Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Floyd High School 1

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The William Floyd School district claims to have a zero tolerance policy toward fighting. My son has been terribly bullied at that school for a few years now. He has been beaten up four times. The only discipline that the bullies ever receive is a five day suspension. That is NOT zero tolerance. A genuine zero tolerance policy is....First one to throw a punch is expelled! Save the suspension for the name callers....kick out the ones who start fights and the fights would stop or at least they would not have repeat offenders. They claim to "have a system in place" The system is NOT WORKING. It needs to change.

William Floyd High School 3

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
I am trying to find out if this district offers summer school. My step daughter just moved up from Florida and was failing there. She is already 2 years behind because her mother let her drop out of school while in Florida. I don't want her to be 3 years behind. She told me there is no summer school.


William Floyd High School 1

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
Get rid of that high school principal Barbara Butler. She is the worst thing that has happened to ,what once was a terrific high school. She is rude, crass and curses. She has ,single handed , ruined the entire atmosphere of the high school. She should be fired.

William Floyd High School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a community member
Great school for kids to Add to there college resume with after school clubs, sports programs and one of the best musical programs on long island

William Floyd High School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
William Floyd is a wonderful school. Last year a graduate was accepted to every Ivy League and a different student was accepted to every military academy. It's the kind of school that gives it's students every opportunity to achieve. The neighborhoods around the school are quiet and it's near the beach! I think the people writing negative things here just don't want anyone to know what a terrific place this is. It's their best kept secret and they want to keep it that way.


William Floyd High School 1

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
I have a daughter, I must say the school and neighborhood has taken a nose dive since i graduated in the 90's. After one visit to the school I pulled my child out and sent her to private Christian school. Being a police officer I was horrified at the amount of gang activity and general drug dealing going on in plain view. Children attending school wearing gang garb and flashing signs. The only reason this school gets 3 stars is because the teachers encourage the students to post on here and give it five stars. Don't take my word for it see for your self.

William Floyd High School 1

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere! William Floyd is a horrendous school district! Had to pull my two children out after 8 years within the district because it just gets worse and worse as they get older and move up through the grades. Now I pay for private/ Catholic school tuition for two kids and still have to pay insanely high school taxes every year for a district that will never measure up! The neighborhoods in the district are getting worse and worse also... Save yourself! Don't even look at this area! Your children deserve better!!!

William Floyd High School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
School gets negitive feedback from his own community,But honestly school is great my son loves it,reasson for low test scores are parents, an active and supporting parent can keep the students on track.


William Floyd High School 4

Posted April 11, 2012
- a community member
I am a proud William Floyd Graduate and after May I will have a Juris Doctorate. William Floyd has a hard reputation and unfortunately the most negative feedback it receives stems from its own community. I can honestly tell you that being at Floyd I learned: how to be strong, realized that life does not give you hand outs, and that you have to work HARD. While I do agree that Floyd could trim the fat with respect to some ineffective teachers and overpaid Administrators, which is seen to plague a majority of school districts, this High School is not as bad as people make it out to be. The tools to be successful are there at William Floyd, however it takes an active and supporting parent to keep the students on track and encourage the school to thrive.

William Floyd High School 1

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
I think the school is slacking. I believe letting 65% be passing is just a way to do less and still have the kids pass. My daughter went to a different school only 13 miles away and 70 was passing. She graduated regent honors from that school. This school is a joke I wish I could get my son out of it. I truly don't understand how schools in same state and county could have such different standards. I wish I could move my son to connetquot

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Floyd High School
240 Mastic Beach Road, Mastic Beach, NY  11951
(631) 874-1660
Last modified William Floyd High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Floyd High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top