without feeling like a finishing school for snobs. There is plenty of competition (a lot of it driven by parents, of course!), but our daughters (both very good students) have never felt like they inhabit a highly pressurized environment. They've had a terrific time. On the negative side, some of their teachers have been uninspiring, although those are in the minority, and the college guidance counselors are mediocre. In summary, we have been very happy with our girls' experience at MHS, and we have unhesitatingly recommended it to friends.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
I have two children in the high school and I have been very impressed with the depth of breadth of their education. Classes have been challenging and teachers available for extra help. The variety of clubs is second to none and my kids have been able to find their passions in very different places. They have loved the diversity, and enjoyed making a variety of friends. I feel that MHS is providing them with an education that will help them function well in today's world.

Mamaroneck High School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
I currently have four children at Mamaroneck High School. They all love it and are thriving. They are very different kids and MHS does a great job of meeting all of their various needs...ranging from great sports, to lots of AP classes, to extra academic support. The diversity of the student body and the respect they show each other is extraordinary. If you want to raise a well educated, independent and compassionate student who can go out and navigate the world, MHS is the place for that student.

Mamaroneck High School 3

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Mamaroneck High: I would not recommend for international transfer students since the counselors are not prepared to deal with a different level of students. They do not know how to interpret transcripts from other countries, strange for a place like Larchmont, and Mamaroneck since there are many relocated families from all over the world. No entry tests were given to my child, and we had to constantly try and get higher level classes, the AP classes seem to be "reserved" for the kids, who know how to use the system. The school is very big and not much individual attention is given, after school help with the teachers is too crowded. The level of teaching depends if you are taking an Honors or AP course, the rest are average. The college entrance process is difficult to understand for international students and no help is given for this either, I have no idea why they do not one counselor who can work with these students, especially those transferring in their junior year and need extra attention for college admissions. Would recommend Harrison since it now has an IB program and is smaller.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
I have three children at Mamaroneck High School and they are all thriving in their own way. The school celebrates all types of diversity and allows kids to really find their place. From athletics to special education to theatre to original science is all there. I would highly recommend it!

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
After sending three children to this school, we couldn't be happier. The faculty is truly talented and committed to teaching every child. If there were "weaker links" on the faculty a number of years ago, they are long gone. This is a strong staff. What makes this school truly stand out is the respect students have for each other, reflected from the principal on down. This is an accepting place of any and all kinds of kids. You walk through the halls and talk to kids, and they are happy and involved.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted August 18, 2012
- a community member
This is a school with many fine teachers and outstanding academic, arts and sports programs.

Mamaroneck High School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff are highly qualified. MHS offers a fencing team that has been a very positive influence on my boys.

Mamaroneck High School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2009
- a teacher
Not what it used to be! Caliber of the faculty has diminished. Extremely confrontational leadership. Incompetent faculty guidance.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mamaroneck High School
1000 West Boston Post Road, Mamaroneck, NY  10543
(914) 220-3100
Last modified Mamaroneck High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mamaroneck High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top