Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mary's Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manhasset

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

SME far exceeds the public "Schools" in Manhasset. The environment for faith and studies is significantly better than Shelter Rock or Munsey Park. Its really not even close.


Posted March 29, 2013

What more could one ask for? Simple, consistent and high state-wide ELA and math scores."


Posted March 16, 2013

St. Mary's is an exceptional elementary school that combines strong academics and faith based learning in a safe, nurturing environment. The student to teacher ratio is 12-1 providing your child with a quality learning environment that you will not find in larger classroom settings. They have recently implemented an iPad curriculum for the 7th and 8th grades whereby every student has their own iPad. The jr. high athletic program is first rate. The boys' basketball team went undefeated this year and won their league championships and they have strong showings in soccer, volleyball, lacrosse, baseball, and softball. The school has an outstanding drama program and puts on a first rate production annually. The students at SMES are stewards of their faith and constantly taught to be good to one another thus creating an environment where all feel comfortable and thereby able to excel. What more could one ask for!?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I need help. Looking to transfer my 11 yr old to SME. Please give me some positive feedback. I am not feeling good with all the negative reviews. Could some body change my heart with some good news.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

In all toil there is profit, but mere talk tends only to poverty Proverbs 14:23. Morals are important but so is preparing our children for the real cold competitive world. Do your share as part of the community; let s help SME fully implement the NYS Common Core.


Posted January 24, 2013

A wonderful school from both an academic and moral perspective. The teachers are nurturing, smart and caring. The academic bar is very high. A lot of people I speak to that have kids in the public school are surprised to hear what my kids are learning. The faith they instill in children is wonderful. Just a great environment. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Students can choose what they want to do from their homework menu and decide whether to do their optional homework. Really? It's definitely not the Catholic School model I remember from my youth.


Posted August 23, 2012

Despite the poor grammar of a previous review, I agree that SME is #1. On the religious side, there is no doubt that SME has no peers. On the academic side, we can examine actual data rather than debate in hyperboles. In the Manhasset Union Free School District, the pass rate for 4th grade in the NYS tests is 90% with 48% considered advanced which is a score of 4. Similarly, the pass rate for 8th grade in the MUFSD is 93% with 38% considered advanced. The data suggest that our community's public schools do a good job especially when you stack them against statewide results. Assuming that SME's scores are comparable to MUFSD's scores, the debate is over. . . SME wins convincingly with its combination of faith and academic teachings. Anyone know where we can get SME's test results?


Posted August 21, 2012

SME is #1! I have researched the district from both sides. The academics, programs, families and Values. SME is a sm family orientated school. The Acedemics are exemplary, the after school progs have something for everyone from Legos, sports, reading groups, crafts, hw help & much more. They offer a safe monitored extended day prog for children of busy parents to 6pm. The volunteering opportunities are fun & fulfilling for both the parents & their children. The Principal & Staff are welcoming & appreciative to parent volunteers. The Principal & her staff are nurturing, kind, and dedicated everyday to our children. The majority of families are generous, helpful & inclusive. You get what you give. The Unique & most important element of St. Mary's is the Catholic values & guidance it gives our children 7 hrs a day. Morals, Values, Respect, Tolerance, Self Pride, Discipline & Work Ethics. In a community plagued with alcohol and prescription drug abuse, we should all be more mindful of what Really matters in Life. Providing our children with a Catholic Ed is a gift of lifetime strength. It is a financial sacrifice but our parents did it and they had much less. Long live SME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Competent and striving for excellence instead of excellent striving for the extraordinary. When did we decide to set the bar so low for a school? A "C" is competent, a "B" is excellent and an "A" is extraordinary. I want our children to grow up to be more than just "competent."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

This is a great school with a nurturing and competent staff. The principal and teachers strive for excellence. In response to a past review, it is important to understand that there are major differences between Catholic, private, and public schools. People send their kids to these institutions for different reasons. One of the main reasons families send their children to Catholic schools is to instill in them Christian values and incorporate them into their daily lives. During trying economic times it is understandable that families, especially those with multiple children, may choose to leave and use the local public schools. Those of us that make the decision to stay feel fortunate and blessed that our children can spend their formative years here. Also, I don't see an "outreach" to "recruit" chldren from areas "outside" (heaven forbid) the community. Catholic schools are open to anyone that can afford the tuition. There are no diocese or district restrictions. Diversity is one of the many advantages of SME. There is a whole world outside one tiny little zip code. Let your children experience it!


