Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,748 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 88 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chaminade High School 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
Excellent character building institution. Promotes good study habits for college. A deal for the cost.

Chaminade High School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Chaminade High school was one of the most influential parts of my life and continues to be to this very day. The dedication of the Marianist community and faculty is second to none. They are a faith based community that is focused on spiritual, academic, and physical development. Chaminade gave me the confidence/integrity I needed during my formative years that has guided me throughout college and life. The school has made vast improvements in academic (ex: Bloomberg Terminal center, New S.T.E.M. building being constructed, offering of Mandarin Chinese) and Athletics (all facilities updated to state of the art in past 2 years). If you are looking to send your son to a school that demands integrity, fosters a team first mindset, and prepares them for the "real" real world--then Chaminade is for you. My mother sums it up best: My son entered Chaminade a boy and came out a man.


Chaminade High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
Strong Catholic faith teachings along with a rigorous course schedule. The athletic programs also support the growth of character to handle life challenges.

Chaminade High School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
Chaminade gave me the best preparation for college but more importantly for the challenges of life.

Chaminade High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
Hello all. I have a son that has been accepted to start this Sept. I must say that so far I am extremely impressed. I have read all the comments . One thing sticks in my mind that life isn't easy. You should all push your kids to learn and act like good men. Look around you and see what's going on in the world. Our kids should be pushed and be respectful to one another. I'm proud to have my son go here. As I said before life isn't easy and I'm sure Chaminade will excel him to another level .


Chaminade High School 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
My son is starting this semester. I have been to the school a few times and I have to say that's how all schools should be. Life isn't easy and this is what makes people stronger. Nothing wrong with reading and learning. Who ever has an issue with this should not be in any school. All of you should be pushing your kids to the next level. In today's society there is lots of stupidity going on. What's wrong with our kids being good people and letting a school mold them like that???? I'm happy and proud my son made it in Thai school..

Chaminade High School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a student
Excellent school. The four years I attended CHS helped prepare me for, not only, college but life in general.

Chaminade High School 1

Posted May 03, 2015
- a student
Miserable here, dont send your kid if you want them to enjoy their last 4 years living with you.


Chaminade High School 4

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
Chaminade only takes the cream of the crop. It's not for slackers, very competitive!!! It's like Ivy League for High School, teaching strong mural character. The mom that bashed it either was not well educated about the school or her child could not make it in and she was bitter. My son got scholarships to two other Catholic H. S. and we still chose CHS.

Chaminade High School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a community member
I am a graduate of CHS and in my humble, yet very accurate opinion, CHS is the best of the best! Admittedly, it is not for everyone. If you are opposed to a strict Catholic education, then this place is not for you. But I caution all of the readers to consider the following. The proof is in the pudding. While not every CHS graduate goes on to be wealthy or influential, the alumni is undeniably super impressive. CHS boasts graduates at every level of government, military, business, etc... The amount of graduates that become lawyers, doctors and businessmen is staggering. So for all you naysayers, here's the challenge: show me any other school, Catholic or public, (aside from Sacred Heart and Our Lady of Mercy, both CHS sister schools), that has the impressive credentials of CHS grads. Show me one. St. Anthony's may come somewhat close but CHS still has a more impressive faculty and alumni. So in closing, you may not like CHS. You may find it overly strict and "close minded." I suspect that those that find it "close minded" probably feel that way about the RCC anyway so not a big shocker there. But don't call it substandard just b/c your kid couldn't make it. Period!

Nearby schools

Chaminade High School
340 Jackson Ave, Mineola, NY  11501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. (516) 742-5555
Last modified Chaminade High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top