Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Grace Montessori School

Private | PK-3 | 193 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manhasset

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Our Lady of Grace is a wonderful place for children to learn and grow. The nurturing environment and montessori method of teaching allow the children to learn effortlessly and at their own pace. The ability of the children to make choices about their work, learn through helping others, and self correct their mistakes makes learning more meaningful, fun and relaxed. It is amazing to see how the children respect others and behave nicely. Alumni of this school always talk about it very fondly saying it was their best school years. This school is truly a gift to a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

I could not have chosen a better school for my 3 children. After researching many preschools 7 years ago I fell in love with Our Lady of Grace Montessori School. It offered a home away from home atmosphere with not only an academic and spiritual focus but also an emphasis on personal growth in all areas of development. They instill a sense of accountability, self respect and respect for their peers that will last a lifetime. This is all done in the most caring and nurturing environment thanks to the amazing teachers and the leadership of Sister Kelly Quinn. My 3 children, all completely different personalties, who have attended or do attend OLG , have each thrived in all areas of development in this atmosphere. I believe if you are reading this and are looking for a sense of comfort for you and your child (ren), while still providing a strong academic base you need to look no further. Go visit and observe and you will fall in love instantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Our Lady of Grace Montessori School is a beautiful and nurturing school. I have 3 children that attend there this year and I couldn't feel more blessed. The academics are fnatastic. I love how the curriculm builds on a childs strength and works on their weaknesses. OLG is a very special place where the children are taught how to be independent and with that they become confident little people. If you have a chance to send your children to this school you must take it! I just wish it didn't end in 3rd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Hands down the best school in Manhasset! OLG is well run with wonderful experienced caring teachers and a diverse student body. Both programs (PreK-K) and (Grades1-3) are top notch. OLG offers a wonderful balance of Montessori and traditional academics and they also provide all with students a beautiful spiritual foundation. The school and parents league offer lots of opportunities for families to connect outside of school at events all year long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

Our Lady of Grace Montessori is the best school for our son. It is challenging, well-run, and above all the most loving environment for a child. My son is so confident and loves to go to school each day. They advance him in his studies as appropriate so he is always challenged and never bored. This is the fourth year in this school and we are thrilled to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

Absolutely LOVE this school. The Principal is Awesome. The Teachers are beyond exceptional. The Atmosphere is LOVING, KIND, Gentle. They really get to know who the Child is and respects them for who they are. They are patient and truly encourage the children to Challenge themselves. Four Children who have and are attending the School. Your Child Will LOVE this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

"If your child doesn't start off @ this school from the age of 3 forget about it ." I understand your fustration and I am sorry you did not get into the school. But the long wait list is just a sign of how wonderful this school is. You can always try St. Mary's Elementary down the block in Manhasset as your back up -- there is never a wait list there. In fact, I think they just changed their pre-K and K hours this year to stem the flow of students to OLG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

If your child doesn't start off @ this school from the age of 3 forget about it . THEY WILL NOT EVEN CONSIDER YOUR CHILD FOR THE ELEMENTARY PROGRAM!!! I RECENTLY MOVED TO NY AND CALLED THE SCHOOL TO ENROLL MY CHILD, WHEN THEY THOUGHT MY KID WAS 3 YRS OLD THEY WERE HAPPY TO ASSIST.HOWEVER, WHEN I TOLD THEM MY KID WAS OLDER SISTER KELLY SAID THEY HAVE NO ROOM FOR MY CHILD FOR NEXT YR SEPTEMBER. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME CALLING!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

We have three children and only our youngest attended this school for six years. One of our regrets as parents was not being aware of Our Lady of Grace for our older children. Our youngest child thrived in the OLG environment. The school is set on beautiful grounds, has extremely warm and dedicated teachers and the most supportive and involved parent community we have ever experienced. With our three children and our moving, we have been through eight different schools. OLG is by far the best in terms of providing a warm and comfortable place for your child to learn and also offering an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I started out in the school with my oldest child beginning at 3 years old and now have three kids in the school. I can honestly say i've been in the school for the last six years and could not imagine a more wonderful place for children to learn and grow. The teachers and the principal especially are just wonderful people who truly care about the well being and education of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

My son has LOVED school ever since transferring to OLG 3 years ago. Everyone, from the principal to all the teachers and staff, is nurturing to each child's needs. The students are made to feel comfortable and therefore able to learn with confidence and soar in their individual abilities. The principal and teachers are also very accessible to parents. Couldn't ask for better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

The children and their parents absolutely LOVE Our Lady of Grace Montessori School. Not a morning goes by that you don't see a child jump off the school bus and greet the principal or a teacher with a smile and a hug or a high five! OLG is truly a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

A wonderful school, learning atmosphere is everywhere in the school. Teachers are nice, staffs are friendly, system are excellent for children, principle is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

If you are looking for a school where each child is loved and respected as the individual that he or she was created to be, look no further. Oh, and the academics are first rate. The teachers know that even the three year olds are capable of learning complex concepts, and the materials are so amazing that they do learn so much without ever realizing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

A wonderful school where children in nursery thru third grade start the foundation for a confident child with a love of learning , all provided in a nurturing cathlolic montessori school. The only Catholic Montessori school on Long Island. Parents become very involved in functions held at the school. From the pumpkin patch in the fall to the Easter festival in the spring the parents and children have many social opportunities which is wonderful. The Christmas shows put on by the children are priceless. The principal is an amazing woman who understands the needs of each and every child. My only wish is that the school would continue past third grade. The schools classrooms under true Montessori fashion are set up to help the child needing more attention and to encourage the child that needs more challenging works. Nothing is like Our Lady of Grace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

I attended this school from pre k- 3rd grade. When I look back on it now I miss those good old days. Now a 7th grader, I still frequently visit and volunteer there because I love that place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2006

Great school, wonderful principal but does not have capability to provide services if the child is in need of them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

This school provides an excellent academic foundation. It is a nurturing secure environment where children can develop in several areas not only in academics (languages math sciences etc.) but also in practical life skills. It gives one a strong sense of self-worth and accomplishment. Children also learn how to respect themselves and others. A Wonderful Place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

If you are a PTA kind of parent your child will thrive here. If you prefer helping your child at home rather than being vocal and omnipresent with the teachers, you should probably look for another school. A very clique, country club oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 52%
Asian 17% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29 Shelter Rock Road
Manhasset, NY 11030
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 365-9832

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Searingtown School
Albertson, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT