Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 3

Posted June 17, 2011
- a community member
As a former student here, and as a teacher (not here), I can say that this school is not as bad as some make it out to be, but it isn't stellar. There are several teachers who do care about the students, and who do want the students to learn, but there are also about the same number that do not care, and who are just making sure that they keep their jobs. The arts programs are doing the best they can, given the limited funding and staffing that they are given. Administration has changed since I was a student, and while I can't speak for the current administration, I have seen administrations in the past that were not strong on discipline. Also, special education is a very mixed bag- students with low-incidence disabilities do have the best of the staff that the school has. Students with high-incidence disabilities tend to have no proper help from the special ed. staff. I watched fellow students who needed help from an aide sit in class and talk with the student through the whole class, and the aide took the notes. There is also a major problem with a form of nepotism- If you aren't related to someone in Mechanicville, you will not get the same treatment as someone who is.
1 person found this helpful

Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 2

Posted January 13, 2011
- a student
i go to this school and students are very disuptive, sometimes we can even get through the lesson. teachers have to keep stoping and telling kids to be quite!
1 person found this helpful


Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
This school district is horrible. They don't care abot the children just about themselves, very selfish people in this district. I know i worked there and saw it first hand. Believe if you want you child to get an good education and learn respect don't send them here.
1 person found this helpful

Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
This school is horriable. my daughters is a freshmen and hates it . The students dont care about anything but having a good time and getting drunk/high. THe acedamics are below average and some of the teachers willl not even teacher so they can go on facebook and amazon to shop9you know who you are ). The school is horriable. THey spend all there money on usless things and they still havnt resolved the issue with mold. i believe that sending your child(ren) to this school you are making a HUGE mistake. Move to Halfmoon schools are way better.
1 person found this helpful

Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 11, 2009
- a student
i go to this school and i Hate it! the other students are intolerant and the teachers Can not teach! do NOT send your kids to this school
1 person found this helpful


Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 1

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 1

Posted October 16, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mechanicville Junior Senior High School 1

Posted April 12, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mechanicville Junior Senior High School
25 Kniskern Ave, Mechanicville, NY  12118
(518) 664-9888
Last modified Mechanicville Junior Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mechanicville Junior Senior High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top