Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 73 The Frank Sansivieri Intermediate School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

This is my last year in I.S 73 and i'm going to miss some of my teachers.This was a good school and I think the best teacher in my whole life was Mrs.Pagan and Ms.Price.I would never ever forget about this and the great time i ever been.I wish i could never leave.


Posted June 16, 2013

This is my last year in I.S 73 , Well i have to say its the best school you can go to for example the neighborhood is good. The amount of helpt they give you in that school is good you just need to try and cooperate with them and you will succed . Im glad to say that i will be graduating in a few days . I.S 73 has the best teachers ever that try hard to make you learn such as Mr.Everson , Ms.Kelly , Mr.Mac , Ms. Pagan all amazing teachers !.- B.Z 8P2


Posted August 29, 2012

I went to this school for two years maybe all the students might not be that good but the teachers are all awesome, specially Ms.sideris and Ms.strategakos there the best ESL teachers in that whole school. They both changed my life i thought of them as a my own family and i will never forget them.


Posted November 16, 2010

A great school, exellent teachers , good shool programs I'm very happy and my kids love them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

I went to this school before I moved to arizona (read my tmms one) and I really didn't like this school. I just loved two teachers, Mr Desmond--cool dude!!-- and Mr. E --forgot how to spell his name, but he's a math teacher. that's all
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

My son is an excelled child and is receiving additional classes that continue to push him in a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I think this school doesnt have really good students and some of them doesnt respect the teachers, but the teachers are really great. They are really helpful. but i think this school should really inprove on the safety and discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

i was a student in I.S. 73, and i loved it so much. This school has an excellent rating and is one of the best middle schools. The teachers and students were great! best school i've ever been too.


Posted May 22, 2009

This is a cool school...is fun and teachers are really helpful, give you chances...and here, kids help the community like the builder's club. It's a great school for kids....I will rate this school 5 stars!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

Sure, this school may have its negative parts to it like crude students, disrespectful students who couldn't care less about their education but there are also good things like there are teachers that are willing to help you whenever you need them and staff that is always there for you. This school is pretty cool except for some of the students who are in need of a wake up call.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

The school is very cool. They have a community sponsored builder's club. They help up people and you also earn service credits. It's a great school because you help out the community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

This school is great. Even though some of the kids are mean rude and pushy, but, without all of that there are great teachers, some nice friends and a great staff. They might be tough on you but it's only because they want you to have the best, greatest future of your life! I totally completley recommend this school!! 5 STARS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

Everybody nowadays is scared to bring their children to I.S.73. Yes, the can be problems nowadays but you have to trust your children.TRUST THEM AND TELL THEM TO WATCH OUT FOR THEMSELVES.It is actually a very fun school, in a students opinion. It is as good as lady of hope. (Lady of hope is wayy too much money). Teachers are very nice and give you a second chance. Just pay attention and youll do great. (BELIEVE ME.) I am in the school myself. This school is not so bad. Not bad at all, actually.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

This is not a great school. Teachers and staff can't manage kids in schoold at all 7th & 8th grades. This school is a SINI (Schoold in need of improvement). Please check it out before you send your children,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

This is one of the best schools Ive ever went to and its math programs are beyond contempt. Personally im in the geometry regents class and its basically full of nerds but thats not the point. The school offers tons of help for those who need it and are very assisting. The best thing about this school is that we have a new school yard!!! its awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

This school is so good even though fighting can be a school issue their,just as long as you dont get involved and be in groups everything is going to be amazing,i went thier for 2 years and i loved it if u focus on what u have to do the year is going to go flying by.The teachers are so cool and smart they help u with everything.I love it....Omg i miss this school so much im crying
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2008

In regards to the posted message regarding the school cafeteria, I must state that for the amount of students and staff personel, the cafeteria in my opinion is well maintained. The building itself is going through major work that is taking place and is well runned by the Dept. of Education. Right now the school yard is being replaced by new and improved facility for students to enjoy. The teachers are excellent in their handling of some students who may be rude, but the majority of them are there to work hard and get excellent education. We must keep in mind that it's up to the student to do well not the teachers to discipline them and be parents (this should be taught at home not at school). I have a child that attends this school and is completely happy with her classes and teachers. Please support our Public school teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

this school is not the best school. they have good teachers but the kids are often very rude and the cafeteria are very dirty.. on the outside it looks poor and in bad condition and the teaching methods are so so..
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2007

I had the time of my life in this school. The teachers were very down to earth and into the curriculum. Mrs. Fuist, mr sausa, ms valvano, mr tully! Mr wooten, omg I can go on forever! they're the best and I miss them terribly! I would go back any day of the week. =]


Posted June 27, 2007

i just graduated from here this is the best school ever speacially if u get mr sausa.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

573 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

593 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

571 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

570 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Female29%
Male16%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islander41%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities2%
General population26%
English language learners1%
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%

Math

All Students33%
Female41%
Male26%
African American27%
Asian/Pacific Islander59%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities6%
General population39%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students29%
Female36%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander41%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities7%
General population34%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%

Math

All Students31%
Female30%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander52%
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities2%
General population36%
English language learners12%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Female33%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander48%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities2%
General population34%
English language learners1%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Math

All Students36%
Female37%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities5%
General population41%
English language learners12%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

Science

All Students68%
Female66%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities38%
General population73%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 58% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 26% 9%
White 1 14% 48%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 216%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 277%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2427 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents87659%
Students149095%
Teachers6159%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CAMILLO TURRICIANO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70-02 54th Ave
Maspeth, NY 11378
Phone: (718) 639-3817

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 290
Maspeth, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT