Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mount Sinai Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
This post is in response to the "parent" who stated that there is no chemistry offered in the high school. There must be some very astute teenagers in that high school, 86% of whom are able to pass the regents exam for chemistry in 2013, without having chemistry being taught to them. I want my child to be that proactive and intelligent!

Mount Sinai Elementary School 2

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
Mount Sinai is a great school as long as your child does not require special education. The children who really need the help do not receive it. Mount Sinai only offers the basics and pushes the children through the system. The school district has a great reputation for high grades but that is because the district includes gym, music and art to their GPAs. In elementary school the children are not taught critical thinking skills, they were not prepared for common core at all and the low scores district wide proved it. The district states they are "working on it" when questioned about common core and how they are going to improve the scores. They now want the children to learn critical thinking skills over night. The majority of graduates go to private schools because their children can not get into SUNY schools because they do not have chemistry in high school. They cannot get into chem. because they do not have critical thinking skills. The teachers are good and want to help but also need to listen to the district leadership to keep their positions.


Mount Sinai Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
mount sinai elementary is a great school with caring teachers, parents and faculty. couldnt be happier with my decision to move to this district!

Mount Sinai Elementary School 4

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mount Sinai Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a parent
To all you that actually complain about Mt Sinai, try those other schools like Middle Country or Wyndanch and see what it is like-Mt Sinai is an exception school with exceptional caring teachers!! It is also a very safe school for your child with before and after school programs. So before you bash the school's teachings, investigate how well this school actually is-BLUE RIBBON!


Mount Sinai Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
There is great community spirit and support. The teachers love the children and the parents involvement is welcomed. The principal truly is 'gentle to the core' and guides the students with positive guidelines rather than fear. The elementary school participates in homecoming for the district and the participation is wonderful. The school has been featured in Newsday's Futurecorp numerous times for above and beyond community service,

Mount Sinai Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers as well as administrators. The Principle is a nice kind man who really looks out for the children and there individual needs

Mount Sinai Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 15, 2009
- a parent
I agree that kindergarten should be full day but mount sinai is a blue ribbon schoo; districs witch means 1 of the top on long island, although the teachers are tough coming frim rocky point the learning and teacher support is great. i am a freshman in the high school. graduate year is 2012


Mount Sinai Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
I love this school district, across the board! Read up on other districts, and this one has great results! I also strongly disagree with the uber parents who feel that full day kindergarten is a must. Our town sent us the breakdown of what children do in full day as opposed to half, and they are only getting FLUFF! for the rest of the full day, as the state of New York mandates that full day kindergartners must have frequent rest and snack times in addition to phys ed, music, lunch and recess. The additional time does not add up to one minute more of classroom learning time than the half day program. My husband works two jobs so that I can be home with my kids during these important years. I am thrilled that my children have been so gently and lovingly introduced to ed. at this school!

Mount Sinai Elementary School 2

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
My son was enrolled in Mt Sinai through 1st grade. It is not the school for the average or above-average student. The children only had kindergarten for half-day. My son was quite advanced and the school would not provide suitable instruction

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Sinai Elementary School
118 North Country Road, Mount Sinai, NY  11766
(631) 870-2600
Last modified Mount Sinai Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mount Sinai Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top