Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Manhasset, NY
Students enrolled: 404
 

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

22 reviews of this school


St Mary's Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a community member
SME far exceeds the public "Schools" in Manhasset. The environment for faith and studies is significantly better than Shelter Rock or Munsey Park. Its really not even close.

St Mary's Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2013
- a community member
What more could one ask for? Simple, consistent and high state-wide ELA and math scores."


St Mary's Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2013
- a parent
St. Mary's is an exceptional elementary school that combines strong academics and faith based learning in a safe, nurturing environment. The student to teacher ratio is 12-1 providing your child with a quality learning environment that you will not find in larger classroom settings. They have recently implemented an iPad curriculum for the 7th and 8th grades whereby every student has their own iPad. The jr. high athletic program is first rate. The boys' basketball team went undefeated this year and won their league championships and they have strong showings in soccer, volleyball, lacrosse, baseball, and softball. The school has an outstanding drama program and puts on a first rate production annually. The students at SMES are stewards of their faith and constantly taught to be good to one another thus creating an environment where all feel comfortable and thereby able to excel. What more could one ask for!?!

St Mary's Elementary School 3

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
I need help. Looking to transfer my 11 yr old to SME. Please give me some positive feedback. I am not feeling good with all the negative reviews. Could some body change my heart with some good news.

St Mary's Elementary School 4

Posted February 09, 2013
- a community member
In all toil there is profit, but mere talk tends only to poverty Proverbs 14:23. Morals are important but so is preparing our children for the real cold competitive world. Do your share as part of the community; let s help SME fully implement the NYS Common Core.


St Mary's Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
A wonderful school from both an academic and moral perspective. The teachers are nurturing, smart and caring. The academic bar is very high. A lot of people I speak to that have kids in the public school are surprised to hear what my kids are learning. The faith they instill in children is wonderful. Just a great environment. I couldn't be happier.

St Mary's Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2012
- a community member
Students can choose what they want to do from their homework menu and decide whether to do their optional homework. Really? It's definitely not the Catholic School model I remember from my youth.

St Mary's Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a community member
Despite the poor grammar of a previous review, I agree that SME is #1. On the religious side, there is no doubt that SME has no peers. On the academic side, we can examine actual data rather than debate in hyperboles. In the Manhasset Union Free School District, the pass rate for 4th grade in the NYS tests is 90% with 48% considered advanced which is a score of 4. Similarly, the pass rate for 8th grade in the MUFSD is 93% with 38% considered advanced. The data suggest that our community's public schools do a good job especially when you stack them against statewide results. Assuming that SME's scores are comparable to MUFSD's scores, the debate is over. . . SME wins convincingly with its combination of faith and academic teachings. Anyone know where we can get SME's test results?


St Mary's Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
SME is #1! I have researched the district from both sides. The academics, programs, families and Values. SME is a sm family orientated school. The Acedemics are exemplary, the after school progs have something for everyone from Legos, sports, reading groups, crafts, hw help & much more. They offer a safe monitored extended day prog for children of busy parents to 6pm. The volunteering opportunities are fun & fulfilling for both the parents & their children. The Principal & Staff are welcoming & appreciative to parent volunteers. The Principal & her staff are nurturing, kind, and dedicated everyday to our children. The majority of families are generous, helpful & inclusive. You get what you give. The Unique & most important element of St. Mary's is the Catholic values & guidance it gives our children 7 hrs a day. Morals, Values, Respect, Tolerance, Self Pride, Discipline & Work Ethics. In a community plagued with alcohol and prescription drug abuse, we should all be more mindful of what Really matters in Life. Providing our children with a Catholic Ed is a gift of lifetime strength. It is a financial sacrifice but our parents did it and they had much less. Long live SME!

St Mary's Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
Competent and striving for excellence instead of excellent striving for the extraordinary. When did we decide to set the bar so low for a school? A "C" is competent, a "B" is excellent and an "A" is extraordinary. I want our children to grow up to be more than just "competent."

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary's Elementary School
1340 Northern Boulevard, Manhasset, NY  11030
(516) 627-0184
Last modified St Mary's Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Mary's Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top