Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highview Elementary School

Public | 3-4 | 351 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2009

This is our first year in the school district. We moved here from out of state. The school is top notch! My child had not been treated very nicely from the district we came from, but Highview's principal, teachers, counselor, etc all made it a wonderful transition for my fourth grader. He was labeled a bad kid in the old school district and had low self esteem. Everyone at the school worked together with us and he has no bahavior problems any more, thanks to their follow through and helping my child to reach his goals. He's also diagnosed with ADHD and through a specialized diet and the teachers and staff working with my son, it has been such a blessing. It's so great to see my son love school and now he feels valued as a child. The school is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone!! A+++.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

My last child just left the school and I had a wonderful experience. The principal is a great man. I am a teacher myself so I know that the school is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I cannot rate this school highly enough. My twins are both here, in 3rd grade, having moved here from the UK 2 years ago. They absolutely LOVE this school. The Principal is one of the nicest people you will ever meet, dedicated to the school, a man who gives more than 100%. The staff are ALL wonderful, teaching the children to a very high academic standard, mixed in with a lot of fun, and love and laughter. Both my children adore being at this school. From a Parent'spoint of view, the school teaches at the highest level of academic excellence, any small or significant learning problems are picked up on with lightening speed, and the children get extra help in weaker areas. My children are so happy at Highview, and I cannot recommend this school highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Highview is a fantastic school, blessed with all of the teachers my daughter has been in contact with. The Guidance Counselor is a tremendous lady that dedicates so much. 'Bullying' which is very common that this age is not tolerated. There is a strong sence of committment at the school, from the secretaries that answer the telephone to the crossing guard who is always there. HV includes parents in everything. The after school sports program is excellent, floor hockey for girls, Grip and Rip Cardio Vasular and gymnastics. Music program is wonderful. Mr. Schlanger runs a fantastic school. I've watch him interact with so many of the kids. His opening speech this year was wonderful. I'm sorry that my daughter will only spend one year at HV, however my younger one will reep the full benefit of 2 years. I appaude the entire team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

When I became the guardian of my child she was attending Highview and I was impressed with every one of her teachers, from her classroom teacher to her special ed teacher and her music teacher as well. They offer a wide variety of extracurricular activities for the kids and no child falls through the cracks at this school, in my opinion. The entire staff, including school administrators were empathetic, understanding and could not do enough to help us out in every way. She got the special help she needed in all subjects. I would recommend this school to other parents without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

My grandaughter is a new student at Highview, and I am so grateful to all the staff there. They are wonderful, and incredibly dedicated, and caring people. They have all gone out of their way to help my grandaughter adjust to a new school. The support they provide is priceless. Its a wonderful feeling to know she is in good hands each day, and that everyone there genuinely cares about her. Thank you all for everything you do, not only for her, but for me as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 66% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 16% 9%
Hispanic 2 14% 23%
Black 1 5% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 114%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. BARBARA AURIEMMA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24 Highview Ave
Nanuet, NY 10954
Phone: (845) 627-3480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Evans Park School
Pearl River, NY



Blue Rock School
West Nyack, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT