Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patchogue Medford High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2646 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

This local school has exceptional teachers who really care about students. All the teachers we have had so far are readily available for extra help and for speaking to parents. The music program is spectacular - many of the students participate in Allstate competitions, LISFA, SCEMEA, etc. There is a great interest in the sports programs as well. There are a lot of AP classes available and the guidance counselors are available to help navigate the next steps necessary for successful high school completion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Patchogue Medford area and the High School has improved dramatically and is up and coming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

This school is a mixed bag. The programs provided aren't bad and the food is alright. The students are something else I've been around to see nice, mean, weird (in a good way), gang( or they think they are), crazy( in a bad way), and rude people but they aren't bad when you get to know'em, but students dress trashy (especially sagged pants like really). Teachers are a gamble depending on which one you get. Guards do their jobs but students somehow get away with deals, fighting, or bullying. Also I should mention the school makes fake accounts on the internet along w/ the police to track you, my time so far it's stopped a couple incidents but it can be uncomfortable, it makes me nervous to write this as well. The environment is bad, bathrooms are dirty or smell, bland painting, nothing really interesting. The staff such as the librarians or any that you don't see in the hallways don't do much, I've seen them try to avoid doing direct work, only two times has that happened to me but I'm speaking with personal and what I hear experience. I do like the education being taught but it depends on your teacher. If anyone working at the school finds this take it to thought. Overall: Meh.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2013

Horrible... Staff is rude to students. I moved here from another state and honestly cannot wait to move out of this district. Staff members really need to take a refresher course in communication. My child is polite and always respectful yet her encounters and mi en have been nothing but a headache here. They do nothing about bullying unless the child has been hit, I have made 2 complaints this year alone and nothing has been done to resolve my issues. As many times as I have been down to the school with issues I have yet to meet the principal. Simply pathetic at how pat med is run...I would much rather take my child back to a city school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Patchogue Medford is a great school! There is good and bad in every school, I don't care where you live. When parents raise good students, they can achieve success in any school. It's a big school with many program offerings. I am proud to send my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Currently a senior at pat-med. There is such a divide in the type of students attending patchogue-medford. There are many students taking AP and honors courses, but outside of those classes, students honestly just don't care about education. We have a lot of clubs and a lot of people get involved in them, our robotics team is nationally ranked, and our computer science program is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2011

About two years ago I was in this school quite often, and a I must say I did not have a bad experience here at all. My husband and I moved to this district and we are both teachers. I know the school has a bad rep, but i know some people who put there children through the district and had no problems. I have heard about a poor administration. I feel bad if students can't pay attention. That is not only the fault of the teacher but should be put on the parents as well. Districts that thrive are filled with parents that value education and send there children with the idea that they must pay attetion and do well. No excuses! My husband works in a very good school district. As far as kids goofing off and gangs and drugs, Its everywhere! We actually saw a missing persons poster of one of his former students. He was known to be in a gang. There are kids that mess around and distract other children from learning. There is also and huge drug problem! These are problems that are everywhere. I think the school district and the community need to come together and stop complaining if they arent going to do anything about it!


Posted March 31, 2011

I completely disagree with reviewer from March 15, 2010. I am a good student, and try to pay attention in class, but it is nearly impossible when the other kids are goofing around and I can't even hear the teachers. They have to keep repeating themselves so the bad kids can catch up. I could learn so much more, but there is no discipline or consequences. I always hear kids cursing, making racist comments, or talking nasty about someone who is not like them. The girls dress trashy and I am sick of seeing the boy's underwear. Sure, there are some good programs and sports teams are good, but I am not into robotics or football. I wish I could got to private school, but we can't afford it. I look forward to graduating and getting out of there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2010

Bad teachers that don't care. Not safe. Too many bullies and gangs. Sports stink. Boring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2010

No school spirit. Big bulling problems. Teachers don't care and are only there for the paycheck and summers off; and they're some of the highest paid teachers in NY! Overtaxed and mismanaged district. Boo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

This school is excellent and is truly underrated. My kids are performing excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

One of the better high schools on long island - the Band was chosen to perform at Carnegie Hall and the robotics team is rated 4th in the world - Plenty of AP courses and Excelsior courses available - Dedicated, good students will do well in this school - troublesome students on the other hand will not have many options to get help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2009

The school is poorly run, especially since they put a new principal in place this year. The Special Education Department is poor, and does not address the needs of the child. Discipline can vary from no consequence to a 5 day out of school suspension, depending who the child is, and the relationship they have with the school. IEP's are not followed through, and the CSE process can best be described as an abortion come true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My four children all graduated from PMHS, the teachers there were always willing to give a helping hand. They would always help the students who need extra time--
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

Great school, good environment.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
67%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

705 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

546 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

647 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

570 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

10 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

666 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

290 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

643 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students53%
Female56%
Male50%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant53%

Chemistry

All Students72%
Female73%
Male68%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities36%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant72%

Earth Science

All Students89%
Female84%
Male94%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities80%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

English

All Students89%
Female94%
Male85%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities62%
General population92%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

Geometry

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities61%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%

Global History and Geography

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
African American73%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities55%
General population91%
English language learners46%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

Integrated Algebra

All Students80%
Female83%
Male76%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities52%
General population83%
English language learners53%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%

Living Environment

All Students83%
Female83%
Male84%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities64%
General population85%
English language learners45%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%

Physics

All Students67%
Female59%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant67%

U.S. History and Government

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
African American96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities80%
General population96%
English language learners65%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 70% 48%
Hispanic 2 22% 23%
Black 2 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 136%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 79%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

181 Buffalo Ave
Medford, NY 11763
Phone: (631) 687-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sachem High School East
Farmingville, NY


Sappo School
Medford, NY


Victory Christian Academy
East Patchogue, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT