Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mamaroneck High School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
I currently have four children at Mamaroneck High School. They all love it and are thriving. They are very different kids and MHS does a great job of meeting all of their various needs...ranging from great sports, to lots of AP classes, to extra academic support. The diversity of the student body and the respect they show each other is extraordinary. If you want to raise a well educated, independent and compassionate student who can go out and navigate the world, MHS is the place for that student.


Mamaroneck High School 3

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Mamaroneck High: I would not recommend for international transfer students since the counselors are not prepared to deal with a different level of students. They do not know how to interpret transcripts from other countries, strange for a place like Larchmont, and Mamaroneck since there are many relocated families from all over the world. No entry tests were given to my child, and we had to constantly try and get higher level classes, the AP classes seem to be "reserved" for the kids, who know how to use the system. The school is very big and not much individual attention is given, after school help with the teachers is too crowded. The level of teaching depends if you are taking an Honors or AP course, the rest are average. The college entrance process is difficult to understand for international students and no help is given for this either, I have no idea why they do not one counselor who can work with these students, especially those transferring in their junior year and need extra attention for college admissions. Would recommend Harrison since it now has an IB program and is smaller.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
After sending three children to this school, we couldn't be happier. The faculty is truly talented and committed to teaching every child. If there were "weaker links" on the faculty a number of years ago, they are long gone. This is a strong staff. What makes this school truly stand out is the respect students have for each other, reflected from the principal on down. This is an accepting place of any and all kinds of kids. You walk through the halls and talk to kids, and they are happy and involved.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted August 18, 2012
- a community member
This is a school with many fine teachers and outstanding academic, arts and sports programs.


Mamaroneck High School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff are highly qualified. MHS offers a fencing team that has been a very positive influence on my boys.

Mamaroneck High School 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2009
- a teacher
Not what it used to be! Caliber of the faculty has diminished. Extremely confrontational leadership. Incompetent faculty guidance.

Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a student
Mamaroneck is a phenomenal school, with great programs for high achieving students, at-risk students, and wonderful visual and performing arts programs. It's pretty much the best.


Mamaroneck High School 5

Posted February 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mamaroneck High School 0
no rating

Posted February 08, 2009
- a parent
My daughter recently graduated from Mamaroneck HS. She is bright but has ADHD so her grades were mixed. The school is quite large so it is easy for kids in the 'middle' to get lost in the mix. However, the four-year Performing Arts Curriculum Experience (PACE) at the school was a fabulous experience and truly kept her fully engaged for four years. Without it, getting her to go to school would have been a struggle. One of the best things about the school is that kids from all different cliques respected each other and coexisted very well. I never heard of fights or other trouble or tension in any of the four years. Despite average grades, she was accepted into many very good schools in the midwest and even received scholarships. I would recommend the school, expecially if you have a child intereseted in performing arts.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mamaroneck High School
1000 West Boston Post Road, Mamaroneck, NY  10543
(914) 220-3100
Last modified Mamaroneck High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mamaroneck High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top