Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Miller Place, NY
Students enrolled: 973

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miller Place High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
The BEST high school by far! My son and daughter have both graduated from Miller Place High School. It has been a fantastic experience for both of them. Their teachers are caring and truly wanted my children to succeed. They went above a beyond to prepare them for college. The guidance department assisted my children in applying for college, which is a very overwhelming task. I can't say enough good things about Miller Place High School!!!

Miller Place High School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
Look at the test scores below compared to the state average. I think that says it all!!!


Miller Place High School 2

Posted June 07, 2013
- a community member
Quality of life in the Miller Place School District gets worse every year. Huge budget cuts have left us with only a few non-sports extracurriculars. On top of this, the student body is very cliquey. So if your kid is unathletic and is near the bottom of the social ladder (like I was), the school doesn't offer much to enrich the students' social experience outside the classroom. Even in the music department and drama club, the same five kids tend to get all the recognition, so there is little opportunity for growth. Another unfortunate change recently is that the campus is now closed. Meaning the seniors are not allowed to go out or go home for lunch anymore, and are stuck eating the prison food that the cafeteria serves. This also means they're stuck in a cliquey cafeteria, so if your kid only has a handful of friends or is a picky eater, too bad. On a side note, we have the earliest start time in New York State, and the school does NOT take anything but illness as an excuse. Sure, the education is pretty good and the teachers care, but unfortunately this doesn't make up for everything else. If you care about your kids' quality of life at school, avoid Miller Place.

Miller Place High School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school. Teachers are terrific with the kids and the school is run well. Great school activities as well.

Miller Place High School 0
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
Strange and sad comments below... I graduated from MPHS and knew very well who Malcolm X, Gandhi, Rosa Parks and other social justice figures were...


Miller Place High School 3

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
Miller Place School district is definitely not what it used to be. It can not compete with other districts in terms of clubs and extracurricular activities. Administrators in the schools hide behind rhetoric and don't give the parents the respect they deserve for understanding their children and the academic and social needs of their children. Gone are the days of the 50th highest school district in the nation, that's for sure. Blind eyes are turned on those professionals who are incompetent or who should not be working with youngsters.

Miller Place High School 0
no rating

Posted December 12, 2008
- a student
Miller Place Schools are great in almost every way. The town is mostly white middle class. The crime rate is low. There is no discrimination based on color. The parent who posted the angry post saying so has never sat through the classes at MPHS. I would challenge anyone to find a real correlation between color and grades because it does not exist. Maybe instead of ranting on here you should be helping your children with their schoolwork instead of teaching them to blame racism. As for Miller Place being a blue collar town, the people of Miller Place make more money per capita than over 95% of the world. Next time do some research and stop trying to tear apart a perfectly good town.

Miller Place High School 5

Posted July 11, 2008
- a student
As an MPHS Graduate, I am quite horrified to read the statement below posted Sept 19, 2006. My Miller Place education prepared me with a broad cultural base to succeed in all of my post-high school endeavors. I do not understand why he claims that Martin Luther King or Mahatma Gandhi (by the way, he spelled Gandhi wrong ) were not mentioned in classes. The district values cross-cultural education and that was prevalent in every course, through reading Richard Wright books in 10th grade English, to studying anti-war protests in Social Studies, to understanding the cultural foundations of Spanish civil war in Spanish class, and the relevancy and influences of renaissance art in today's society in art class. I would challenge the statement that students at MPHS have never heard of Rosa Parks, perhaps offering that some students simply choose not to listen.


Miller Place High School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
I am a bit dismayed at the portrayal of the school as biased. I have children in the district and one graduate. The graduate was a trouble maker and as such was treated as that. She is quite light in color but she made decisions that were inappropriate and there were consequences at school and home including the need in senior year to really prove herself to have 'grown up' and be a part of the school and community. I am speaking of my own child whom i love in an unbiased way. Did i wish that people didn't dislike her? Of course. But she was difficult and she was pegged as such. So i question the first person's statement of the treatment of people of color and instead would implore the review of her child's personal behaviors. Its a great school & said child graduated, with honors.

Miller Place High School 2

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miller Place High School
15 Memorial Drive, Miller Place, NY  11764
(631) 474-2723
Last modified Miller Place High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miller Place High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top