Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 2845 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I went through Longwood k-12, and it was honestly terrible. The security treats you like you're a criminal, the teachers think they are students, and you are simply wasting your time--with a few minor exceptions. If you can afford a private school, PLEASE bring your child there. This is a terrible school district and I would have given anything to go anyplace else.


Posted March 26, 2014

My daughter was in parochial school from K-8 because I did not want her in this school district.. I had to pull her out because Longwood made her bus stop 7 miles away. I had no choice but put her in this horrible school. She went down hill very fast. The atmosphere is negative and many of the teachers speak the same slang as the students. The school is overcrowded and the overall impression is ghetto. When you are surrounded by students and teachers that do not care, it is not going to affect you in a positive way. I have lived on Long Island for 48 yrs and Longwood has always had a horrible reputation. Sadly, my experience there has proved they have earned that awful reputation. My daughter has 15 months left there and it can't come fast enough. I am sorry she will not look back on her high school years fondly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

I moved out of state to Longwood High School for my sophomore year and after 2 years of being at this school, I CANNOT stand it. The students are disrespectful, and the teachers are just as disrespectful back. I'm getting ready to start applying to colleges and my counselor has done nothing to help prepare me. The school wastes money on ridiculous amount of flat screens and not enough on basic school necessities. Fights are every other day, and if you're "different", the students will make you most certainly feel unwelcome and the staff won't do anything to help. Avoid enrolling into this school at all costs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2013

This school is a joke, there is not one bit of leadership in this school , throughout my school career I was a high honors student who graduated and by my own intelligence and my own ability to search for outside knowledge I got accepted into NYU and who takes the credit for that , Longwood they have no right to take credit for this since at the time my parents spend thousands of dollars to have me educated in private learning centers after school because they felt my education was so subpar . Longwood school district doesn t just have a subpar education system they have an outright wrong education system, they should be examined by the state thoroughly to see if the school has any merit still being open
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2012

My teen years went down the drain in this school. Never felt like the teachers cared, the people in class were misbehaved and made it extremely hard to concentrate if the teacher wasn't already yelling at them, and security guards and administrators were overbearing. You didn't really have a voice or any freedom at this school. It felt more like a jail than a learning experience. Counselors were also terrible. It was way overcrowded. Also there were too many fights and "bomb scares." I lost all motivation I had until college where I excelled. Absolutely hated this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2012

The district dosnt care about kids or parents they back their teachers up though. i dont have the money to move and it too late for my kids dont move to this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

Regarding the Jessica Barba scandal you created, SHAME on you administrators! You have a sensitive, empathetic, creative young lady with the ability to think outside the box, and you punish her for these attributes? You morons should be sued and then fired. Ms. Barba's project was socially responsible and impressive... you, however, are not. Janice McClellan


Posted May 28, 2011

My children all went through the Longwood School School District, from Kindergarten through 12th Grade. They took AP classes, did fantastically, graduated with high honors and attended superb universities. I found the staff caring & the teachers excellent. THere are problems, but EVERY SCHOOL has its set of problems. Quite frankly, the biggest problem were with the kids whose parents didn't have a clue about parenting. If you foster a love of education early, your children will excel. IF you have bad parenting skills and have low expectations, you will get what you deserve. If you are a parent who couldn't care less about how your child does in school, they won't care either. I'm tired of teachers being blamed when students do poorly. It is the job of the parent to get their student to school, the job of the student to do what is expected of them, the job of the teacher to teach. If you are a parent who cares more about your own social life than the education of your child, don't expect great things from your child. Show your child you care, and then they'll care. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

I WORK IN LONGWOOD HIGH SCHOOL. I AM NOT A TEACHER. I CAN TELL YOU THIS SCHOOL IS WAY TOO CROWDED. WITH ALL THE HIGH TAXES WE PAY, YOU WOULD THINK THERE WOULD BE ANOTHER H.S. IN THE DISTRICT. TOO MANY OF THE KIDS FALL THROUGH THE CRACKS AND TOO MUCH FIGHTING BECAUSE OF THE OVER CROWDING. THEY NEED TO DO SOMETHING BADLY, BEFORE THE SCHOOL GETS WORSE. TEACHERS ARE NOT CARING AND THE KIDS ARE TOO WILD AND OUT OF CONTROL, NOT ENOUGH SECURITY. TRUST ME, I WORK THERE, THIS IS FIRST HAND INFORMATION!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2011

I have 2 daughters currently in the High School and a son coming into the High School in Sept. Each of my children are doing exceptional work. Honors or High Honors. They come home repeating things the teachers have discussed with them about whichever subject it is. Which means the teachers are speaking to the kids and the kids are listening and learning. I am amazed how much they are learning and holding on to. There is also extra help avail if you need it and take them up on it. Sure there are fights, but arent there fights in every school. My kids are doing well, no fights, no drugs, no drinking and they all seem to like and get along with their teachers. I dont remember my teachers speaking to us like we were young adults I remember my teachers just giving a lesson and then homework. Good Job Longwood!! Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

The principals are more involved in there own problems and fail to help the students. My child is one falling through the cracks and to transfer to another school it costs $ 8,000 what can a parent do? We drive her to school since she feels unsafe on in the bus , and there are a few good teachers but not enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

There are some teacher's that really do not give a hoot.When you took this job was it just for the money? A teacher is a teacher when they go out of their way to reach that student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Active in promoting tolerance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

I graduated from Longwood 4 years ago and my younger brother is graduating this year, and I wonder to myself if the preceding comments were written by the faculty? The school is extremely overcrowded, which is the main cause for all the fighting and the amount of trouble. The teachers DO NOT CARE about the students. As a matter of fact I remember the teachers enabling students in regards to cutting classes and even drug use! The level of education is not anywhere near community of junior college, nor does it prepare you (maybe a select few). I as well as the majority fell through the cracks of the school, which is most definitely not the cause of my success (MS Comp Sci - Stony Brook University). The only thing that can help students in this school is having parents that stay on top of their children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

I graduated Longwood and can say that the education I received was equal to a community or junior college level. I was truly prepared for college and the work force. The only bad thing I could say about the school is that it was so politically correct. Opinions were to be kept to yourself and not voiced.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 26, 2007

I went to longwood, and can summarize what it offers to the community thus: everything is there. Longwood doesn't baby you, it doesn't effectively force you to go to school/class. In fact, if you want to be a bad seed, there isn't much stopping you. However, if you are willing to learn, you will get as good of an education as in any school. Extracurriculars are many and very welcoming. The only barrier is them not willing to walk you through your four years. Like another review said, if you want it, it's there, just ask for it. A child who is willing to learn will learn from very knowledgeable teachers. One who likes to party will continue to party. It is much like a small indoor college campus. Every man for himself. Either you go to class, or you evade the security in every hallway and go home.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 1, 2007

I graduated from Longwood and I personally enjoyed my experience there. Most teachers are competent and make the learning experience fun. However like in most schools there are teachers that just lack the ability to reach their students. Sports and extracurricular activities are big in the High School. The major Sports are Division 1 and there is a wide assortment of Sports that can be played competitively. When I graduated I felt the administration was weak, but a new Principal was put in place so I'm not sure if he has better leadership qualities. Concerning Parent involvement I think it is decent my parents went to the teacher conferences and things like that and there is the PTA and PTSA. The school is crowded and there are bad seeds but I think you will find that everywhere. All in all I was happy with my education experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 27, 2006

The HS is definitely over crowded and the leadership has just gone down the drain.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2006

Longwood has in recent years become disconnected from the community. Especially at the HS level. They hired a principal who was terrible and waited too long to fix the mistake. They have also dropped many honors classes at the HS for no reason. The parents, students and teachers have expressed their displeasure to no avail. The current BOE cares only about their agenda.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2006

As someone who goes to Longwood I don't especially like it. I've taken classes that were like study halls and nothing was done at all in the class. The school is large but not large enough for the rowdy kids that go there. I believe that there are of some good teachers and students there but I think some of the smartest students got to where they are mostly by themselves. Longwood is one of the highest paid school districts on Long Island so they should have better teachers than that.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

529 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

611 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

48 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

782 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

664 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

719 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

406 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

660 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students54%
Female58%
Male51%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islander52%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant54%

Chemistry

All Students73%
Female69%
Male76%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%

Earth Science

All Students72%
Female72%
Male72%
African American61%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities41%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%

English

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities66%
General population95%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%

Geometry

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
African American76%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities43%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%

Global History and Geography

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities49%
General population88%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%

Integrated Algebra

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities53%
General population84%
English language learners62%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%

Living Environment

All Students86%
Female89%
Male85%
African American72%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities54%
General population92%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities63%
General population93%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 58% 48%
Black 1 19% 19%
Hispanic 2 18% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 77%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. MARIA CASTRO

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Longwood Rd
Middle Island, NY 11953
Phone: (631) 345-9200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sappo School
Long Island, NY


Sachem High School East
Farmingville, NY




Rocky Point High School
Rocky Point, NY


Miller Place High School
Miller Place, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT