Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manhasset Secondary School 1

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
After attending MHS myself I know they juke stats to accomplish a few goals. To gain illegitimate college admissions, pass unnecessarily high budgets, and acquire state funding by any means necessary even at the cost of providing a quality education. In most districts there is one Valedictorian, BUT NOT MANHASSET at least 3 people get it each year(usually more than 3). This is so numerous people can claim the award, while keeping parents happy and willing to vote for the budget. Also at most schools you can acquire a GPA over 100 or 4.0 on their respective scales. However Manhasset intentionally caps GPA s at 4.0 so that they will create numerous Valedictorian s to appear more esteemed and gain fraudulent admissions to colleges. In reality this degrades the prestige of the award significantly. MHS has many students take the ACT to weed out lower SAT scores. Finally almost half the school does not live in the district. Also a problem with narcotics.

Manhasset Secondary School 4

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
I don't even know where to begin. Teachers- a select few teachers are phenomenal while others deserve to be fired immediately. A good majority do nothing and just collect money. Others go above and beyond for students which is great. After-school activities- sports are everything. If you aren't playing one, expect to be lonely and picked on for all of middle and high school. Facilities- at least the school is quite nice looking. It was built in the late 1900's during as a Works Projects Adminstration and was tastefully decorated with eccentric moldings and tile details. Unlike earlier reviews, THE SCHOOL IS NOT FALLING APART. It was fixed recently. Overall- unless you or your kid aspires to be a lacrosse player, or a home designer looking for inspiration, STAY AWAY. SERIOUSLY.


Manhasset Secondary School 5

Posted November 01, 2011
- a parent
I was shocked at some of the reviews I read regarding Manhasset schools. I attended the public schools in Manhasset from a young age, graduated, went to an Ivy League school and then a superb law school. I moved back to Manhasset so my children can obtain the same great education I did. One of my children is special needs and is thriving at Manhasset due to the superlative teachers and administration. The facilities are not falling apart. They are old, solid and well-built. Classic and well-maintained. The school is a safe place and vibrant place to learn.

Manhasset Secondary School 2

Posted July 21, 2011
- a student
I attended Manhasset for my 9th grade and half of 10th grade years. Though the teachers and staff were phenomenal, and helped me leave, the environment in this school created by the kids was very exclusive. You were either in a group or out of it - and if you weren't able to be classified, you were bullied and picked on. I was bullied so badly that I had to leave the school in the middle of my sophomore year.

Manhasset Secondary School 5

Posted September 01, 2010
- a parent
The revews prior to 2009 are not relevant. There is a new superintendant and principal and both are superb. I was not happy with the schools and had my children in private school but have brought them back and the schools are extraordinary. Manhasset gives you the choices of a 2000 student school, but because there are only 220 students per grade, those choices are available to everyone. Great math, science, programs that include individual research. Amazing music, art and theatre. Every AP imaginable. The class is getting into great colleges; Yale. Stanford, Princeton, Williams and Amherst all offered multiple acceptances. School has lots of money and it is being administered very well for the students and education. Hard to beat..


Manhasset Secondary School 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a student
BEST SCHOOL EVER. I Love Manhasset. Great Teachers And Great Classes. Its Really Old School. Though Thats What Makes This School Great. Its Vintage. Students Are Cool And Are Very Welcoming. No One Is Ever Left Out. But We Are A Big 'Familia'. Everyone Has The Same Types Of Personality And Favorites. If Anyone Doesn't Fit The 'Manhasset Personality', We Would Love To Add. Teachers Are Really Cool And Are Amazing With Teaching Kids. Our Scores Are Sky High. No One Goes To A 'Bad' School And We All Have Great Future When We Say We Went To Manhasset High. Our Classes Are Really Fun And Educational. We Literally Have Everything From Drama To AP Forensics. Students Are Super Smart. We Are Amazing, Our School Is Amazing. Don't Listen To The Rumors, They Aren't True. GO TO OUR SCHOOL!

Manhasset Secondary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
It has excellent academics, with memorable teachers who teach with passion. And it gives students wonderful background in the arts-- a first-rate theater program, music programs that include choral, composition and even jazz, and an outstanding drawing and painting program as well. Kids thrive here!

Manhasset Secondary School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Manhasset Secondary School 1

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Manhasset Secondary School 4

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
Great renovated facilities, superb academics for self-motivated, bright kids, also outstanding art, music and drama programs. New principal taking better approach to discipline and education of the middle-track student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manhasset Secondary School
200 Memorial Place, Manhasset, NY  11030
(516) 267-7600
Last modified Manhasset Secondary School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manhasset Secondary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top