Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Merrick, NY
Students enrolled: 914

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Merrick Avenue Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
National blue ribbon school, have been very responsive to our needs. We have found it to be a friendly community for our child and he is having a great time there. Tons to do, late buses provided, extra help support, and an afternoon library/homework program.

Merrick Avenue Middle School 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
Fires good teachers for swimming..on television. If the school board and administration make such irrational decisions which expose them to substantial liability on presumably a set of puritanical whims, I question their ability to administrate a quality education of any kind. I'd advise sending your kids somewhere else.


Merrick Avenue Middle School 1

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
My Child is attending this school and it's a ZOO ,she has been shoved in the hallways ,can't get to her locker because there's no time and no room to even open it. She has been bullied and there seems to be no consequences. the Teachers are oblivious, they have no idea whats going on in their classrooms. So sad all my child worries about now is how to make through the day unharmed. Fed Up Parent

Merrick Avenue Middle School 4

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
I had a son at this school two years ago and now my daughter is about to start. Having moved from Queens, this school was a breath of fresh air. The staff and students get along well and have mutual respect for each other. Academic standards are high at this school and my son was on honor roll for his entire time at the school. NYC schools should take some lessons and students, teachers and parents will all be happy. Great school.

Merrick Avenue Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
It's a National Blue Ribbon school that has high standards and the support students need to achieve those standards.


Merrick Avenue Middle School 5

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Merrick Avenue Middle School 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Merrick Avenue Middle School 1

Posted July 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Merrick Avenue Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Merrick Avenue Middle School 3

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merrick Avenue Middle School
1870 Merrick Avenue, Merrick, NY  11566
(516) 992-1200
Last modified Merrick Avenue Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Merrick Avenue Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top