Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manhasset Secondary School

Public | 9-12 | 937 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2014

After attending MHS myself I know they juke stats to accomplish a few goals. To gain illegitimate college admissions, pass unnecessarily high budgets, and acquire state funding by any means necessary even at the cost of providing a quality education. In most districts there is one Valedictorian, BUT NOT MANHASSET at least 3 people get it each year(usually more than 3). This is so numerous people can claim the award, while keeping parents happy and willing to vote for the budget. Also at most schools you can acquire a GPA over 100 or 4.0 on their respective scales. However Manhasset intentionally caps GPA s at 4.0 so that they will create numerous Valedictorian s to appear more esteemed and gain fraudulent admissions to colleges. In reality this degrades the prestige of the award significantly. MHS has many students take the ACT to weed out lower SAT scores. Finally almost half the school does not live in the district. Also a problem with narcotics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

I don't even know where to begin. Teachers- a select few teachers are phenomenal while others deserve to be fired immediately. A good majority do nothing and just collect money. Others go above and beyond for students which is great. After-school activities- sports are everything. If you aren't playing one, expect to be lonely and picked on for all of middle and high school. Facilities- at least the school is quite nice looking. It was built in the late 1900's during as a Works Projects Adminstration and was tastefully decorated with eccentric moldings and tile details. Unlike earlier reviews, THE SCHOOL IS NOT FALLING APART. It was fixed recently. Overall- unless you or your kid aspires to be a lacrosse player, or a home designer looking for inspiration, STAY AWAY. SERIOUSLY.


Posted November 1, 2011

I was shocked at some of the reviews I read regarding Manhasset schools. I attended the public schools in Manhasset from a young age, graduated, went to an Ivy League school and then a superb law school. I moved back to Manhasset so my children can obtain the same great education I did. One of my children is special needs and is thriving at Manhasset due to the superlative teachers and administration. The facilities are not falling apart. They are old, solid and well-built. Classic and well-maintained. The school is a safe place and vibrant place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

I attended Manhasset for my 9th grade and half of 10th grade years. Though the teachers and staff were phenomenal, and helped me leave, the environment in this school created by the kids was very exclusive. You were either in a group or out of it - and if you weren't able to be classified, you were bullied and picked on. I was bullied so badly that I had to leave the school in the middle of my sophomore year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2010

The revews prior to 2009 are not relevant. There is a new superintendant and principal and both are superb. I was not happy with the schools and had my children in private school but have brought them back and the schools are extraordinary. Manhasset gives you the choices of a 2000 student school, but because there are only 220 students per grade, those choices are available to everyone. Great math, science, programs that include individual research. Amazing music, art and theatre. Every AP imaginable. The class is getting into great colleges; Yale. Stanford, Princeton, Williams and Amherst all offered multiple acceptances. School has lots of money and it is being administered very well for the students and education. Hard to beat..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

BEST SCHOOL EVER. I Love Manhasset. Great Teachers And Great Classes. Its Really Old School. Though Thats What Makes This School Great. Its Vintage. Students Are Cool And Are Very Welcoming. No One Is Ever Left Out. But We Are A Big 'Familia'. Everyone Has The Same Types Of Personality And Favorites. If Anyone Doesn't Fit The 'Manhasset Personality', We Would Love To Add. Teachers Are Really Cool And Are Amazing With Teaching Kids. Our Scores Are Sky High. No One Goes To A 'Bad' School And We All Have Great Future When We Say We Went To Manhasset High. Our Classes Are Really Fun And Educational. We Literally Have Everything From Drama To AP Forensics. Students Are Super Smart. We Are Amazing, Our School Is Amazing. Don't Listen To The Rumors, They Aren't True. GO TO OUR SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

It has excellent academics, with memorable teachers who teach with passion. And it gives students wonderful background in the arts-- a first-rate theater program, music programs that include choral, composition and even jazz, and an outstanding drawing and painting program as well. Kids thrive here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Great renovated facilities, superb academics for self-motivated, bright kids, also outstanding art, music and drama programs. New principal taking better approach to discipline and education of the middle-track student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

It is great if your child is Talented and Gifted but otherwise children skate right through and no one bothers to steer the 'average' kide to become better or even great students. Your child can manage great grades if you can spare the $ for a tutor. As in all schools some of the teachers are great, committed and energetic, others are glad to work a part time job with higher than national average pay and benefits--plus once tenure is theirs, they most often do not lift an extra finger to hlep a child. Recently one of my children missed a class due to illness, then made arrangements to make up the work during lunch time, but instead the teacher went to a 'lovely luncheon'. The school definitley makes it difficult for working parents to be involved...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

This school has shocked me! With all the talk about how great it is, it seems the teachers aren't putting the childrens knowledge first. The technology is old and the school is not diverse enough which adds to favoritism. My child dislikes going to school everyday and is going to be a junior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Academic programs are stellar especially the math. Principal (formerly from NYC)is leaving and a search is on for a new one. He was a good administrator Two new assistant principals this year are a great change. If you have special needs kid, good luck. You will have to fight like the devil for accomodations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

Academics are superb: music, art and drama are tops and there are extracurricular activities for everyone. Parents are very invested and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

I have 2 kids in this school from kindergarden on.I have seen good teachers and owefull ones I have to say the percentage of good to bad teachers is about good:bad 40:60. which is a shame. the administration lacks integrity and is self motivated. I have not seen an administrator put the children first. I have to beleive that this school needs a major shake up. there is favortism and personal vendeta's carried by school officials even if it hurts a kid and alters their future collage acceptance. The personel on staff have no loyalty for the kids.too many administrators on payroll that have no relevance for the education of the children.I am a very dissapointed parent one of too many that reside at the school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Facility is poor for the amount of money this school obtains. Gym ceilings are falling apart. Thumbs up for the number and quality of computers, its one of the best I've seen in high schools. This school does not give all students a lunch period which I find ridiculous. Teachers and faculty are given by law a lunch time. Why not the students? Sports teams such as volleyball are being cancelled. (Manhasset should realize that not every student wants to run track or play lax). Educational programs provide great opportunity for kids to prep for college. Just a shame such a historically great school fell apart the past decade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

The teachers are exceptional. Turnover in administration especially in the area of discipline has been noticed in the 2003-04 school year. Principal's strength is more administrative than inspirational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

A costly per pupil cost does little here to make this school shine. Old facilities, lack of leadership in administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

13 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

153 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant86%

Chemistry

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities100%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%

Earth Science

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities72%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%

English

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities100%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%

Geometry

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities76%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%

Global History and Geography

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities84%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%

Integrated Algebra

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities95%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities85%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%

Physics

All Students91%
Female90%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

U.S. History and Government

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities96%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 78% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 14% 9%
Black 1 4% 19%
Hispanic 2 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 7%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 53%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DEAN SCHLANGER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Memorial Pl
Manhasset, NY 11030
Phone: (516) 267-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Village School
Great Neck, NY


Vincent Smith School
Port Washington, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT