Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
The disarray of staff, leaves no room for consistent communication regarding students and their progress. The parent must and should enforce knowing progress if needed.

P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
They're focused on running programs and not the entire school. Authority is managed by several staff throughout the school year.


P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
It depends on how average the student is, a parent told me that certain students are pushed.

P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
A parent told me there's inconsistent communication regarding homework as well. Early childhood should not have much according to the school officials, but teachers often send a packet of 4 to 5 sheets of homework for one evening.

P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
Every child will not be treated the same here. This school is more interested in its continous funding.


P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
Mediocre communication, funding is received for every student, but the main focus is gifted and talented students.

P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School 3

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
School is OK considering gentrification. Because public school is in jeopardy of being privatized, their focus is gifted and talented mainly. If your child is average, but gifted in other ways or talents, be prepared to have mediocre treatment, communication and education for your child here. They need funding, and that's probably where they get it to remain a relevant public school in gentrified Harlem NY.

P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School 4

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
wonderful school. Teachers are nurturing. The children are learning. Diverse school.


P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School 4

Posted September 16, 2005
- a parent
I think that the school has alot of good teachers in it, but the school could use alot of help with room in the class room, because my sons class has 17-21 kids in it which pevents students to get one on one help if they need it to help them understand there work better. im not sure of the level of involvment with the parents are ,because I have to keep a job but I question my son teaher every day because I care abot my sons education after school activities are none exisistant and its hard for mothers who work or want to work because we need our children to be helped with there work and we dont want to just leave them any where doing any thing because it create problems in the long run I feel if there were some improvments my son would be ahead of his class and others to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School
20 West 112th Street, Manhattan, NY  10026
(212) 534-7490
Last modified P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2
P.S. 185 the Early Childhood Discovery and Design Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top