Posted May 19, 2012

Publicly available data tell us that the number of students at St. Mary s Elementary school is 10% (or more) smaller than it was a mere two years ago. The school appears to be experiencing a net loss of students every year. It s expedient to blame the poor economy but I think there is more to this story. Manhasset is an uniquely affluent town and St. Mary s parish is among the wealthiest in the Diocese of Rockville Centre. Many students who left the school recently come from very rich homes and are opting for more costly private schools. So the poor economy does not seem to be the key factor. The shool is conducting active outreach to recuit kids from Queens and areas well outside of our community; Why is this needed? Queens is not even in our same Diocese and there are many fine schools there. I think it is high time for the parents and parishioners of St. Mary's to do a comprehensive evaluation of the school. SME is a gem in our community and in my heart but there appears to be something rotten here.


Posted December 12, 2011

Despite last year's lip service regarding improving the math and science in the upper grades, very little has changed here in my opinion.


Posted September 2, 2011

The school lacks a strong music and arts program -- we believe this is vital for the proper development of children. We know the budget is tight at St. Mary's but this is not the place to cut corners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

I wish St. Mary s would post (like other schools) how its students performed in the nationally-normed Iowa Test of Basic Skills and the NYS testing in mathematics, English language arts, science, and social studies. I think parents deserve to know how their school performed relative to NY, RVC and Manhasset public schools. If the school is truly accountable to its students and parish, these statistics should not sit only in the principal s office but widely shared. If the scores are good, let s celebrate (and enhance the school's low enrollment), if they are not, let s improve (before the school becomes irrelevant to the community). Hiding facts does no one any good!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

Yes. I agree with the last reviewer. It's so sad. The academic reputation at St. Mary High School deteriorated over the past few years and the elementary school is following suit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

It is a school of excellence that strives in every way to develop your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

Moved to Manhasset for the public schools, changed over to St. Mary's and couldn't be happier. The small setting, catholic virtues and excellent curriculum, taught by terrific and dedicated teachers, make St. Mary's the number one choice for parents. The teachers are there from the early morning and stay late. The school is run by an outstanding principal and staff. Parents are always welcome and greeted with a smile. If you ever have a choice to make with a school, this school is undoubtedly the best on Long Island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

Fantastic school that challenges every student to succeed/excel. Nurturing environment. Moved my children here from public school in Manhasset and am more than happy - best move I ever made!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

My kids have been at St. Mary's schools (preK-12)for almost ten years. It is the school with a heart. The teachers are accomplished, personable and professional and embody the (not only) Christian virtues of kindness and compassion, while encouraging the students towards excellence in their studies and in their lives. Mrs. McQuillan teaches art, Ms. Bean teaches music, Ms. Portugues teaches computers, Ms. Sharkey is the gym teacher whom every body loves, and Dr. Checchia is the beloved principal about whom there are not enough words to express what a terrific person she is. There is a lot of school spirit and the parents are very involved in every aspect of the school. They are very warm and welcoming. There are extensive extracurricular activities (sports, plays, band, chess, etc) and an afterschool program for working parents. Without being overly pious, they turn their Christian beliefs into action. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Black 6% 21%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Celeste M. Checchia
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1340 Northern Blvd
Manhasset, NY 11030
Phone: (516) 627-0184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





E M Baker School
Great Neck, NY


Vincent Smith School
Port Washington, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT