Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary's College Prepartory High School

Private | 9-12 | 679 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manhasset

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2012

As a high school teacher in a top long island public school I send my son to St. Mary's HS. It is a wonderfully, small nuturing environment. Academically as strong as the other Catholic counterparts with very up to date technology, and they are actually stronger than many other Catholic schools with many new computers,(accessable all over both campuses). The new iPad's given to every incoming Freshman makes St. Mary's stand out among all schools, public, catholic and private. The teachers have been properly trained to integrate the ipads to the schools smart boards (found in every classroom). The public school I teach in is just started this process. Look at this school and see the difference with the updated science labs which none of the "big" catholic schools on LI have. I taught in one of the "big" schools many years ago with old labs and classrooms, and guess what...it is still the same!! They have not updated anything? You are going to pay tuition for that? From a high level HS teacher I am telling you....these days it is all about technology, science and math...pick your school wisely and spend your money wisely. Small school, more personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

St. Mary s College Preparatory High School makes each student feel welcome. The exciting summer freshman orientation camp in New Hampshire gets students involved even before classes begin. At the school, staff member are caring and dedicated; they are accessible and helpful. Students and parents are kept well informed with homework, attendance, grades and other information posted online and with automated phone calls. Differentiation (Regular, Honors, AP classes) provides coursework at the proper level. In addition, the students benefit from year-round extra help sessions and Regents review classes. Most important is St. Mary s focus on the whole child. With the personal attention given, students are able to voice their concerns, ask for help, seek guidance and share their ideas and talents. Participation in after-school activities is encouraged and valued. St. Mary s H.S. is a safe, warm environment, where our teens are not just prepared for college, but also prepared for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

As a student I must say I have loved all four years of my high school career at St. Mary's. The challenging academic curriculum with numerous Advanced Placement and Honors courses provides students with preparation for college while also getting college credit for several courses. With unique programs like the Scholar Service Institute (SSI), St. Mary's encourages students to be involved in the school comunity and the local community as well. St. Mary's is a small and VERY tight-knit community. When people say we are a family, we truly mean, we ARE A FAMILY. Please come visit our school, if you are looking for a school where your child will excel and do their very best academically and socially. Don't bring your child here if they do not look to do their very best academically. The school looks for students to strive to do their best, not to have students who do not care for their future. I hope you chose to bring your child here. Good luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2009

If you think a 0 tolerance policy for drugs and alcohol and detention for incomplete homework are excessively strict, by all means don't send your kids here. But if you want your kids to thrive in a safe, nurturing, challenging environment, then its worth every penny. Every student I've ever known who has gone here has done well, graduated and gone on to college and lead a successful life. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I am a very pleased with St Mary's High School. St Mary's is small enough that all children are noticed for their strengths and large enough to learn and develope social skills. My daughter has had only a positive experience and as a parent I have only good words for St Mary's. We are very happy wih our decision to send our daughter to St Mary's and soon our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

St. Mary's is a wonderful school. It provides a caring, nurturing environment for the student. An all grade campus with teachers and faculty who really care for student. A hands on principal who knows all the kids by their first names. For the detractors who say the school is too strict, they haven't been inside a public school where its kaos most of the time. One of the very best decisions I have made was to send my son to St. Mary's. A decision I will never regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My son just started St Marys this year and we are very happy so far. Freshman camp in August was a wonderful way to get aquianted with other freshman and upper class men. The Marianist Catholic Values of this school were a key factor in chosing a Catholic School education for my child, and you can see it in the manners and mutual respect that the students show to themselves and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Its a great school and is very diverse with the children that go there. I send my kids there and im happy with it and so are they.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

Do not join this school it is to strict for the kids and the teachers are not very nice. Its like millitary school i went there and i sure didnt like it. The parents say its good because their kids listen but when your in the school its not fum and it makes kids not like school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

Two of my children have gone to St. Mary's and the third is on her way. 'Excellent' is insufficient praise for this school. The facility is lovely, the faculty is extremely dedicated, the curriculum is challenging and the administration provides strong leadership and discipline. This is all accomplished in a setting that has a family-like atmosphere. The highest accolades for SMHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

clean school.children well behaved.excellent reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

I'm a graduate from St. Mary's High School and I would recommend this great school to any parent or potential student. St. Mary's prepared me for college and the rest of my life. Additionally, your interest is hockey this is the high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

My son will be a Senior and I have nothing but praise for St. Mary's. A wonderful school, a terrific environment, great sports and more importantly a caring faculty. I recommend St. Mary's highly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

St. Marys helped me gain the skills I needed to gain acceptance into Villanova University and Syracuse University School of Law. St. Marys is a great place to be! -Class of 1994
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

this is a wonderful high school... teachers really care about their students....they will go out of their way to help them.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 52%
Black 22% 21%
Asian 15% N/A
Hispanic 11% 21%
Two or more races 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jonathan D. Kramer
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

51 Clapham Avenue
Manhasset, NY 11030
Phone: (516) 627-0385

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Vincent Smith School
Port Washington, NY





Village School
Great Neck, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT