Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Victory School

Private | PK-8 | 330 students

 

Living in Mount Vernon

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $247,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 18, 2014

Due to the lack of choice within the MV school district I sent my daughter here. They are not truly invested in education. I was disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

This is the second year my child has been enrolled at OLV. The administration, teachers and staff are wonderful. Ms. Castilla, is a fair but firm principal, and that's exactly what my child needs. OLV reminds me of when I was younger and attended Catholic School. The family atmosphere is very important to me. I would high recommend OLV to any parent looking for a good school. My son is happy and he loves going everyday. If he's happy, I'm happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

DISCIPLINARY ISSUES!! The principal is weak and unsupportive of the teachers. Her version of discipline is siding with the worst of the worst students. It appears to be easier to do, than dealing with the actual bullying / disciplinary ISSUES. Some students are extremely disrespectful but are rarely admonished due to the fact that students are permitted to challenge teachers openly in her presence. The principal of course sides with the worst of the worst due to her lack of a sense, of the standard, that should be present in a catholic school or maybe a lack of a proper spine. It appears that the school is run not by her the principal but by those students who she is seemingly afraid to deal with. The girls are allowed to wear/ modify the school uniform as they please with total disregard. The teacher's hands are tied due to the principals trickle down fear of tackling the disciplinary issues. I write this so that other parents recognize that this is a potentially dangerous situation for teachers as well as the good students that must endure this ridiculousness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

Our Lady of Victory is a wonderful school. The teachers are extremely hard-working and care about each student. Their dedication is both refreshing and admirable. There are a number of extracurricular activities available for the students as well as trips, and consistent use of technology in the classrooms. The students are eager to go to school each day and come home excited about what they learned. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend OLV to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

it is a good schools, the teacher work hard and do everything they can do to help us. The people are friendly and loving. I have so much fun on the trips and just being in school. The teachers make the work fun and make you want to learn. I Love the everyone there.


Posted May 21, 2012

I am a student at our lady of victory and I think this school is great because the teachers care and help you for extra credit and they make you feel like a family.


Posted May 10, 2012

I am a student at Our Lady of Victory school and I think that this school is great. OLV has a lot of extracurricular activities and great teachers. The students love the school.


Posted May 10, 2012

Our Lady of Victory is a wonderful school, the staff makes the students feel like family. Ms. Castilla, the principal is a wonderful asset to the school and takes the time to know each and every student personally. They offer many after school programs in a variety of interests. My daughter is constantly challenged and encouraged. Staff are well experienced and make my daughter's learning experience enjoyable and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

This school is very advance in education. It is always a positive environment to be in. The teachers exhibit positive energy every single day.


Posted May 8, 2012

I Think Our Lady OF Victory Is A Great School It Has Many Extracurricular Activity , Great Friends And Loving Staff. Teachers Are Determined To Teach Students And Help Them Learn And Students Are Willing To Listen To The Teachers. I Would Recommend This School To Other Children And Parents


Posted May 8, 2012

Our Lady of Victory, is a very amazing school. The Principal of this school carries out good leadership qualities, and is very nice to the students. I recommend Our Lady of Victory highly to any parent. The Teachers are determined to teach and help students learn. The Students and teachers are VERY loving, and considerate.


Posted January 18, 2011

OLV is a school that makes you feel part of a big family. I Teachers are experienced and devoted personalized attention to their students. My children came from Dominican Republic in 2009 with no English background, and I have received the help that I needed to be able to get my kids to be in the honor roll. I received extra help with books and advices to reinforce the areas where they were weaker. I am aware of the challenges that they with the support of their teachers have accomplished. Ms. Castilla is a wonderful principal; she is bringing new programs for this spring, and the school is using a smart board in the computer lab. My fourth grader daughter is going to start a reading program to improve her skills. Also, I loved the way that my three-year-old daughter is learning how to pray. I was very surprised when I realized how much she had learned during this quarter. And to me the most important part is that my children are learning to love God .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

my kids have been in the olv school system for the past 12 consecutive years and i think the '09 school year was the absolute worst. The poor leadership of the new principal has greatly lowered the standard of the school. in all my years of been involved with the school i have never been this disappointed. The teachers are great but they can't do it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

I was very dissappointed with the school this year. All they do is ask for money monthly for fund raisers but you do not see any improvement in the school. there is no playground and the children are constently getting hurt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I LOVE this scool I am in 8th grade and I have gotten accepted to 3 wonderful high schools this is an oppurtunity for alll children thank you so much Ms. Castilla for all your hard effort
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

My children have attended OLV since age 3 and I have never seen as many changes in OLV since Ms. Castilla arrived. Ms. Castilla has done a wonderful job in the past 5 months. Before Ms. Castilla came the school was awful, the bathrooms were smelly. She took care of that before the school year began. The prior principal did nothing to make the school better. She didn't work with the parents and staff. Ms. Castilla is a principal that cares about our children and their education. Ms. Castilla is very down to earth and that's what I like moste about her. She doesn't try to blow you off like the previous principal. While she has implemented new rules, these rules are for the safety of our children which is more important to me. There's no need for the teachers to be afraid if they are doing their job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

This year,there is a new principal. Prior to her arrival,the school was in a decline. Now,it is even worse. Ms.Casilla has a very nasty towards parents,and students.She has instituted the most ridiculous rules since arriving. Teachers seem afraid of her,and overall school spirit has declined. Many parents are unhappy with Ms. Castilla and and are comptemplating taking their children out of this school at the end of the year. My children have been here for several years,and this will definitely will be their last. Do not send your children to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Great school with a great staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

OLV is a great school, my daughter attended from 1 grade to 4 grade and then she wanted to experience the public school system but she miss olv so much she return to finish. great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

olv is the most greatest school i have ever been to.The teachers are very kind and they would never embrass you in front of other students. I have been in the honor roll for all of semester i have been in olv i surely recommed if u are thinking to put your child in olv you should.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 21%
Hispanic 22% 21%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
White 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:50 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Helena Castilla-Byrne
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (914) 665-3135

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Portuguese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
150
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
300
Students typically come from these schools
Lincoln
Holmes
Grimes

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38 N 5th Ave
Mount Vernon, NY 10550
Website: Click here
Phone: (914) 667-4063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hamilton School
Mount Vernon, NY


Davis Middle School
Mount Vernon, NY


Grimes School
Mount Vernon, NY


Lincoln School
Mount Vernon, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT