Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Longfellow Middle School 3

Posted September 27, 2013
- a community member
Most of the teachers actually care about the students and want them to excel. The students on the other hand aren t taking their future serious enough and they are loud, rude and have no respect for themselves or the other students who want to become something in life.

Longfellow Middle School 1

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Longfellow Middle School 4

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
I think the school is a nice place. I'm a student myself. There really isn't any horrible thing or events going on in the school which is good. The teachers are excellent. My top three teachers are Mr. Ishan, Mr. Pearce and Mr. Rotolo. The school has a good foundation. The only thing I don't like is that we have to carry around our id's and the school lunch is nasty.

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted November 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The staff and students try very hard to overcome personal and financial hardships to achieve academic excellence. Recently, this school managed to be erased from the negative rolls of NYS educational system. Longfellow Middle School receives my vote because staff and students never quit reguardless of adversity.


Longfellow Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 17, 2009
- a student
I love my school ! even though people can sometimes get out of hand ! class of 09 babyy !

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted June 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Middle School 5

Posted May 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Longfellow Middle School 1

Posted February 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Longfellow Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
Security Long fellow school needs much improvement in many areas. When entering a school, an office building or an airport a brush with security guards can often be quite challenging and also a fearful experience for many of our kids in school. Understanding the need for security personnel/ Police at Longfellow, there is however reason to question how this security is being administered and needs to be looked into. The hostile environment and sometimes excessive physical force put on students by these individuals is completely unacceptable. Accountability and oversight in school safety matters have to be addressed and alternative approaches need to be taken at this school. Our children are being put at risk in an environment where they should be safe and learning. Teachers There needs to be a concentrated effort put on staff development to improve instruction in every department at this school. It can be enjoyable or a nightmare for a student depending on which teachers they have and how well they can deal with the stress. Many of the teachers just don't care, this is what I m seeing and hearing from students, while others just can't teach.' For the group of good teacher s that are available there unfortunately are not enough of them to accommodate each and every student. Unfortunately due to this I don't think a lot of the students achieve their full potential, at least because of the quality of teaching being administered. After meeting some of the school faculty sadly some of teachers were disappointing. There were many great teachers but also a lot who weren't stimulating at all. One Particular teacher stuck out like sore thumb. Her entire attitude and demeanor were Awful and pointed out very clearly how she felt about the students in her class To conclude Long fellow middle school needs much improvement. Hopefully with hard work and much effort from the parents, the Principal of this school will deal with these serious issues and address the needs of the students attending this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longfellow Middle School
624 South 3rd Avenue, Mount Vernon, NY  10550
(914) 665-5150
Last modified Longfellow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Longfellow Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top