Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 153 Maspeth

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 1455 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

my son goes in this school in kindergarten and the teachers are really very heartless, been made to feel very sad for my son, I do not recommend at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter goes to the school and she loves it, she comes home everyday happy which in makes me happy. She gets can adequate amount of H.W and I feel she is learning. I can't wait for my son to start kindergarden next year's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son has just entered the 2nd grade and my daughter Kindergarten - The last 3 years at PS 153 have been wonderful to say the least. My son's experience with his teacher's have been great for him academically and socially. He continues to visit them in their classroom. I feel proud of how involved Mrs. Bauer, the principal, is with the classrooms and the children. I've seen her at every PTA, CEC and special class events. Her commitment rolls down to the staff, teachers, aides, security and volunteers. My daughter is so excited about being at PS 153 where her brother goes and so am I !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

This school is the best. My daughter had a very special kind of kindergarten teacher, Ms Arato by far is one of the best. My daughter loved going to school and did not look forward to the weekends. I loved the fact that they have zero tolerance for bullying in the school and I never had to worry about her safety in school. I am super glad this school has a great team such as Ms Baur, Ms Vartanian, Ms Yanez , Mr Willard the security in the front very friendly and always willing to help. I am grateful my daughter attends this school I would highly recommend this school for there excellent curriculum and ways of touching families lives . Thank you P.S. 153
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

I have just graduated from this school as the valedictorian and I nearly burst into tears in the middle of my speech. This school is the best school in Queens, and I feel that the school has improved a lot by adding more extracurricular activities after and before school, such as a gymnastics team, a CHAMPS team, a glee club, a chorus, a band and more. The school teaches responsibilities on fun trips, such as a trip to the Statue of Liberty in fifth grade as a reward for wearing uniform (you can opt-out of the uniform requirements if you want) and in the sixth grade you go to Philadelphia for a day. The school doesn't exclude the classes that are not part of their Gifted and Talented (Beacon) program, and often include them in assemblies, trips, and visits from important figures in New York.


Posted June 17, 2013

Wonderful school, I just wish they had an after-school program for my twins who attended Kindergarten from 2012-2013.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

Starting out from Ms. Susan Yanez( parent coordinator), Ms. Bauer(principal), Ms. Paese (Beacon 1st Grade) Ms. Spano (Beacon 2nd Grade). The following listed are amazing individuals! Very caring and amazing team! I am very grateful for those individuals metioned! -Mercado
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

My child is going to 3rd grade. As a new student in the Beacon program in 2nd grade, she loved it from day 1. The beacon teacher was very inspiring and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

You all should be ashamed of yourselves for calling the police on a 7 year old boy, and having him arrested. What if that were your child?! How traumatizing!!!


Posted October 22, 2010

The dedicated staff...and all the wonderful students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

The staff and parents really work for the benefit of the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2010

It is a warm and inviting place for students to learn.


Posted October 17, 2010

PS 153 is a great school as well as a home away from home for the students. It is a very large school that manages to have the feel and benefits of a small school. Students are valued, respected, and encouraged to grow and be their best academically and personally. The staff and administration are very professional, highly trained, and dedicated to providing a quality education for all. The amazing PTA is second to none. The students are eager to learn and enjoy all of the enrichment activities the school provides. Last, but certainly not least, the school has an award-winning band under the direction of music director Linda Strickon. PS 153 is an amazing institution of learning and most deserving of an award.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2010

The staff is very helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2010

P.S. 153 Maspeth is a rare New York City school. While many other schools are dreary looking, P.S. 153 is a clean, bright school with an atmosphere conducive to learning. The staff is very dedicated and consists of many highly qualified teachers. The administration encourages communication with parents and among teachers. The students are polite and a pleasure to teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2009

The school is exceptionally caring and expects the best for =m the children. From School Safety to teachers to Principal to Crossing gaurds. All are concerned for the childrens growth educationally, morally, and state of mind. My son comes home everyday with a smile and does his homework with motivation. He does not want to disappoint his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

My daughter goes to this great school ! One of the best in NY. The principal Mrs Baur and the A/Ps Ms Vartanian, Mrs Voogt, Mrs Murphy along with all the staff should be commended Keep up the good work everyone !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

My son is in PS 153 and we both love it! The teachers are wonderful, the principal really advocates for the students, and the PTA is one of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I have two children that attend PS 153. I love the school and so do my kids. The teachers, principal and administration are wonderful. They truly care about the kids and are always available to speak to the parents. My kids love going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I was very impressed with the school and especially its staff for their caring and devotion that they all have.Much credit has to go to the administration under the direct caring vision of Principal BAUER, and her much devoted to the children Asst Principals VARTANIAN, VOOGHT, AND MURPHY. With limited resources that have made PS 153 the envies of the ny public school system,,,and proud to say my child attends PS 153 !
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

213 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 48% 23%
White 2 44% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 7% 9%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 210%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 272%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 43%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1251 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents98082%
Students18899%
Teachers8394%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SUSAN BAUER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60-02 60th Ln
Maspeth, NY 11378
Phone: (718) 821-7850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 71 Forest
Ridgewood, NY



Ps 9
Maspeth, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT