Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oregon Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 606 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2010

I am currently in ninth grade, I also graduated from Oregon Middle School last year. I loved Oregon. The Principals, Teachers and Staff are always there to help you. When I entered Oregon in sixth grade and left after eight, I always felt we were like our own little family. This school helped a lot and the teacher's at Oregon we're always there to teach what they needed to teach. This school is really the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

As a currently enrolled student, Oregon Middle School is very excellent and very unprofessional. The teacher's are very helpful, and others are very mean and inconsiderate. Oregon has taught me a lot, but they need to get their act together before kids get pulled out and are put in catholic schools like many I know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2006

Okay, as a ninth grader today, I graduated from Oregon Middle School last year. I happened to love this school. The staff and the principal at the time made my friends and myself always feel welcome. The teachers are very professional and I've learned so much from all of them. The staff brought all the students together and there were hardly ever any fights. I always felt free to talk to a staff member if there was ever a problem.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 26, 2005

Glad this is my youngest child's last year here. The staff is intolerant and there is no nurturing whatsoever. Their extra help policy is atrocious and I've had to hire a tutor for a child who has never struggled before. I've seen them target certain children as troublemakers. It's run more like juvenile hall than a school. It's really a shame and I hope they can recover. As for me, we're thankful to be done with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

As a prior parent of a former Oregon student, I think Oregon is the most wonderful middle school in this district! All the teachers my son had were stimulating and extremely dedicated! The English department teachers taught him to be the wonderful writer he is today - the math department offered unlimited extra help periods as do all the additional staff members - the administrators are hard working and instill school spirit at every event we have planned! The PTA works hard all the time providing the students with fabulous activities such as the Back to School BBQ; fun nights; Battle of the Classes; a multitude of fund raisers to raise monies to be spent on further activities for all children; and they provide the students with organizers and free t-shirts for spirit week! Any child would be lucky to attend this middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

As both a former student and mother of four children, I know a lot about Oregon Middle School. The school could definitely use some help in the Extra Curricular activities center. They hardly have any clubs. Safety is also an area of improvement, there are constantly fights here. Trust me, this school is mediocre at best. Why most of the teachers lack enthusiasm. Only the new teachers give the students hope that learning can be fun. Very dissapointing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 72% 48%
Hispanic 1 20% 23%
Black 1 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 238%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 71%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

109 Oregon Ave
Medford, NY 11763
Phone: (631) 687-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Saxton Middle School
Patchogue, NY



Sequoya Middle School
Holtsville, NY


Sappo School
Medford, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT