Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 49 Dorothy Bonawit Kole

Public | K-8 | 1060 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

This School needs to work on a safety procedures. I was in the office and my niece came down from her class unattended, without any adult supervision. Students should be accompanied by an adult when they get out of their classroom. They should not roam around the hallways alone. I was shocked to witness my niece come to the office all alone. She's only in kindergarten.


Posted December 19, 2013

this is great public school for public.great Principal with excellent leadership.this is the place where your kids should study.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

My school is P.S Is 49. This school is where 3 of my children attend. I feel the teachers do not prepare them well during the school year. They only taught this year for the state test. Once the state test was over, the rest of the spring no tests were given and all learning stopped. I also don't feel fond of the new math teaching methods for the children. My children found it more confusing and I had to constantly send them for tutoring elsewhere. I have bright children and I am very involved. Any parent who is not your child will not succeed here besides my child telling me how the math teacher plays candy crush on her phone during math lessons. I am disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

To the comment below. The ignorant comment assuming I am friends with the lunch lady Don't know her personally except for a hi how are you. As a teacher you must have a class full of angels. My daughter came to 49 from a private school where there was no discipline. When one child acts up the others seem to follow so she is teaching a no tolerance for that kind of behavior. For anyone that doesn't appreciate a disciplined child 49 is not the right choice. My daughter tells me everything that goes on in the lunchroom and it seems some just like to over exaggerate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

The lunch lady is horrible she miss treats all the children. She has been investigated a number of times and someone actually blew up her car. She screams at this kids like a crazy woman and nobody's child deserves to be yelled at like that THEY DO NOT DESERVE IT. she punishes the whole lunch period for one child talking. That's unfair. How would she like it to be treated the way she treats those kids. The only one that is loud and disrespectful is her and her friend that wrote the comment below. Many parents have pulled their kids outta that school because of her. She bullies them. Ask any kid. If she can't deal with kids acting like normal kids she shouldn't work in that school. She also says how she hates public school and the kids are animals and that's why she sent hers to private school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2013

My child has been a student at ps 49 since 3rd grade. She is now in 5th. The teachers are terrific. The principal is exceptional despite his lack of ability to communicate well with parents. He is great with the children and for pushing them to be all they could be. And that is what is most important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

This school gives to much homework for the 3 grades and the test are crazy.i email to a certain teacher every time I email she doesn't response to me at all.But I think this will be her last year going here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

Special needs parents BEWARE: there is a paraprofessional that works in this school that exploits special needs students by claiming they "hurt" her so she can get out on disability. She also speaks to them inappropriately. Principal knows about it, does nothing and your child gets a bad name. This current principal does not care for special needs students. He cares about test scores and making his school look perfect. If your child needs a special ed. setting, especially self-contained, LOOK ELSEWHERE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

This school is awesome!!!! It has so many things for the students to do. This school is great!!!!


Posted March 27, 2012

My daughter has been in the school for two years now. She loves her school, teachers and classmates. This school has an amazing teachers and educational program. Non of the Queens schools offers so many trips ,activities and cares for your child that is way this school should be graded high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My daughter attend this school since she was in Kindergarten, the teachers are very young but most of them with a lot of experience, some school staff are rude, some are very nice. That's true, the school is very crowed since the last two years. They used to have more programs for the students, overall I think the school is good, my daughter loved it and she never complain about bulling or anything like that. Now we are moving to L.I. and trying to find a good school as well. My daughter is so sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

I graduated in '05 and all I must say is that many of the teachers are inexperienced, some try their best.but are almost terrified under the dictatorship of the principal who has control of every aspect of the school.


Posted November 4, 2011

I transferred my child to PS/IS 49 from another school because she was not academically challenged enough in her old school. This school exceeds my expectations. She absolutely loves it. So far, I love it as well. VERY glad we made the switch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

The school has become too overcrowded. There are children without desk who sit at one large table with backpacks on their chairs. The classrooms are not set up in an orderly manner. Any grade can be on any floor so you can have say, Kindergarten and Fourth grade right next to each other. The older kids have to carry their supplies from one class to another and sometimes their backpacks the whole day. This is from grade 4 and up. Sometimes the backpacks are heavy. I weighed today's backpack at 13 lbs! Teacher quality is fair at most. The staff is rude. The lunch room aide screams at the kids for the slightest thing and than punishes the whole class for something one or two children did. The punishment can range from not going out into the school yard to play to cleaning up everyones trash in the lunch room You are better off walking to the school because if you drive, you will search for parking and sometimes park 4 blocks away. That's on a bright and sunny day. During the winter it's worse. The academics are fair at best They have a strong art background which is nice to have the children learn but math is fair, and their reading is selected only from classroom books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

If the first day is any indication- this school stinks!!!! Full of pompus staff who seem to think they are doing us a favor by doing their jobs!!!! Every family gets a letter about start dates and needed supplies. Would it take a lot of effort to put 3 or 4 lines explaining how the process works ? especially for the nubies ( our little 4&5 years olds entering kinder) hmmm: at this time you will bring your child here if it's dry, here if it's raining - you must separate at this point, will not walk the child in, we will not tell you who the teacher is or what room they are going to- oh , and by the way- we don't want want the supplies on day one ( so dozens of parents aren't toting big heavy bags while standing panicky amidst the chaos). Unless the entire staff turned over this year there is no excuse for the lack of organization- a diheartening embarrassment!!!! One plus- there's nowhere to go but up !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Great community school, with strong academics (especially elementary grades) and amazing music program. This school is very into the arts (music and fine arts), because of the principal. Wonderful teachers, strong leadership and very active PTA. The school is now K-8, and is yet to graduate its first class, so let's see how school evolves in next couple of years. Hope it stays great, since there is increasing problem with overcrowding. Overall, despite not being perfect, I would recommend this school highly for elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I was so glad to see the 2-star review by another parent. I rated this school 1-star sometime last year and somehow my review disappeared. I agree 100% with her/him that the teachers are excellent, but the staff is far from it. It started from the first day we went to enroll our child in the school, we got a very smug look from the staff like they were too good to talk to us. The principal is an extremely arrogant bully. Not towards the kids, but just ask some of the teachers. (I personally know a few that refuse to work there because of him.) Don't get me started on the Lunch lady. Many people I have talked to say she should be fired. Anybody gets slightly out of line, she screams and makes them stand against the wall. She is constantly screaming. It's a lunch room full of 5 & 6 year olds. Of course they're going to be a bit rowdy. Someone once remarked, "You're nerves would be frazzled too if you had to deal with this every day." My response, "So quit, and let someone who can handle it run the lunch room." Other parents whom I have warned not to send their kindergartener there have come to regret it. I'm glad I took my child out. Very happy and doing much better at new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

This school is wonderful, has great staff and wonderful teachers. The atmosphere is always inviting and everyone is a cheerleader for their school. My son's academics are strong within high percentiles and I'm very happy that every child is challenged individually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Great teacher wonderful principle. They really do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My daughter has been in the school now for 2 years. At first, she struggled to stay on top because the school has very high expectations and unfortunately she did not get a good foundation from the private school she came from (OLH). With the dedication and support of her teacher (Mrs Mollin) and us she survived her first year and loves the school! She worked very hard and saw the rewards!!! Mr Lombardi is a great principal and all of his staff is outstanding! This year, my daughter, has Mr Schumaker and she loves him as well. She wakes up happy every morning to go to school and returns home just as happy. I'm so glad the school goes to 8th grade now. What a dumb mistake I made to not put her here from Kindergarden. This is an outstanding school!!!! Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 54% 48%
Hispanic 2 29% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 15% 9%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 147%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 19%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 43%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1033 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents66082%
Students33398%
Teachers4067%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ANTHONY LOMBARDI
Fax number
  • (718) 894-3026

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

63-60 80th St
Middle Village, NY 11379
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 326-2111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Margaret School
New York, NY



Ps 87 Middle Village
Middle Village, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT