Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Middle Island School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
All three of our chilren attended this school and we all loved the experince they had there, great teachers who provided a nuturing environment for our children to in.

West Middle Island School 1

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
I've had my children in this school for few years and have not had an issue until this year. I feel that my children's teachers are very unorganized and do not give there all, they seem to just be there for a paycheck also the principal doesn't seem to have anytime for parents concerns she always in a "meeting." My children have also told me that the teachers don't have time to listen to their concerns. It's very upsetting and I know many parents that feel the same.


West Middle Island School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
My son went to this school and he loved it. The teachers really care about the kids and he was actually sad to leave after 4th grade. WEST IS BEST!

West Middle Island School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
We absolutely love WMI. Both of our boys have gone there from Kindergarten (One is a 4th grader, the other is a 1st grader). We have found the teachers to be extremely dedicated, the administration responsive and supportive, and the overall WMI "Community" to be extremely warm. There is an extremely strong PTA that work in conjunction with the school to deliver great programs for our students. When we first moved to Longwood people warned us about the district being "not so great", but nothing could be further from the truth.

West Middle Island School 5

Posted July 27, 2014
- a community member
Its a very creative school the teachers are really nice its a nice area I recemend it


West Middle Island School
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
There is a sense of pride and dedication to the West Middle Island School. There are teachers that go above and beyond for the benefit of the children's learning experience. Whether its creating new community projects that embrace the children's creativity, having a fantastic field day experience, or just saying hello in the hallway, the Staff at West really is the BEST!!!

West Middle Island School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
We Love West Middle Island Elementary School. They have great teachers and staff, and do so much for the kids.

West Middle Island School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
It provides and exceptional learning environment for my nephew and niece. The school elicits the students' full potential.


West Middle Island School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a community member
Very active , parent participatory , a great learning invironment for my grandkids

West Middle Island School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
WMI is wonderful! It starts with the principal and works its way down. Everyone is exceptional! The environment, caring, concern, experiences and enthusiam is why our school motto is 'West is best!'

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Middle Island School
30 Swezey Lane, Middle Island, NY  11953
(631) 345-2160
Last modified West Middle Island School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Middle Island School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top