Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Mineola, NY
Students enrolled: 1,748
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


67 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chaminade High School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a community member
I am a graduate of CHS and in my humble, yet very accurate opinion, CHS is the best of the best! Admittedly, it is not for everyone. If you are opposed to a strict Catholic education, then this place is not for you. But I caution all of the readers to consider the following. The proof is in the pudding. While not every CHS graduate goes on to be wealthy or influential, the alumni is undeniably super impressive. CHS boasts graduates at every level of government, military, business, etc... The amount of graduates that become lawyers, doctors and businessmen is staggering. So for all you naysayers, here's the challenge: show me any other school, Catholic or public, (aside from Sacred Heart and Our Lady of Mercy, both CHS sister schools), that has the impressive credentials of CHS grads. Show me one. St. Anthony's may come somewhat close but CHS still has a more impressive faculty and alumni. So in closing, you may not like CHS. You may find it overly strict and "close minded." I suspect that those that find it "close minded" probably feel that way about the RCC anyway so not a big shocker there. But don't call it substandard just b/c your kid couldn't make it. Period!
1 person found this helpful

Chaminade High School 1

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
BEWARE! If you are looking for a substandard catholic education based loosely on morals Chaminade may be the school for you and your child. As a parent, I found this school to be inferior to catholic schools my older children attended outside NY. They were not only chauvinistic, but also narrow-minded at Chaminade. I was very disappointed since his junior high said it had such a great reputation. Keep looking, there are better educational avenues than dealing with the insecure bullies you will find here.


Chaminade High School 4

Posted August 24, 2014
- a teacher
I would like to respond to a comment made on July 29th about Chaminade and Kellenberg. You have to look at the facts. Both schools ARE exempt from taking the NYS regents. The Trimesters and Comprehensive examinations are definitely more advanced then regents. Take a comp or trimester from KMHS or CHS and compare it to the regents and you will see that CHS and KMHS test demand more. The person also failed to research that Chaminade and Kellenberg's SAT averages are well above public school SAT averages. Also it is a fact that KMHS and CHS are much stricter that public schools. This results in a disciplined student which leads to long term success. Chaminade churns out many great alumni every year which is why they have such an elite alumni association which provides to the school. Now in Kellenberg's defense, there "lower" or A2 program is for the students who aren't as advanced on a Kellenberg standard. Plus it is a fact that there isnt even 100 students in the program and each grade contains 500+ students. Many students in the program even move up in the ranking system.. KMHS also has a growing alumni network and it is very successful in helping students find jobs after college.

Chaminade High School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a teacher
The statement made by a former student that "Chaminade is too good for regents exams" must be corrected. Forget about the fact that the statement has a tint of snobbishness, it is totally false. All private schools in NYS have the choice to give Regents exams or not. Most schools still give them because if they do not, the school forfeits a great deal of Regents funds from NYS. As an example, Kellenberg, a sister school of Chaminade, also does not give Regents. Kellenberg clearly is not in the same academic "Ballpark" as Chaminade, nor is it a tougher curriculum, or higher standard of acceptance than most other high schools on L.I. or NYC. There is even a Lower "Tract" at Kellenberg, which is meant for struggling students. Myths, all too often, are spread.

Chaminade High School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
My son is a sophomore at Chaminade. After his Freshman year I felt it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. Now that we are nearing the end of his Sophomore year I find a well spoken gentleman who is responsible for his own actions and work. I now see why people have said over and over again, they go in as boys and come out men. I also believe how when they graduate Chaminade they are ready for college. I see how my son has become more responsible for knowing his own deadlines, etc. As a lacrosse and football mom, the sports are top notch at Chaminade. We are very proud to wear their name!


Chaminade High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Chaminade takes the cream of the crop and guides them through 4 years of rigorous education. The end result speaks for itself.

Chaminade High School 1

Posted July 14, 2013
- a community member
Chaminade (Mineola). I graduated from Chaminade many years ago. It is a place for the narrow-minded. The Chaminade Man philosophy tries to put it's students in a very restrictive mold. While many Hispanics are Catholic, they are underrepresented there. They don't fit the CHS mold. Their PR is very good but their scope and curriculum is narrow. At CHS, they don't teach you how to think ; they teach you what they want you to think. Alumni strengths are in Business/Law types of careers. Don't send your son there if he is of a creative bent. Chaminade does not suffer those who think outside the box. In my long business career, I seldom met any other Flyers who did not regret going there. The brothers would tell us that "you probably won't enjoy going here but you can " brag" that you went here when you get to college. Imagine going to a place that doesn't expect that you will enjoy the experience. They don't accept transfer (unless you are a good athlete) since they feel that their program is so special that you have to be there for 4 hrs to get the full benefit. They do not make it easy for you if you want to go to non-Catholic colleges. Great PR but not worth the $ or the BS.

Chaminade High School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
1279 average SAT score. Find me public schools with that. Take a look at what colleges graduating seniors continue on to. The school is one of the cheapest private institutions in the Tri-State area.
1 person found this helpful


Chaminade High School 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a community member
Strange, weird "brothers" run this place. They have zero social skills and purport to know about the real world. They don't. The school is for the cr me de la cr me of students on Long Island. Think about it, though. Why be a little fish in a big pond when you can be a big fish in a little pond.? Here, you won't stand out and you'll never get in to Harvard or Yale. But if you go to public school, you'll be at the top of the class.
2 people found this helpful

Chaminade High School 5

Posted June 01, 2013
- a community member
One of the top academic high schools in the nation. A large endowment also makes it the most affordable private parochial high school in the New York area.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chaminade High School
340 Jackson Ave, Mineola, NY  11501
(516) 742-5555
Last modified Chaminade High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Chaminade High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top