Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Children S Workshop School

Public | PK-5 | 247 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

We transferred from another school in the neighborhood and by the first week in, we were quite pleased to have felt like we found our school 'home'. Maria is a very knowledgeable principal and so are the staff - with high-level degrees from NYU, Bank Street College just to name a couple. The children come first here and Maria doesn't just let any teacher or substitute teacher enter through the doors, they are carefully selected. There are many ways parents can volunteer/get involved. If you are into school PTAs this is the place to be. They are very active in raising money for the various programs the school offers: music and arts instruction, field trips to the farm and Washington DC, yoga...The parents were involved in receiving grants for the auditorium remodel as well as the upgrades in technology for the classrooms and library. In addition, there is affordable after-school clubs everyday of the week, ranging from guitar, sports, cooking to mural painting. CWS is great if you want small sized classrooms & differentiated learning. It's also good to know that over 90% of the families get into their 1st choice middle schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

It has been an absolute joy to have both of my daughters enrolled in this school. My kindergartener started reading just two months into the school year and my third grader is reading at the fifth grade level and won't put a book down! SO much arts education and smart boards in the classroom - nurturing environment too. I LOVE the small class sizes and school size ( my third grader only has 18 kids in her class - unheard of). Best part is the collaboration between staff and parents. Would highly recommend this progressive school to any child in the five boroughs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

What a gem on the lower east side! I have been very happy with the principle and the staff of this school. I feel so lucky to be able to send my child to a pubic school that uses the same philosophy of some other very expensive private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

Terrible school, nothing to do with resources. But lack of leadership and a Principal who is not 'present'. My son failed in that school yet one year into Middle School he is high honors! Go figure! CWS is great if you want your kids to paint and do ballet and yoga!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

The school tries, unfortunately with the school system today , this school like many others, suffer from the lack of resources, budget and simply the care for students. Because of the lack of school funds the quality of education becomes second to the welfare and proper education techniques or lack there of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

Children's Workshop is a wonderfully small and diverse school with a focus on the arts, social justice and collaboration. My daughter loves the after school club offerings, with everything from guitar to chess to glee club. The teachers are all energetic and loving (Maria the principal chooses great teachers and gives them a lot of space to be creative) and there's a strong core of involved parents who cook up fun fundraisers. I like that Children's Workshop shares the building with a like-minded school, East Village Community School, and a special ed school, PS94--all 3 schools share the same cooperative spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Both of my kids started in Pre-K and will graduate soon, so we know this school for years. I feel they have sometimes a bit too much homework, but especially their writing training (with regular writer's celebration) makes my kids excel in their command of English. They also love science, and for all the other stuff there are lots of offers from parents for the after-school clubs. It is a great community, and principal and staff do great work to make it all happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

All three of my children attend Children's Workshop and overall, our experience has been extremely rewarding. The school really IS warm and welcoming, and kids definitely get the sense that they are cared for and respected. The teachers and administration do their very best to serve all of our children, under sometimes difficult circumstances, given the mixed backgrounds and incomes of families and the varying levels of participation among parents. But that diversity is another thing that makes this school so special, and there is an enormous emphasis on compassion, tolerance and kindness at this school - something that I've not seen elsewhere. My kids have LOVED their experience at CWS -- each of them has at some point expressed their desire to be teachers when they grow up so that they can go back and teach there! It's not always perfect, but then no school is. . My kids come home talking about what they've learned, sharing new information, and excited about their projects. We wouldn't trade our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

My child attends this school. Very ,very weak school. Their DOE report card shows major weakness in all areas, especially math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

This is an awful school. While there are some decent teachers overall it is very disorganized with no clear leadership. A very casual approach to education and a Principal who is not helpful at all. Avoid this school at all costs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

Please stay far away from this school. They are too laid back and it shows on their state report card. The Children's Workshop School received an F grade for Student Performance and an overall grade of a C. What on earth is the school prinicpal doing to fix this? The teachers rarely give any homework, and the students do not study from text books or workbooks at home. I have never seen a book in five months! It is literally up to the parents to create lessons on their own if you want your child to actually learn something. Of course, they do not even mention this to parents, as you have to figure it out on your own. The school secretary rarely answers the phone, rarely returns phone calls and the phone lines are down often. If you have a question or an issue, good luck getting through! If you want your child to learn in an extremely laid back environment which promotes laziness, by all means- send your child to this school! It gets worse and worse as your child moves up in grades. I am glad to say that this will be my child's last year attending!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

This used to be a decent school but poor Principal leadership and weak focus and engaged teachers have the DOE giving student performance an F fail grade already. Of course they teachers are now stressing the parents/kids out with pressure to perform and letters that state the child might not progress to the next grade. Since the school has an overall grade of F in student progression they need to look at schooling and leadership and not 'punish' the children so stressfully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

This school focus is on Ballet hispanico, yoga and arts. When they are failing with ELS! I don't get it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

I attended this school for two years back in the '90s, and I absolutely loved it. This school will forever be my favorite school. Most of my fondest memories happened at this school. Every student, no matter what grade you were in knew each other and was friendly with each other. The teachers were very nice and engaging.


Posted November 4, 2009

It's a great community where kids are taught to care about each other and the larger world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

We have found this school to be a wonderful, warm, and enriching place. The weekly community meetings with the entire school are amazing; watching 250 plus kids all sing together and cheer each other on as they perform- is really something special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I love CWS and I love that my dear grand-daughter is a student there. I've visited the school and been very impressed with the caring, expertise, child-centered practices, and patience of the teachers I've seen. I also appreciate the efforts for inclusiveness and creativity at CWS. CWS deserves all the support it can get!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Teachers and Staff are just great... My kids love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Dedicated teachers, innovative social science curriculum, lots of field trips related to the curriculum, devoted parent body, open and inclusive admissions policiy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

CWS--a wonderfully diverse, tight-knit community--nurtures creative individuality, a love of learning and respect for others in a warm, accepting atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 38% 48%
Hispanic 2 33% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 15% 9%
Black 2 14% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 249%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 29%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 74 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents6631%
Teachers836%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA VELEZ-CLARKE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

610 E 12th St
Manhattan, NY 10009
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 614-9531

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Brigid School
New York, NY


Ps 64 Robert Simon
New York, NY


Earth School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT