Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 58 School Of Heroes

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 1011 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

My biggest concern with the school is the fact that you have to drop off the kids in the morning in the school yard. Parents are not allowed inside the gates. There are not enough guards or teachers supervising the kids. I am concerned with the second graders in the mix with the older kids. I have seen how the school yard gets in the morning and I am worry about my child who is small. Not to mention that the teachers don't come out on time and most of us have to find parking and then rush out to get to work. If we have to make sure our kids are there by 8:10 shouldn't the teacher make sure that they are there by 8:10 as well? For the first few weeks they are but then it starts to get sloppy again. Can't they keep the second graders with the smaller kids ? Who is inside the gate protecting the smaller kids from the older ones ? Why not allow parents with children in second grade inside the gate ? Give us one pass that shows we have a second grader and this way we can ensure their safety. If the older kids saw more adult supervision then maybe they would be on their best behavior or maybe think twice before doing something foolish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

I was extremely disappointed this week with the school! The children worked hard on fundraisers to earn a carnival . It is cancelled Tuesday due to rain in the forecast and rescheduled for Wednesday when several classes already had trips scheduled and my kindergarten daughter had to miss the carnival. That was very unfair !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

I'm not too happy with this school one of the ladies in the front office have a very bad attitude and worrying wat I do with my child this is my concern wat I do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

This is my child's 4th year at PS58. My child had never have any bully issues. PS58 provides class like dance, Italian, gym, art, music and computer. I have to agree that the principal is not very approachable tho. Great teachers and strong PTA. My child was well prepared for the state tests. Thumbs up for the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I would agree with most parents that the principal is terrible. However though, the teachers are very helpful and friendly. there's never much of a bullying issue. This school is a safe enviorment for kids. the lunch aids are nice and I would reccommend this school to parents.


Posted April 3, 2014

Most of the teachers are great but there are a few bad apples in the bunch. The principal is horrible. She is not friendly at all and is so fake. She only cares about herself and not the kids, especially the kids in special ed. If she could get rid of them she would. She takes away therapy rooms and equipment but makes art rooms. God forbid you ever try to have a meeting with her you will get the runaround. She is golden and you can't get close enough to her. The school is clean. The security guards, school aides and paras are great. The only problem with the school is Tripoli. She needs to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

I wonder why the school is going away down in grading and why the principal is been investigated. no communication, graded so called classes but no member of staff can tell you how there graded .they give a six week program of help for ela but it the same kids every year the ones where there parents shout louder and the parent get involved in nothing and good for mr bloomburg for grading the teacher the princip[al and teacher hopefully get weeded out and the all kids might get a proper education and Fair one like what they deserve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2013

The teachers are great, but with a principal like Tripoli, the school is on a downward spiral. Tripoli is not a principal you will see greeting your kids in the schoolyard, at awards assemblies, or out and about at the school. You will see her driving into her parking spot at 8:10 while walking your kindergartener or 1st grader to the blue door. It's time for a new principal to breathe new life, direction, and morale into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

It is so awesome! I recommend you to go to this school. Everything is ok in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

It's no wonder why is the principal being investigated by the city. In addition, why is junk food still being sold in the lunchroom?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

I am a parent of three children at this school in kindergarten, third and fifth grades. I have to disagree with some of the bad reviews on this website because I feel that this school is excellent in so many ways. The academics is excellent, the teachers are knowledgeable and my three children have been successful here to date. They have never had any issues with bullying. There are a few things that I don't like about the school. First off, the school supply list that they send home every year is ridiculous because they make you buy a variety of things that they barely use throughout the year (i.e. different colored notebooks that only end up having a few pages written on by the end of the year). Also, there have been times that they have trips or events with ridiculous prices. It is true that these events are not mandatory however if you don't pay for your child to participate then he/she ends up feeling left out. With all that said I have to say that I am very satisfied with my children's experience here and I feel lucky to have a public school of great quality in my neighborhood that my children can attend for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

All this principal cares about is her performance numbers. She acts likes she's above it all. Not very popular among the parents. Good luck trying to speak with her if you have a problem, her workers won't let you near the queen bee. There's no security in the school yard, and dismissal is chaotic especially during bad weather. Should your child be absent more than 5 or days for the entire year, even with doctor's notes, you will be sent a standardized letter threatening to report you to ACS. The kids are bombarded with homework, yet they want you to be sure and get them outside to play to be healthy. How many hours in a day do they think there is? Classroom size has increased as many more are being bused in than ever before. The teachers are very young and lack the experience needed. Many don't seem to be mother's themselves and just have no clue. Some of the best they had have retired and it is truly a loss. Bullying is an issue as well, even though they claim not to tolerate it. They play ignorant if something happens, and try to sweep it under the rug. You really have to get on them to do something about it. They do lot of fun things for the kids through the year which is nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2011

First of all, this school is a fun place to be, and has MANY, MANY activities that you do not need to pay for. The teachers are very nice and generous, they teach very well and are patient. This place also does not tolerate bullying and helps does who are victims of it. Also, since many people complain about P.9 being treated poorly, I beg to differ. They always get to have free gym periods, whenever they want and they almost always get front-row seats in performances and activities such as the Winter Concert and PTA-related stuff. This is a school for hard workers and children who want to learn. PS.58 is where students strive for excellence...and achieve it!


Posted September 9, 2011

who updates this page? school highlights: water polo!!! never heard of it and school has not had a band for about 3 years. But they do have Italian!! for all the use that will be to anyone...... Clean school, safe environment


Posted June 17, 2011

Special education "is a service not a place" yet why is P9 still segregated? Time to get new staff who are open minded, who can put the education Reform into reality. It should have started this fall yet staff is ignorant. P9 students are not allowed to have 58 education- they get no library, arts, music, dance, shows or concerts yet we pay taxes and our kids are capable. Why should we go to PTA meetings when we are told of them to hear you gloat over your activites when our kids cry due to discrimination/segregation? Disgrace!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

i graduated from this school 2 years ago that was the best 6 years of my life the school has some cool activities for the students and all the teachers are extremely nice and there are teachers for help the school has ESL the school has another school in it i believe it is P.S.9 and there are fun activitie for all the students like band, chorus and the dance team the school has a very simple grading system and gives awards to the best students each month like student of the month and student of the week the school has concerts the dance team goes to competition i was on the dance team for 2 years and at graduation i received an award from the principal and dance teacher for my dancing, there are many fun things in the school like the harvest festival where we went pumpkin picking and at school we had festival outside i as one of the dancers had to do many dances such as line dances and other types. students participate in ballroom dancing as well the school has a ballroom dance show and most classes have dance class and gym some only have gym but the school is awesome and the principal is very nice, the school also has a 9/11 tribute every year and has many concerts each season


Posted October 17, 2010

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE! MY DAUGHTER GRADUATED 2 YRS AGO! THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF HER LIFE. PRICIPAL ADELINA TRIPOLOI IS A TERRIBLE CRUDDY PRICIPAL! MY DAUGHTER WAS BULLIED AND HARRASSED TORMENTED FOR 3 YRS! I REGRET THE DAY I PUT HER IN PS 58 IT SHOULD BE CALLED SCHOOL OF BULLIES! I ADDRESSED THE SITUATION 15 TIMES NOT ONCE DID ADELINA MEET ME TO DISCUSS OR ASSURE ME THE SITUATION WOULD BE RESOLVED. MY DAUGHTER SUFFERED DEPRESSION AND STARTED TO SELF MUTILATE. THE TEACHERS DID NOTHING TO HELP! WHEN MY DAUGHTER TRIED TO DEFEND HERSELF SHE WAS LABELED TROUBLEMAKER. THE STAFF PLACED MY DAUGHTER AT A TABLE AT LUNCH ALONE TO BE BE SINGLED OUT AND TORMENTED EVEN MORE! PS 58 WAS NOTHING BUT A HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE THAT MY DAUGHTER IS SCARRED FOR LIFE WITH TERRIBLE MEMORIES! ADELINA TRIPOLI IS A JOKE AND ONLY CARES ABOUT HER LINCOLN NAVIGATOR
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My daughter is in 1st grade at this school and i love it for many reasons. There is a great communication system and the teachers are fantastic. My daughter has learned so much in her 2 years at this school and I'm very happy with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I graduated two years ago and hated that school so much! The supplies where such a hassel to buy!!!! The teachers did not help the students at all! I see students writing reviews on here and rating it high on activities but that is the only thing that is good about this school! The teachers, principal, academics, faculty were terrible!!!!! Even though I graduated two years ago I know the schoo has not done anything to change there poor school because my sister is graduating this year and cries every morning before school becauses she hates it!!!!! Dont send your child here if you have a choice!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2010

I was a senior last year, and I have attended P.S.58 since 2002, when it opened. The School is a very clean and safe environment. My biggest concern was the all the supplies we had to buy. My parents got very angry with paying for it, and i got very angry for having to bring it in. We didn't even use most of the supplies, and the teachers just packed it in the closet, probably for the next year. The good things about P.S.58 is that every child gets a great education, because the teachers take the time to help out each child with any of their difficulties. Also theirs a very great dance program. Mrs. Scully, the dance instructor is wonderful, and dance is a great time for the kids to express themselves and just had fun. I think dance was my favorite part of P.S.58. :)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 38% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 33% 9%
White 2 28% 48%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 115%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 173%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 46%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 816 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents64981%
Students10791%
Teachers6091%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ADELINA V. TRIPOLI

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

72-24 Grand Ave
Maspeth, NY 11378
Phone: (718) 533-6712

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 290
Maspeth, NY






Ascension School
Elmhurst, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT