Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nelson Mandela Community High School At Columbus Bldg

Public | 9-12 | 208 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2012

as a former student of NMHS i must say its the greatest school i have attended the staff and everyone just knew each other by name , and all faculty had an open door policy , even mr berts would stop by my house unexpected just to tell my mom how i was doing he was truly caring , even though i got kicked out of mvhs im glad i ended up at mandela aka the AK , i even graduated a semester early
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

Nelson Mandela High School,is one of the best,it prepares our children for the world. My opinon is that NMHS needs more parent involvement to have a strong PTSA, but besides that the staff is caring and concern about the children, alot of our children have problems but nothing that we as the NMHS family cannot control. You see our teachers,and staff are the only family some of our children can look up to, so we are the only school who have Pride in our children and there ability to change. So remember we are The Mandela Panther's and we strive to be the best, we laugh at distress for we are the strength of the Panther and the power of all our success. Keep Mandela's Panther's Alive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

As a student I think N. Mandela HS is by far one of the best high schools in the county. Mandela was once an alternative school for troubled kids that were not accepted to Mt. Vernon High after graduating Franco and A.B Davis due to behavior problems, it was also a last resort for problem students attending MVHS. Once I started attending NMHS I immediately felt a true sence of care and urgency in preparing young teens for the world and all the possibilities life offers us. Our classes averaged 9 to 14 students which allowed the staff to be more in depth with our lives and have a hands on approach. Students that attended NMHS didn't have hope nor did we believe in ourselves but, I and many others are proof that kids can change if you don't give up hope. Thanx Dr. Z...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

I think nelson mandela is a very good school for students through grade 9 to 12 because the teachers there teaching skills are worth learning the provide the extra help when needed during lunch or after school.Many student who attend this school leave with an excellent gpa and knowledge of whats going in the world.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2006

NMHS is the best kept secret in the district. They teach the students that were 'left behind'.There caring and dedicated staff will assure excellence in all students that grace those doors.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
23%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
28%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
31%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
42%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Students3%
Female6%
Male0%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population3%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant3%

English

All Students29%
Female30%
Male27%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population31%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Global History and Geography

All Students36%
Female41%
Male30%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

Integrated Algebra

All Students42%
Female45%
Male36%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population40%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%

Living Environment

All Students44%
Female53%
Male32%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population47%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students44%
Female43%
Male45%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 88% 19%
Hispanic 1 8% 23%
White 1 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 282%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 35%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. RALPH BURTS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Gramatan Ave
Mount Vernon, NY 10550
Website: Click here
Phone: (914) 358-2720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Thornton High School
Mount Vernon, NY


Mount Vernon High School
Mount Vernon, NY



Bronxville High School
Bronxville, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT