Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miller Place High School

Public | 9-12 | 973 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

The BEST high school by far! My son and daughter have both graduated from Miller Place High School. It has been a fantastic experience for both of them. Their teachers are caring and truly wanted my children to succeed. They went above a beyond to prepare them for college. The guidance department assisted my children in applying for college, which is a very overwhelming task. I can't say enough good things about Miller Place High School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

Look at the test scores below compared to the state average. I think that says it all!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Quality of life in the Miller Place School District gets worse every year. Huge budget cuts have left us with only a few non-sports extracurriculars. On top of this, the student body is very cliquey. So if your kid is unathletic and is near the bottom of the social ladder (like I was), the school doesn't offer much to enrich the students' social experience outside the classroom. Even in the music department and drama club, the same five kids tend to get all the recognition, so there is little opportunity for growth. Another unfortunate change recently is that the campus is now closed. Meaning the seniors are not allowed to go out or go home for lunch anymore, and are stuck eating the prison food that the cafeteria serves. This also means they're stuck in a cliquey cafeteria, so if your kid only has a handful of friends or is a picky eater, too bad. On a side note, we have the earliest start time in New York State, and the school does NOT take anything but illness as an excuse. Sure, the education is pretty good and the teachers care, but unfortunately this doesn't make up for everything else. If you care about your kids' quality of life at school, avoid Miller Place.


Posted May 15, 2013

Wonderful school. Teachers are terrific with the kids and the school is run well. Great school activities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

Strange and sad comments below... I graduated from MPHS and knew very well who Malcolm X, Gandhi, Rosa Parks and other social justice figures were...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2009

Miller Place School district is definitely not what it used to be. It can not compete with other districts in terms of clubs and extracurricular activities. Administrators in the schools hide behind rhetoric and don't give the parents the respect they deserve for understanding their children and the academic and social needs of their children. Gone are the days of the 50th highest school district in the nation, that's for sure. Blind eyes are turned on those professionals who are incompetent or who should not be working with youngsters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

Miller Place Schools are great in almost every way. The town is mostly white middle class. The crime rate is low. There is no discrimination based on color. The parent who posted the angry post saying so has never sat through the classes at MPHS. I would challenge anyone to find a real correlation between color and grades because it does not exist. Maybe instead of ranting on here you should be helping your children with their schoolwork instead of teaching them to blame racism. As for Miller Place being a blue collar town, the people of Miller Place make more money per capita than over 95% of the world. Next time do some research and stop trying to tear apart a perfectly good town.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

As an MPHS Graduate, I am quite horrified to read the statement below posted Sept 19, 2006. My Miller Place education prepared me with a broad cultural base to succeed in all of my post-high school endeavors. I do not understand why he claims that Martin Luther King or Mahatma Gandhi (by the way, he spelled Gandhi wrong ) were not mentioned in classes. The district values cross-cultural education and that was prevalent in every course, through reading Richard Wright books in 10th grade English, to studying anti-war protests in Social Studies, to understanding the cultural foundations of Spanish civil war in Spanish class, and the relevancy and influences of renaissance art in today's society in art class. I would challenge the statement that students at MPHS have never heard of Rosa Parks, perhaps offering that some students simply choose not to listen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

I am a bit dismayed at the portrayal of the school as biased. I have children in the district and one graduate. The graduate was a trouble maker and as such was treated as that. She is quite light in color but she made decisions that were inappropriate and there were consequences at school and home including the need in senior year to really prove herself to have 'grown up' and be a part of the school and community. I am speaking of my own child whom i love in an unbiased way. Did i wish that people didn't dislike her? Of course. But she was difficult and she was pegged as such. So i question the first person's statement of the treatment of people of color and instead would implore the review of her child's personal behaviors. Its a great school & said child graduated, with honors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We moved to Miller Place because friends recommended the high school. Based on my child's experience at this school, wished we had picked another school. The principal's disdain for people of color is prominently displayed at every opportunity. Some of the teachers are good.Students are taught little about other cultures, except for extensive holocaust coverage every year. Their knowledge of the world is limited to Suffolk and possibly Nassau counties. There was very vague mention of Martin Luther King, none of Mahatma Ghandi, students had never heard of Rosa Parks or the civil rights movement, and MalcolmX never existed as far as this school is concerned. They teach almost nothing about world leaders and cultures of other countries, and don't care to. If you're not caucasian or afraid of being penalized, take your seat at the back of the class. Very little money for the Arts,plenty for sports. Predominatly blue collar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

It was a big disappointment due to an incapable administration. The teachers have the experience but are suffering under a very poor administration that ties their hands in so many ways. Very sad! They continue to hide the reality of this school behind standardized test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Academic Progamrs are very strong in this wonderful school. My children earned a strong education at Miller Place HIgh School. Both my sons played sports on the varsity level which brought about great success in thier college careers. As parents it is completely vital that we participate as much as possible to Miller Place such a wonderful district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

the school is small for the community. The teachers are well qualified. But the biggest concern is the school conditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

I'm a student at MPHS. A senior and I loved my experience. We have a wonderful education system with decated teachers. However the high taxes and the major cutbacks in recent years have disheartened me greatly. With the talent within the walls of MPHS, it's a shame that they have so disabled our Art and Music departments as they have. Look at our Drama program and our Robotics team, they're amazing. We have prestige on Broadway with the program run by Mr. Kramer. So...I love the school and it'll get me where I want to be. but I ask future students and parents, to save our arts, music, and extracurriculars. I've lost more than half my extracurriculars due to budget cuts. Don't let the same happen to you or your children
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

We also moved here 5 years ago because of the excellent rating MP schools received. While I still believe MP offers much more than a lot of other schools do I wonder just where the tax money is going? MPHS cafeteria received new tables and chairs [when] they didn t need them. How about giving the students actual science rooms? I also would like to know when the Board of Ed [was] doing away with some fine teachers because they said they didn t have the money. Why did they hire yet another assistant principal?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I moved to miller place because the school district was suppose to be a great school...Not so...As long as the student doesn't have learning disabilites it's fine.. The care at the high school is the lowest and I was very disappointed in miller place schools... I would not recommend anyone moving here just for the school district.. taxes are high and the administration in more interested in who they can bring in and their salaries, not the education and space for our children....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

We moved to Miller Place for the Schools. In the last 6 years the quality of education has gone way down. I feel it is due to the fact that most of the better teachers have left the school district for higher paying positions in other school districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

21 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

154 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students60%
Female58%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant60%

Chemistry

All Students78%
Female77%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%

Earth Science

All Students71%
Female70%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities33%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%

English

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities60%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%

Geometry

All Students83%
Female85%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities47%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%

Global History and Geography

All Students85%
Female80%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities46%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%

Integrated Algebra

All Students70%
Female71%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities34%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%

Living Environment

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities76%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%

Physics

All Students71%
Female67%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant71%

U.S. History and Government

All Students95%
Female92%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities77%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 89% 48%
Hispanic 2 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
Black 2 2% 19%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 211%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. KEVIN SLAVIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Memorial Dr
Miller Place, NY 11764
Phone: (631) 474-2723

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mount Sinai High School
Mount Sinai, NY


Rocky Point High School
Rocky Point, NY


Comsewogue High School
Port Jefferson Sta, NY




Longwood High School
Middle Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT