Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Massapequa, NY
Students enrolled: 1,051

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Plainedge Senior High School 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
This school has a lot to offer- AP, honors, after school clubs, SAT prep... New website with plenty of helpful links. Students and parents are contacted on a regular basis through email and Powerschool. Well worth the taxes.

Plainedge Senior High School 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Plenty of after school activities if you want to participate. Robotic team placed 2nd in the county. Many clubs and good caring teachers. Parents need to get involved. Taxes are high- why? No business to help the tax burden.


Plainedge Senior High School 3

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
Plainedge has a tax burden problem. You have to ask yourself if this high school is worth the premium you pay in school taxes for the Plainedge district. Regents test scores have been abysmal the past few years and perhaps it is not all about tests but Plainedge taxes are just as high as the best districts in Nassau and you aren't getting the same college prep achievements as districts with lower taxes. Simply look at test results, then compare against the best districts, then compare school tax burden per family. It is hard to justify.

Plainedge Senior High School 2

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Times have changed. No longer the school it once was. Seriously lacking in activities for students except sports. HUGE emphasis put on sports. Sadly the other students get slighted. Poor decisions by our board members over the years have really left us in a bad spot. For every good teacher there is an equally bad one. If my taxes were not so hight I would send my children to private school!

Plainedge Senior High School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
Red & White forever! A beautiful school setting with great teachers and a sense of community. Students SUCCEED!


Plainedge Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
I agree that sports are highly funded, but there are other great programs too. You need to look for them and take advantage of them. My son was able to complete a full year of college with the AP courses he took at this high school. Plainedge really prepares them for college. School is what you make of it and I would definitely recommend this district and encourage parents to get involved and stay involved even at the high school level. Plainedge School District is wonderful and it is a great place to live, except for those awful taxes we have to pay!

Plainedge Senior High School 4

Posted May 20, 2007
- a student
Plainedge is one of the schools where you can't help but to be a little bit crazy if you go there. While the teachers aren't very strict, Plainedge is by no means a pushover high school. The teachers are generally reasonable, and the staff is very friendly. However, unless a student is well into sports, Plainedge has a major lack of extracurricular activities because more money from the budget is put into sports than other activities.

Plainedge Senior High School 4

Posted July 19, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Plainedge Senior High School 3

Posted September 28, 2004
- a parent
Both of my children have gone/go to this school. You really have to be your own child advocate in this district. There are not enough funds to fund everthing, so mediocrity has won over 7th and 8th grade sports, and we have lost our gifted program. In its 'place' they have put a club that 'everyone' can join. Unfortunately, that does not address the needs of the gifted children. It only temporarily raises the self-esteem of the average child. I am carefully watching the programs of my last child, and counting down the days until graduation.

Plainedge Senior High School 2

Posted September 09, 2003
- a community member
The school is unimaginative, the extracurricular activities are boring and there is very little leadership from the staff.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plainedge Senior High School
241 Wyngate Drive, Massapequa, NY  11758
(516) 992-7565
Last modified Plainedge Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Plainedge Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top